Submission Text Full Submission Page
A newly discovered dialogue glitch allows jumping to unrelated locations in the game script by activating a bogus dialogue prompt. This run jumps straight to the end and thereby beats the game soon after leaving Potos.

Game objectives

  • Emulator used: Snes9x 1.51 v7 svn225
  • Aims for fastest time
  • Abuses glitches
  • Manipulates luck

Comments

While playing the game on a console, a player named BJW recorded a video where the dialogue window went crazy after opening a 1000 GP chest in the fire palace. After staring long enough at the code, I was able to determine the cause.
If a script is triggered on a specific frame following the disappearance of a status message from the screen, and the script displays the player's money before printing anything else, the game will instead give an invisible prompt using the last parameters. Entering the save menu will clear the number of options, allowing underflowing to option 256 by pressing left. After making a choice, both the jump table pointer and the script pointer will point to the selected entry in the jump table. Furthermore, if this location contains text rather than a script command, the game will continue giving invisible prompts. The table pointer is also used to point at the tables for printing names of enemies, equipment and spells. In this run, I get a "barreled" status message before talking to the cannon man, as there are few ways to trigger messages in this room at this point in the game.

Route

Waterfall

Gained 25 frames by better stair walking and bush slashing.

Rabite forest

From here it goes downhill. I need to kill 10 rabites to get money for shopping in Potos, and the RNG is giving me a hard time. The awkward movements at the end are for manipulating spawns. It is still faster than selling the overalls, as the selling menu refuses to open when you do not have any equipment, if the item menu was opened last.

Mantis Ant

Again, the RNG is being stubborn, and no critical hits could be had in a reasonable time.

Potos

I get 50 GP from chest in Elder's house. I buy a candy, a herb and a cup of wishes at the store and execute the money glitch.

Neko's

I buy a barrel and a cup of wishes, and invoke the save menu. The cup of wishes is necessary since the item menu is messed up at this point.

Dyluck

After talking to the second soldier from the right, the cannon man starts charging money.

Cannon

Before entering the cannon room, I use the barrel. It is important to leave the menu open until it starts printing "Barrel", to load an usable text table pointer. After the message about being barreled disappears, I talk to the cannon man and the false prompt is activated. I then advance the pointer in increments of 2 (by choosing option 1) and 512 (by choosing option 256) until I get to C91096, which invokes the ending screen.

Useful RAM addresses

AddressDescription
7E00F4Frame counter
7ECC48Items
7ECC6AMoney
7EE002Position
7EE006Speed
7E1873Item selection
7E1D00Text flags. Bit 7: Activates a prompt
7EA200Current dialogue choice
7EA1D4Number of dialogue choices
7EA1D5Table pointer
Also useful was the script I wrote for displaying real time information about the game state, downloadable here: http://www.mediafire.com/download/hmlq9015op565a3/som.lua
Edit: An improvement was pointed out. I am therefore cancelling this and uploading a new one.

