JXQ
Experienced player (750)
Joined: 5/6/2005
Posts: 3132
If acceleration is 1 pixel/frame^2, it means each frame, the velocity increases my 1 pixel/frame. So frame 1 has a velocity of 1 px/f, frame 2 has a velocity of 2 px/f, and so on. So velocity at frame x = x pixels/frame (assuming original speed of 0). You can calculate the distance travelled at frame x by adding from 1 to x. This can also be done with calculus but it's a bit of overkill for that. And now I'm rambling. So, to hopefully answer your question, a super missile will be travelling 10 px/f faster than it was 10 frames ago.
<Swordless> Go hug a tree, you vegetarian (I bet you really are one)
Player (88)
Joined: 11/14/2005
Posts: 1057
Location: United States
Evilchen: Beautiful avi you made there. I think the music was pretty fitting for the game. The item% counter was a great touch too. Thanks a lot for making it :) Tonski: Yeah, those were 2 of the new CWJs that I added to my new movie. Good job finding them. Fully optimized they save a really nice amount of frames.
They're off to find the hero of the day...
Joined: 1/11/2007
Posts: 279
Location: Finland, Lieksa
Heh, I so thought that I'd find something to help your run, but you found both of them yourself. :P
<Deign> .dice 1d1999191023443691 <BisqBot> Deign rolls a blackhole and destroys the planet.
Joined: 8/9/2004
Posts: 123
There's not really a speed limit. I once disabled the code to kill projectiles when they went offscreen. My beams eventually went so fast that they reversed direction (beam speed only goes up to 127.255 pixels per frame, then switches to -128.000 pixels per frame), returned to where I fired them from, stopped, and then continued moving forward again. And JXQ explained the speed plenty well. :)
kwinse wrote:
Kejardon wrote:
Kriole wrote:
Samus is damaged by a Rinka in the opening.
That's a script action; no damage. ... it just dawned on me I know way too much about SM.
It took THAT to make you realize?
Joined: 8/27/2006
Posts: 883
You should really take a video of this :P
P.JBoy
Any
Editor
Joined: 3/25/2006
Posts: 850
Location: stuck in Pandora's box HELLPP!!!
Kejardon wrote:
[...]My beams eventually [...] reversed direction [...], returned to where I fired them from, stopped, and then continued moving forward again.
Sounds like some ultra amazing Spazer SBA to me
Joined: 6/9/2006
Posts: 614
Location: Mettmann
http://dehacked.2y.net/microstorage.php/info/1829474507/wtf_pls.smv you may watch it in frame adv and/or try to jump on it from anywhere else it still hits you and i dont know WHY and WHAT it is - i hope you can find the answer for me (to add: this thing happens more then once to me at that point now but i dont know why and what it is - it interupts my refills at that point) edit: you might wanna know, this thing does not vanish if you wait or anything it just goes off when you get hit by - it even stays if you go away and go back to it after killing the enemys and even more weird things happen there
Joined: 8/9/2004
Posts: 123
It's nothing much special. The enemies will respawn individually, shortly after the explosion clears or the item they drop is picked up or disappears. However, they don't visibly appear and start moving until all 5 have respawned. You can easily snipe them while kneeling on the ledge and still get the drops - item drops have pretty large hit boxes. And as a plus, you can kill the ones that have respawned even if they're not visible. It'd probably make it faster to manipulate them all to drop good items that way - split them up into 2 or 3 groups to kill at a time. And why did the server have to go and shut down *right* as I tried to submit my post?
kwinse wrote:
Kejardon wrote:
Kriole wrote:
Samus is damaged by a Rinka in the opening.
That's a script action; no damage. ... it just dawned on me I know way too much about SM.
It took THAT to make you realize?
Joined: 6/9/2006
Posts: 614
Location: Mettmann
good to know i never heared about that thats pretty neat invis enemys :x
Joined: 1/11/2007
Posts: 279
Location: Finland, Lieksa
I can't watch evilchen's avi. :( I ain't got the x264 codec and don't know how to install it. ...help?
<Deign> .dice 1d1999191023443691 <BisqBot> Deign rolls a blackhole and destroys the planet.
Former player
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 1711
www.google.com -> "vlc download" -> click. vlc plays pretty much everything.
Zoey Ridin' High <Fabian_> I prett much never drunk
P.JBoy
Any
Editor
Joined: 3/25/2006
Posts: 850
Location: stuck in Pandora's box HELLPP!!!
Player (88)
Joined: 11/14/2005
Posts: 1057
Location: United States
I've come up with couple more timesavers for the 100% run. here here here Hey Cpadolf, how goes the progress of your run? I am looking forward to watching it.
They're off to find the hero of the day...
Joined: 1/11/2007
Posts: 279
Location: Finland, Lieksa
Your creativity has no limits Hero, you always find new timesavers. I really think that 36 min 100% run might be possible. I'm also looking forward to CPadolf's TAS, how's it going man?
<Deign> .dice 1d1999191023443691 <BisqBot> Deign rolls a blackhole and destroys the planet.
