BizHawk Emulator Development


Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2321)
Joined: 4/20/2005
Posts: 2159
Location: Norrköping, Sweden
Is this the place to post ideas for future features? Here is something I've thought about: Would it be possible to include the option to display the values in the HexEditor in decimal? Personally, I often use the HexEditor when looking for RAM addresses for a game, and I think it would often make things easier to find if you can display values in the more intuitive decimal system. Just an idea.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author
Joined: 5/4/2005
Posts: 502
Location: Onett, Eagleland
The problem with that is it's difficult to implement for different data types. 1 byte in decimal probably wouldn't be very difficult, but 2 and even 4 byte would leave little room per row.
I think.....therefore I am not Barry Burton
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Maybe as a mouseover text?
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
creaothceann wrote:
Maybe as a mouseover text?
Genius! I doubt anyone would want 2-byte numbers in hex editor, so this must be enough.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
Experienced Forum User, Published Author
Joined: 5/4/2005
Posts: 502
Location: Onett, Eagleland
Personally, I don't see a mouseover decimal display helpful when the point is to find a values easier, using a mouseover means the value won't be updated on a mouseover. The best option for this situation is to add the range of addresses to a watch list and just set them to decimal.
I think.....therefore I am not Barry Burton
Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/9/2004
Posts: 4588
Location: In his lab studying psychology to find new ways to torture TASers and forumers
natt wrote:
boct1584 wrote:
Would it be possible to add support for Nach's JMA ROM compression to the SNES core? I asked Ilari about doing it for lsnes, but I was wondering if you guys would be able to do it independent of the core.
Doesn't seem to be much information about it out there. Is there a reference implementation anywhere?
Take your pick: older versions of bsnes SNEeSe Snes9x UOSNES ZSNES I think some of the Japanese SNES emulators out there also implemented it, but I'm not familiar with them.
Warning: Opinions expressed by Nach or others in this post do not necessarily reflect the views, opinions, or position of Nach himself on the matter(s) being discussed therein.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
I couldn't find a backdrop color change menu for SNES. It's a critical feature for sprites and maps comunities as they have to hack savestates.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
look harder. in the graphics debugger dialog. after r3505
Post subject: BizHawk 1.2.0 Released
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
BizHawk 1.2.0 Released, including the Atari 2600 core! Full Release notes Windows binary
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (347)
Joined: 2/23/2005
Posts: 785
Atari support is awesome. Is there support yet for the wheel controller (supported by Breakout, Kaboom!, and so on) via mouse, and if not, is it planned?
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
Looking forward to C64 emulation.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2321)
Joined: 4/20/2005
Posts: 2159
Location: Norrköping, Sweden
Any plans on adding a lua command for taking a screenshot? I miss this feature a little from FCEUX.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
CtrlAltDestroy wrote:
Atari support is awesome. Is there support yet for the wheel controller (supported by Breakout, Kaboom!, and so on) via mouse, and if not, is it planned?
The paddle was planned, and was actually worked on, but micro hit s snag. It will be done eventually.
Randil wrote:
Any plans on adding a lua command for taking a screenshot? I miss this feature a little from FCEUX.
This is an oversight on my part I think. I'll add it to the TODO list!
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (24)
Joined: 6/2/2011
Posts: 35
Location: Chicago, IL
CtrlAltDestroy wrote:
Atari support is awesome. Is there support yet for the wheel controller (supported by Breakout, Kaboom!, and so on) via mouse, and if not, is it planned?
One of the coolest TASes ever would be someone doing a superplay of Warlords with 4 controllers! Who wants to be the ambitious one to take on that task when wheel support is added?
If at first you don't succeed, load your savestate and try again
AzumaK
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 5/5/2011
Posts: 42
TrenchAce wrote:
One of the coolest TASes ever would be someone doing a superplay of Warlords with 4 controllers!
I just mentioned this in the wishlist thread, I thought of this game immediately when I saw the Atari games showing up. I'd really love to see that! Also, I wanted to thank you guys for this amazing software. I've been watching TASvideos for 5 or 6 years (I've even watched a couple of Adelikat's 'how to TAS' videos') and I finally took the first step in creating one. I had a ton of fun experimenting with making my first TAS crash test movies today with Megamania (A2600)... Awesome!
Currently obsessed with: Mega Man 2 hacks, SFA3, Super Metroid Zero Mission, MM8BDM (Skulltag MegaMan mod, it's amazing!)
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (410)
Joined: 3/22/2006
Posts: 704
Funny TAS of 2009Innovative TAS of 2009
feos wrote:
Looking forward to C64 emulation.
Hell yes!
cak
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/7/2010
Posts: 16
Location: Oregon USA
Totally awesome job on the 2600 emulation. Hopefully the Pitfall II mapper can be supported soon.
speedrunner of SMB2, Metroid, Pitfall II, Blinky Goes Up
Experienced Forum User, Published Author
Joined: 5/4/2005
Posts: 502
Location: Onett, Eagleland
Heisanevilgenius wrote:
feos wrote:
Looking forward to C64 emulation.
Hell yes!
"Hey Taxi!!!"
I think.....therefore I am not Barry Burton
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/2/2007
Posts: 3960
Commodore 64 support would be excellent I'll just leave this here...
Pyrel - an open-source rewrite of the Angband roguelike game in Python.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (3270)
Joined: 6/2/2009
Posts: 1182
Location: Teresópolis - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Sega TASer of 2013SNES TASer of 2012SNES TASer of 2010
AzumaK wrote:
I had a ton of fun experimenting with making my first TAS crash test movies today with Megamania (A2600)... Awesome!
I was about to complain (sorry but one of our duties as true TASers is complain...), when I saw your post about your tests, so I'm clueless; I don't know what's wrong here, some of my favourite Atari games have strange graphic glitches; the ice platforms on Frostbite are stretching and Megamania have duplicated enemies :(
I am old enough to know better, but not enough to do it.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
cak wrote:
Totally awesome job on the 2600 emulation. Hopefully the Pitfall II mapper can be supported soon.
Is it by chance the E7 mapper? Or does it use something I'm not aware of?
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (3270)
Joined: 6/2/2009
Posts: 1182
Location: Teresópolis - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Sega TASer of 2013SNES TASer of 2012SNES TASer of 2010
I didn't solve it yet, but seems to be the same problem on both games, platforms and enemies are not duplicating or stretching, they're changing position for one frame; the ice platforms to the right and the enemies to the left. I have no plans on doing any Atari runs, but I'd love to be prepared to watch them when someone do. I hope the encoders are not upset with what I said about preferring to watch movies on the emulator; I do not have internet connection at home, so the only way for me to watch movies is download the file for the emulator in my work and taking it home to watch later. So, if someone can confirm for me that these games are running without no errors in the graphics I would be very grateful.
I am old enough to know better, but not enough to do it.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Those games are indeed broken, and micro500 has already fixed them, they will be available in the next release!
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (87)
Joined: 10/4/2005
Posts: 196
adelikat wrote:
Those games are indeed broken, and micro500 has already fixed them, they will be available in the next release!
I did some work on the Atari core last night that fixed Enduro, Pleiades, and Activision Boxing (and probably others), but Frostbite and Megamania are unfortunately still broken. I'm going to look into them more this weekend.
cak
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/7/2010
Posts: 16
Location: Oregon USA
adelikat wrote:
cak wrote:
Totally awesome job on the 2600 emulation. Hopefully the Pitfall II mapper can be supported soon.
Is it by chance the E7 mapper? Or does it use something I'm not aware of?
DPC, I think.
speedrunner of SMB2, Metroid, Pitfall II, Blinky Goes Up