BizHawk Emulator Development


Joined: 9/25/2020
Posts: 2
Ah, my apologies, I somehow didn't see the Bug Reporting thread. Sorry to waste your time!
Post subject: BizHawk 2.5.2 Released
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Windows Binary Release notes This release fixes some more critical issues with the 2.5 release.
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
How do record videos on the incarnation of Bizhawk?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
BizHawk seems to lag while playing N64 and DS games as off the current version and new graphics cards are very expensive. It is probably because there's a lot of features. My computer has a 3.7 GHz CPU and an NVIDIA GTX 1060 GPU. How do I make the frame rate a consistent 60 on NTSC and 50 on PAL?
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (1412)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 5898
Location: The land down under.
PSX TASer of 2016
Well for N64 games it's playing at 320x240. For DS games it's use melonDS instead, I mean after all Hawk's DS emulation isn't acceptable since it's basically been left there.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Pokota
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 776
also for N64 games be mindful of which games you're playing. Not all of them had a display rate of 60 to begin with (cough Zelda cough)
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
DeSmuMe is lagging apparently. I've got too many apps running in the background. This is NOT an emulation issue.
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
I finally figured out how to record on Bizhawk, how do use FFMPEG with BizHawk to resize videos for Yotube? Or should I still use Virtualdub/AVISynth to edit and resize videos?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (3927)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2388
Location: US
NES TASer of 2015
I recently fixed a couple bugs in movie recording where it was possible to record inputs to the movie file while not sending them to the core. If anyone is able to test the dev build and make sure I didn't introduce any other issues accidentally at the same time I would very much appreciate it.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
Should you use FFMPEG in Bizhawk?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Evan0512
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/18/2017
Posts: 147
Location: San Francisco
Guernsey wrote:
Should you use FFMPEG in Bizhawk?
FFmpeg is used on OGVs, webms, movs, mpegs, movs, and mp4s, but I recommend mp4s.
Planned runs: Super Mario Bros. (warps, under 4:56 as a goal) SMB2 (warps) Marble Madness in 4 games:
    Marble Madness (NES) Marble Madness (Arcade) Marble Madness (Genesis) Marble Madness (GG/SMS)[/list:u] Proposed: Ecco the Dolphin (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD: regular, camera freeze) Ecco: The Tides of Time (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD; normal, hard modes) Super Princess Rescue (Homebrew A2600, no deaths, deaths) Halo 2600 (Homebrew A2600, short, long) New Super Mario Bros. (DS, 100%, warpless, warps, all star coins) Mario Kart DS (all cups, all missions)
Pokota
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 776
I would suggest using the FFMPEG dumper for bizhawk, yes. Among the other reasons you'll be given, I have been having issues with the VFW dumper causing Bizhawk to crash outright as of late, and as I can't get it to crash with a dump I can't tell if it's my system, the VFW module, or Bizhawk.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
What about the video splitting after a certain size? I really want to create a take without having to merge the clips.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Pokota
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 776
Depending on what game you're dumping from that may be unavoidable. If the game itself changes display resolutions mid-game - like Final Fantasy 7 does going between Menu and Gameplay - you'll get split video either way. The FFMPEG dumper should be able to handle larger target files than the VFW one - VFW splits at 2G for compatibility reasons as much as anything else.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
Looks like I will have to merge the clips somehow. I do not want too big of a file but I do not want to have inferior quality videos either. Thanks anyway.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Post subject: New problems
Evan0512
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/18/2017
Posts: 147
Location: San Francisco
I was using BizHawk 2.5.2 for two weeks now. I have noticed that when I play games from this emulator, bugs happened extremely often, almost whenever I startup. I opened BizHawk and then I opened a SNES ROM, which takes 10 seconds to load. Once I didn't do anything, the emulator stopped at 1300 frames and was placed at "Suspended" according to the application status in Task Manager. Windows stopped BizHawk because it stopped working. With BizHawk 2.2.x to 2.4.x works without crashes, bugs, and freezes, the 2.5.x version doesn't. This version series makes the BizHawk emulator stop working after 3 minutes of using it, with the same reason why it crashes when I run BizHawk v. 2.5.2 on any game. I said two weeks ago about the same problem, "This happened when I play Ecco the Dolphin on my computer. Without pressing anything, there is a bug detected. The game stopped, it doesn't respond, and the app crashes because it stopped working. My computer has 2 core 2.7 GHz CPU and 4GB memory, as I was having concerns recording movies on NES and Genesis games. Also, it happened almost every time while recording Genesis games." Note that these bugs, crashes, and freezes weren't fixed as of December 6, 2020.[/b] If it keeps crashing when it releases BizHawk 2.5.3 or 2.6, I'm going to partially switch to Retroarch, SNES9x v. 1.6.0, or bsnes v. 115. I still use BizHawk for that, since every game category (NES, SNES, A2600, GG/SMS, GB/GBC/GBA, etc.) were affected when I play games with it. I possibly contact Mothrayas or Samsara about these bugs.