TASVideoAgent
They/Them
Experienced Forum User, Moderator
Joined: 8/3/2004
Posts: 12103
Location: 127.0.0.1
This topic is for the purpose of discussing #4463: HHS's SNES Secret of Mana in 08:57.66
True
They/Them
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Player (65)
Joined: 1/18/2008
Posts: 663
I would to have loved to have tested this on console, but 1. It likely wouldn't sync with this emulator choice 2. I don't have access to this game, nor do I have a donor cart yet :( Nice run, though I wish you weren't a tease about it in the thread.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (92)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
DS TAS of 2012
Interesting. Awaiting encode.
Ford
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/5/2013
Posts: 180
Location: California
I attempted to run this movie, but it only managed to run at all in snes9x v1.53, instead of v1.51 like your submission states. And when it does, it just hangs out in the name-pickin' spot and does slightly weird things. WHAT DO?
True
They/Them
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Player (65)
Joined: 1/18/2008
Posts: 663
Ford wrote:
I attempted to run this movie, but it only managed to run at all in snes9x v1.53, instead of v1.51 like your submission states. And when it does, it just hangs out in the name-pickin' spot and does slightly weird things. WHAT DO?
Use proper v1.51? Syncs for me on v1.51r7.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 5/29/2004
Posts: 757
The hell did I just watch? Thank you for taking the time to explain everything out so neatly. It made understanding a lot easier... even if it still illicited a wtf. Also, thanks creaothceann for being so kind as to have an encode available for download. I was definitely entertained, if not confused a bit... but definite Yes vote. Mr. Kelly R. Flewin
Mr. Kelly R. Flewin Just another random gamer ---- <OmnipotentEntity> How do you people get bored in the span of 10 seconds? Worst ADD ever.
Patashu
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 3854
WELP. That was Secret of Mana.
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
Ford
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/5/2013
Posts: 180
Location: California
True wrote:
Ford wrote:
I attempted to run this movie, but it only managed to run at all in snes9x v1.53, instead of v1.51 like your submission states. And when it does, it just hangs out in the name-pickin' spot and does slightly weird things. WHAT DO?
Use proper v1.51? Syncs for me on v1.51r7.
This one? 'cause that's the one I'm using, and it stated that a different version was required. I'm certain I must be doing something wrong; please let me know what it is. BTW, creaothceann, thanks for the encode. Ahhhh, good old Nasir programming!
bjw
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/22/2014
Posts: 4
Location: CA, USA
Amazing.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (92)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
DS TAS of 2012
Hmm, do we have to debate again about what counts as beating the game? :P Not sure where this run falls.
Patashu
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 3854
ALAKTORN wrote:
Hmm, do we have to debate again about what counts as beating the game? :P Not sure where this run falls.
It looks like you have 'arbitrary event execution', so whatever event counts as beating the game can be reached and played. (Not as strong as ACE unfortunately)
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
True
They/Them
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Player (65)
Joined: 1/18/2008
Posts: 663
ALAKTORN wrote:
Hmm, do we have to debate again about what counts as beating the game? :P
No.
Ford
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/5/2013
Posts: 180
Location: California
In the author's defense, the scene that appears at the end of the movie is the same that appears after the credits have rolled. Technically, he achieved endgame status.
Dwedit
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/24/2006
Posts: 689
Location: Chicago
Does this mean Nasir can't code?
Synahel
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/19/2011
Posts: 259
Location: France
Love it. Thanks a lot! I personnaly think wrong warp to the end is always amazing to watch. But yeah, game is broken anyway, Nasir please.
jaysmad
Other
Experienced Forum User, Experienced player (775)
Joined: 12/1/2006
Posts: 626
Location: Mom's
Great stuff! Easy yes.
Experienced Forum User, Experienced player (653)
Joined: 2/5/2011
Posts: 1417
Location: France
TAS of 2017First edition TAS of 2017PSX TAS of 2017Rookie of 2013
That was SO GREAT! Yes.
Current: Rayman 3 maybe? idk xD Paused: N64 Rayman 2 (with Funnyhair) GBA SMA 4 : E Reader (With TehSeven) TASVideos is like a quicksand, you get in, but you cannot quit the sand
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 5/23/2010
Posts: 16
Haha, that was crazy, nice job. This is all your fault bjw, so rude with the game. :D
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
True wrote:
I don't have access to this game, nor do I have a donor cart yet :(
Aren't there flash (?) cards where you just have to copy the ROMs from your PC over? Then you just need e.g. the No-Intro set.
Ford
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/5/2013
Posts: 180
Location: California
Dwedit wrote:
Does this mean Nasir can't code?
He can't code well. For additional evidence, please refer to the many, many bugs in Final Fantasy 1.
Synahel
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/19/2011
Posts: 259
Location: France
Ford wrote:
Dwedit wrote:
Does this mean Nasir can't code?
He can't code well. For additional evidence, please refer to the many, many bugs in Final Fantasy 1.
And III. Remember the 7 minutes TAS there?
Patashu
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 3854
Why's everyone talking about Nasir? Is this a meme?
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
Ford
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/5/2013
Posts: 180
Location: California
Patashu wrote:
Why's everyone talking about Nasir? Is this a meme?
Perhaps he's becoming one? Nasir is the programmer for a number of Squaresoft games, like FF1, FF3, and Secret of Mana. We're going on about how many programming errors there are in those games.
True
They/Them
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Player (65)
Joined: 1/18/2008
Posts: 663
creaothceann wrote:
True wrote:
I don't have access to this game, nor do I have a donor cart yet :(
Aren't there flash (?) cards where you just have to copy the ROMs from your PC over? Then you just need e.g. the No-Intro set.
Perhaps, but that is not similar to original hardware. Most also have some kind of loaders, have loading delays to load from SD into SRAM, or other code that executes. I need the cart to be as close to original as possible for verification to be considered authentic. (That doesn't mean that others wouldn't be helpful, but at that point it is not verifying the game as it was originally on the console...) That's also more money to spend and I'm tired of spending money on this hobby. I have a 32mbit EEPROM and a conversion board to change the pinout to SNES mode. What I need to do is change the pinout again to a standard EEPROM pinout to program it, and use a donor cart. In this case, a battery backed cart with SRAM is needed, and I don't have that. I also don't know what cart types there are for SNES, other than DSP types of course, or if it makes a difference. At least there isn't the mapper mess like there is on NES. About this run: is it likely SoE has the glitch (probably not)? I have access to that :)