Skilled player (1431)
Joined: 7/15/2007
Posts: 1468
Location: Sweden
I've just entered the ridley battle, and thanks to JXQ's elite pirate room strategy and hero's "shinespark through two room's" technique I gained a whole 5.5 seconds purely from the last 20-25 seconds of gameplay putting me almost exactly 1 minute ahead of my old TAS. The only problem is that because of the new shinecharge I have very little health (though more then 29 of course) so I just hope that ridley won't bitch out and give me only health. Speaking of my progress hero, how is yours? Have you even started or are you still researching for new techniques? EDIT: Just watched your new timesavers. Really nice, especially the first maridia tech.
Agare Bagare Kopparslagare
Player (88)
Joined: 11/14/2005
Posts: 1057
Location: United States
I have restarted, but haven't made much progress. I am still at ceres. To be honest, I might just wait until a bug fixed version of 1.51 is released and then record it on that instead. I am not really in much of a rush to get it done, so I have just been lookin around for more potential timesavers in my run.
They're off to find the hero of the day...
Joined: 8/9/2004
Posts: 123
If your total energy (counting reserves too) dips below 30, enemies will only drop energy until your energy rises back up to at least 50. I'd have to check the code again to see if it was inclusive/exclusive, but I know those are the borderlines.
kwinse wrote:
Kejardon wrote:
Kriole wrote:
Samus is damaged by a Rinka in the opening.
That's a script action; no damage. ... it just dawned on me I know way too much about SM.
It took THAT to make you realize?
JXQ
Experienced player (750)
Joined: 5/6/2005
Posts: 3132
Kejardon wrote:
If your total energy (counting reserves too) dips below 30, enemies will only drop energy until your energy rises back up to at least 50. I'd have to check the code again to see if it was inclusive/exclusive, but I know those are the borderlines.
At least one enemy doesn't follow this constraint, though, as I got a Super Missile after Crocomire's area with 29 energy on the v2 100% run.
<Swordless> Go hug a tree, you vegetarian (I bet you really are one)
Joined: 12/7/2005
Posts: 149
Location: Sweden
JXQ wrote:
Kejardon wrote:
If your total energy (counting reserves too) dips below 30, enemies will only drop energy until your energy rises back up to at least 50. I'd have to check the code again to see if it was inclusive/exclusive, but I know those are the borderlines.
At least one enemy doesn't follow this constraint, though, as I got a Super Missile after Crocomire's area with 29 energy on the v2 100% run.
You did have some reserve tank energy though.
Player (88)
Joined: 11/14/2005
Posts: 1057
Location: United States
hey Kejardon, I figured you might have an answer for this. Do you know if it is possible to open this door from this area using the wrap around shot technique? I guess it would be worth hearing if it is at all possible before testing every single pixel position for myself.
They're off to find the hero of the day...
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
bkDJ wrote:
Apart from what seemed like interlacing artifacts (could be a playback problem on my end), the video was entertaining and I enjoyed most of the music. Nice job :)
You can fix that though: 1. get VirtualDubMod and load the video 2. select "menu | video | filters" 3. add the deinterlacing filter, option "blend frames together" 4. press F7 to save the file; in the dialog use the "change" button to select the compression
Joined: 6/9/2006
Posts: 614
Location: Mettmann
creaothceann wrote:
bkDJ wrote:
Apart from what seemed like interlacing artifacts (could be a playback problem on my end), the video was entertaining and I enjoyed most of the music. Nice job :)
You can fix that though: 1. get VirtualDubMod and load the video 2. select "menu | video | filters" 3. add the deinterlacing filter, option "blend frames together" 4. press F7 to save the file; in the dialog use the "change" button to select the compression
should i use that for my future videos too? does it increase quality or something?
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
It seems that you somehow converted the non-interlaced AVI dumped by SNES9x to an interlaced format. If you always stay on the non-interlaced side of things then those disconnected horizontal lines visible during movement should not occur. Maybe your video editing program is set to TV output or something similar.
Joined: 6/9/2006
Posts: 614
Location: Mettmann
i did not understand a word at all, my raw file was from snes9x uncompressed -> then did it in sony vegas to windows avi(i dont know what it does but it was rather big 4,7 gb for 20 mins) and after that i used virtualdub with x264 that was all :/ i do not have any idea how to encode things i had much problems to get the result ive posted here
Senior Moderator
Joined: 8/4/2005
Posts: 5770
Location: Away
It seems like Sony Vegas outputted a file through some sort of "DVD" preset: 4.7 GB, interlaced. TRy fiddling with Vegas's output settings.
hero of the day wrote:
I've come up with couple more timesavers for the 100% run.
Hmm, I honestly expected them to save a bit more, but that's still interesting. (In total, they save about 70—80 frames, give or take a couple.) But the more I think of it, the more I realize the 100% run is already in need of improvement, once again. :\ So many improvements are continued to be found right from the beginning of the game that it isn't even funny.
Warp wrote:
Edit: I think I understand now: It's my avatar, isn't it? It makes me look angry.