Planned runs: Super Mario Bros. (warps, under 4:56 as a goal) SMB2 (warps) Marble Madness in 4 games:
    Marble Madness (NES) Marble Madness (Arcade) Marble Madness (Genesis) Marble Madness (GG/SMS)[/list:u] Proposed: Ecco the Dolphin (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD: regular, camera freeze) Ecco: The Tides of Time (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD; normal, hard modes) Super Princess Rescue (Homebrew A2600, no deaths, deaths) Halo 2600 (Homebrew A2600, short, long) New Super Mario Bros. (DS, 100%, warpless, warps, all star coins) Mario Kart DS (all cups, all missions)
Post subject: Re: New problems
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (1412)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 5898
Location: The land down under.
PSX TASer of 2016
Sorry, I didn't bother reading anything when I saw this bit while skimming through:
Evan0512 wrote:
I possibly contact Mothrayas or Samsara about these bugs.
Mothrayas doesn't do emulation development for BizHawk. They're a Site Admin Assistant for TASVideos. Samsara doesn't do emulation development for BizHawk. They're a Judge for TASVideos. Neither do emulation development for BizHawk these days (definitely never for Samsara).
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
RGL
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/13/2017
Posts: 48
@Evan All this sounds way more like that your Computer has some problems rather than Bizhawk. You make it sound like Bizhawk is just a pile of awful bugs that doesn't work at all. I make Longplays with Bizhawk, not Speedruns. Over the past 3 years I have created more than 200 Longplays with Bizhawk on several cores. Of course I had some bugs once in a while and some crahes too. But these were rather uncommon and I couldn't recreate most. Some Longplay TAS projects were many hours long and still worked. This is free software! No strings attached at all, so you might wanna think about your rather demanding tone. It's OK to ask for solutions to problems, thats what this Forum is for but a little humility doesnt hurt.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
@RGL I think you have a point. I think I may need to get a good computer or at least optimize the one I am using.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Post subject: BizHawk 2.6 Released!
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Windows binary Linux binary Release notes This release introduces a new core for Odyssey 2, which is now approved for site submissions and publications. In addition there are numerous core updates and bug fixes.
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
Is it better to use a keyboard or a controller when it comes to BizHawk? I really do not like those hotkeys as they seem to get in the way of my experience with playing the game.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
Guernsey wrote:
Is it better to use a keyboard or a controller when it comes to BizHawk? I really do not like those hotkeys as they seem to get in the way of my experience with playing the game.
You could use USB controller adapters for respective systems. You could also use USB controllers that resemble the real thing. For Intellivision, you use the keypad (albeit having 1,2,3 set to 7,8,9 and vice-versa, 0 set to clear, decimal point set to 0, + and - set to BR and TR buttons, Insert and Delete to TL and BL buttons, and Home, End, Page Up and Page Down for the Diagonals). For Colecovision, use the keypad for game options (with - set to the pound sign) Use NumLock to toggle between the numbers and arrows. If it seems awkward to you, you can opt for the default controls. You can have input overrides hotkeys enabled. The Xbox 360/Xbox One/Xbox Series X and S controllers also work, but Sega Genesis and Sega Saturn games may feel awkward to play with said controllers. (remember Virtual Console?)
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
Do the subtitles, messages, counter, etc display when you are doing a video?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Samsara
She/They
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge (2264)
Joined: 2/20/2009
Posts: 2437
Location: Northern California
Exotic platforms TAS of 2020Sega TAS of 2016
Guernsey wrote:
Do the subtitles, messages, counter, etc display when you are doing a video?
Not normally. You can enable "Capture OSD" in the AVI/WAV menu if you want that.
TASvideos Senior Judge <3 Ask me anything about the process! Twitter | Userpage
warmCabin wrote:
You shouldn't need a degree in computer science to get into this hobby.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
Does the resize from the Bizhawk A/V Writer work to resize a video?
Guernsey Adams Pierre