BizHawk Emulator Development


Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
BrunoRaji wrote:
PPSSPP 1.4 was released! Any chance to get him on BizHawk this time? http://tasvideos.org/Bizhawk/PSP.html
I don't think the PSP core exists in BizHawk anymore.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
After 4 years it got way better. natt said he suspended porting because the emu was being rapidly developed. I'd say now it should be safe to resume the work. Especially since psp in bizhawk would allow us to apply rerecording to one other platform automatically - mobile java aka j2me, via its emulator for psp.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
Fog
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (1101)
Joined: 4/5/2014
Posts: 459
Funny TAS of 2015
It's definitely a lot better compared to when it was originally considered for BizHawk. I was attempting to add re-recording support myself, but it turned out to be too much of a challenge for myself to complete.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (1412)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 5898
Location: The land down under.
PSX TASer of 2016
one day Fog... one day.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (442)
Joined: 12/13/2016
Posts: 348
feos wrote:
After 4 years it got way better. natt said he suspended porting because the emu was being rapidly developed. I'd say now it should be safe to resume the work. Especially since psp in bizhawk would allow us to apply rerecording to one other platform automatically - mobile java aka j2me, via its emulator for psp.
EmulatorCeption... hope work gets done on this soon!
Post subject: Will you add NeGcon for psx
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 12/5/2016
Posts: 39
Location: England
I love Ridge racer on the ps1 and it would be great if I could use the awesome controller
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2799)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3821
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
The audio toggles in the GBA core settings still don't seem to work properly. I'm on mgba (bizhawk 1.12.0) and, for example, toggling them all "false" should make it all mute right? But I can still hear some noise. And if I toggle everything except direct sound A and B to "false", it doesn't seem to have any effect at all, as I can still hear all the sound effects along with the BGM. I've been waiting for this feature a while now and it's disappointing it still doesn't work.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
MUGG wrote:
The audio toggles in the GBA core settings still don't seem to work properly. I'm on mgba (bizhawk 1.12.0) and, for example, toggling them all "false" should make it all mute right? But I can still hear some noise. And if I toggle everything except direct sound A and B to "false", it doesn't seem to have any effect at all, as I can still hear all the sound effects along with the BGM. I've been waiting for this feature a while now and it's disappointing it still doesn't work.
Cannot reproduce. All 6 toggles appear to be working.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 5/4/2016
Posts: 67
Looking at the core roadmap, I'm seeing it mentions there were plans to get DeSMuMe into Bizhawk by early 2016 but that clearly never happened. That still on the roadmap? Also, there was a new major release of GlideN64 back in December. Have any plans to replace the version shipping with bizhawk with that one? Dropping in the version compiled for Mupen64Plus loads but the video isn't displayed properly (you get a bunch of repeating copies of the image displayed side by side)
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2799)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3821
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
natt wrote:
MUGG wrote:
The audio toggles in the GBA core settings still don't seem to work properly. I'm on mgba (bizhawk 1.12.0) and, for example, toggling them all "false" should make it all mute right? But I can still hear some noise. And if I toggle everything except direct sound A and B to "false", it doesn't seem to have any effect at all, as I can still hear all the sound effects along with the BGM. I've been waiting for this feature a while now and it's disappointing it still doesn't work.
Cannot reproduce. All 6 toggles appear to be working.
Link to video
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
MUGG wrote:
natt wrote:
MUGG wrote:
The audio toggles in the GBA core settings still don't seem to work properly. I'm on mgba (bizhawk 1.12.0) and, for example, toggling them all "false" should make it all mute right? But I can still hear some noise. And if I toggle everything except direct sound A and B to "false", it doesn't seem to have any effect at all, as I can still hear all the sound effects along with the BGM. I've been waiting for this feature a while now and it's disappointing it still doesn't work.
Cannot reproduce. All 6 toggles appear to be working.
Link to video
Send me a saveram or a savestate for whatever that game is. And tell me the name of the game.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2799)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3821
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
Mario & Luigi Superstar Saga You don't need a save, the problem should be reproducible at game start. Thanks for looking into this.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
Whatever is making that one channel stay active even when all 6 channels are set to off must be very specific. Starting from the beginning of that game, leaving all channels off, I'm not hearing any sound. I've also verified each channel individually against test roms for that channel.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2799)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3821
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
natt wrote:
Starting from the beginning of that game, leaving all channels off, I'm not hearing any sound.
So I have all 6 toggles on false, playing on the US version of Mario & Luigi. It makes a sound when the Nintendo logo drops after power-on. And there is some noise audible on the titlescreen. When pressing A to confirm menu options (to start a new game), it makes a sound. This happens on Bizhawk 1.12.0 and 1.12.1. So are you saying you cannot hear any of those sounds?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
MUGG wrote:
natt wrote:
Starting from the beginning of that game, leaving all channels off, I'm not hearing any sound.
So I have all 6 toggles on false, playing on the US version of Mario & Luigi. It makes a sound when the Nintendo logo drops after power-on. And there is some noise audible on the titlescreen. When pressing A to confirm menu options (to start a new game), it makes a sound. This happens on Bizhawk 1.12.0 and 1.12.1. So are you saying you cannot hear any of those sounds?
My apologies. I had been testing against 5bebd0685a2655bf31790a9d276d354abe59c2bb. This should be identical to 1.12.1 release as far as mgba behavior goes, but it is not. I do get sounds as you described when I use the 1.12.1 downloaded release package. Now I just need to figure out what was merged or deployed wrong so that the release was broken.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
A merge error made the 1.12.0 and 1.12.1 releases not contain an updated mgba.dll which fixed this problem. I've corrected the release branch so a future release won't have this issue.
Jungon
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (73)
Joined: 4/2/2009
Posts: 375
Location: Porto Alegre - Brazil
Intellivision runs better than Atari on my computer, just...... where do I configure the disk pad? I can't get any directional commands.. O_o
*Jungon*/*Johnnyz* smilie weirdo =P ^^ o.o @__@ +D
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Did you see the controller configuration menu item in the Intellivision menu?
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Post subject: BizHawk 1.12.2 released!
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Awesome list of Genesis Fixes and some neat NES fixes too. And SNES stuff. Great to see things getting done. Well done team.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Jungon
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (73)
Joined: 4/2/2009
Posts: 375
Location: Porto Alegre - Brazil
adelikat wrote:
Did you see the controller configuration menu item in the Intellivision menu?
Saw it, ... directional should be normal configuration, I just can't get this to work =\ EDIT: oh, so I was not supposed to configure diagonals, it's working, thanks =D
*Jungon*/*Johnnyz* smilie weirdo =P ^^ o.o @__@ +D
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
So, I tested things and noticed the bug that was mentioned in [URL=http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19031]this thread[/URL] is finally gone on version 1.12.2 (yay!) What was the solution you guys came up with?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
Sonia wrote:
So, I tested things and noticed the bug that was mentioned in [URL=http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19031]this thread[/URL] is finally gone on version 1.12.2 (yay!) What was the solution you guys came up with?
No solution. Enjoy your non-determinism.
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
natt wrote:
No solution. Enjoy your non-determinism.
It's still there, except it doesn't screw up certain games anymore. I made two movies of a game (Run Saber) just for test - one with Force Determinism enabled and the other with it disabled. The former synced all the way to the end, the latter desynced right at Stage 1. So yeah, SNES still depends on determinism to sync. Thankfully it seems to no longer be problematic.
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
Now we could do multiplayer TASes of SNES games on BizHawk like Secret of Mana, NBA JAM, the Super Bomberman series, FIFA, NBA Live, International Superstar Soccer, and N-Warp Daisakusen.
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.