Post subject: TAS Input for Wiimotes
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
I wanted to ask, why is TAS Input for Wiimotes not available? Is it due to the complexity involved? The reason I ask is because I want a way to get clear values written to the DTM. Like X-Axis is 90, Y-Axis is 0, Z-Axis is 10. A and B are pushed, + and - are not pushed, 1 is pushed, 2 is not.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Editor, Experienced player (607)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
Most of the Dolphin developers don't focus on implementing TAS features. The person to implement a Wiimote TAS input would probably have to be from this site. I agree that such a feature is necessary, though.
Editor, Skilled player (1502)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1317
Why don't we skip all those pointless plugins and start coding TAS Editor for Dolphin.
Favorite animal: STOCK Gt(ROSA)26Sortm1.1(rtTA,EGFP)Nagy Grm7Tg(SMN2)89Ahmb Smn1tm1Msd Tg(SMN2*delta7)4299Ahmb Tg(tetO-SMN2,-luc)#aAhmb/J YouTube Twitch
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
This: http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15777 It handles Gamecube stuff no problem, but Wiimotes are much more challenging to read/write and I would like to have some substantial values instead of trying to guess work them out.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Joined: 10/25/2009
Posts: 59
Who says its not done? Just messing with you. This pictures is from over a year ago, back when I didn't have a job or college to worry about. It was still too buggy to release when I stopped working on it. Plus at the time wii TASing wasn't stable enough to bother finishing it anyways.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Why didn't you release the code? :( I'd be interested in fixing it up, if you want to do so now.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
This would be helpful for MKW TASing.
Patashu
He/Him
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 4000
Plz release code
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
Joined: 10/25/2009
Posts: 59
Here is a link with the two main files TASInputDlg.cpp/.h http://www.mediafire.com/download/852ac6dw1ar7u6t/Archive_2.zip For what ever reason it is no longer considered a git repository so I cannot create a patch. There are very few changes outside of these files though, but it doesn't currently compile due to all the changes in dolphin in the past year. Its not only begins implementing wii support, but also completely redid a lot of the code for the GC input. So the wii and GC could share the code. So when the code does get finished and committed GC input will need to be tested as well.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
The .h and .cpp were based on different revisions lol. This will be fun.
Joined: 10/25/2009
Posts: 59
RachelB wrote:
The .h and .cpp were based on different revisions lol. This will be fun.
Not quite sure how I managed to do that, but below is an explanation of how to get it compiling if you haven't already, and what I think is left to do for the wii. To get the GC Input working/compiling again all that needs to be changed is 1. the includes statements at the top. 2. change SPADStatus to GCPadStatus, 3. and on line 674 of FrameTools.cpp add g_TASInputDlg->CreateGCLayout(); As far as the the wii input (IIRC) wm_core and wm_accel just need to be passed in and set to the values from the wii tas input. Oh, and of course you have to make the wii input actually pop up.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Unfortunately not on windows. Error 3 error C2536: 'TASInputDlg::TASInputDlg::WiiButtons' : cannot specify explicit initializer for arrays (TASInputDlg.cpp 161 1 Dolphin Ditto with the 5 others. Visual studio doesn't support that.
Joined: 10/25/2009
Posts: 59
I'm not too familiar with c in general much less the ins and outs of visual studios. Nor do I have a windows computer available to play around with it on. So the only suggestion I have is the obvious albeit line consuming idea of initializing them in the construction as WiiButtons[0] = ... etc. But with the halfway added wii support the code is still 500 lines shorter than the current implementation. So I cannot imagine anyone complaining about the extra lines. However I am sure there is probably a better way to initiate it. I just don't know it.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Yeah, i don't know a better way either :/
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
https://github.com/RachelBryk/dolphin/commit/c5ba45267630e9de1ae543146f0fca8e6da79e92 Fixed code style, a few misc bugs, and cleaned it up a bit. Just have to make it work now.
Active player (469)
Joined: 2/1/2014
Posts: 928
Random questions cause this looks interesting (and kudos to you RachelB for trying to fix it up). By the picture above, What does it mean by Orientation X Y Z? Is that the tilt of the controller? Also Emulated Wiimote settings in Dolphin show Nunchuk, Swing, Tilt, Shake. I may need some instructions to go along with that setup ^_^
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Yeah, it is.
Active player (469)
Joined: 2/1/2014
Posts: 928
Awesome
Experienced player (703)
Joined: 2/5/2011
Posts: 1417
Location: France
Oh fuck, me and yoshifan were waiting for SMG2
Current: Rayman 3 maybe? idk xD Paused: N64 Rayman 2 (with Funnyhair) GBA SMA 4 : E Reader (With TehSeven) TASVideos is like a quicksand, you get in, but you cannot quit the sand
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Hello. I am about ready to give up on IR though, it is far more complicated :/
Joined: 10/25/2009
Posts: 59
RachelB wrote:
Hello. I am about ready to give up on IR though, it is far more complicated :/
Now you figured out why I didn't even put anything in the UI to control IR. While inconvenient to have to put your mouse back if you move it, it is already accurate. At least I think it is, never actually tested come to think of it. EDIT: And why on earth don't the crosshairs show up on windows?
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Also why input display has been wrong for it for forever. No idea about crosshairs, have never had them on windows.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Okay it works! Only problem is this is how: http://pastie.org/private/th9pc1gvcwvnsaju7pn8aq I hate this :(
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
https://www.dropbox.com/s/lm6zesc5w4yq1wg/Dolphin-wii-tas-input.7z Try it. It breaks the normal controls for IR, and only works with the tasinput (which is still labeled main stick, whatever), but i think everything else should work. Let me know if not.
Experienced player (670)
Joined: 11/23/2013
Posts: 2206
Location: Guatemala
Crap, I can't seem to open the emu. Maybe its just my PC that is 32-bit. Sorry, I can't try it out. (
Here, my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/dekutony