Post subject: Super Bomberman 3
jaysmad
Other
Experienced player (837)
Joined: 12/1/2006
Posts: 629
Location: Mom's
I am playing much of this game these days. It is quite different from the other Super Bomberman in the series. The graphics are totally old school. They look like the gfx in the first Bomberman's, some will love and some wont. Personally, i prefer it from the other's since, in this one, you get to ride Rooey's, who are pretty much the key to making a quick run of this. Rooey's Abilitys
    The blue Rooey has the ability to kick the bomb in an arc a distance away, like the Power Mitt The green one can speed from one end of the arena to the other The brown one can lay the maximum number of bombs in a line in the direction faced The pink one jumping over the maximum of one block of wall or even a bomb blast The yellow one having the power to kick combustible walls away.
I think the green Rooey would be the fastest way to TAS the game but i also think that using everyone would make it more interesting to watch. The green is fast but he could get on some people's nerve. I am currently at the first boss. I am wondering what would be the fastest way to kill him. When he is on fire my bombs explode as soon as they touch him but i think hitting him while there is a counter over his head kills him faster. If anyone has an idea please tell. I will find out eventually but i like having other people's opinion. Since this game is not very popular, people would think it is not good so i decided to post a quick wip to make the juice flowing. To watch the wip you will need the Super Bomberman 3 (E) since i found out that it is faster than most other SB3 roms. Enjoy!
Joined: 4/29/2005
Posts: 1212
This looks really good so far. Aside from the fact the movie ends right in the middle of the first boss fight. :3 At first I didn't notice there were two players running asround the screen until I saw more explosions down below the first player in the first stage. xD Keep it up. ;3
Joined: 10/3/2005
Posts: 1332
Not bad. I didn't have any problem with the green rooey zipping around.
Jaysmad wrote:
I am currently at the first boss. I am wondering what would be the fastest way to kill him. When he is on fire my bombs explode as soon as they touch him but i think hitting him while there is a counter over his head kills him faster. If anyone has an idea please tell. I will find out eventually but i like having other people's opinion.
Hmm. I'm not sure I understand the problem, but are you watching the boss' life value in RAM? I think that would answer any uncertainty.
jaysmad
Other
Experienced player (837)
Joined: 12/1/2006
Posts: 629
Location: Mom's
Dromiceius wrote:
Hmm. I'm not sure I understand the problem, but are you watching the boss' life value in RAM? I think that would answer any uncertainty.
Are you telling me that there is a way to know how much "hp" the boss has? How? That would be pretty helpful!
Joined: 10/3/2005
Posts: 1332
I think I got it... 7E12EC. In snes9x, click cheat -> search for new cheats and scroll down to that address. Click it, then click "watch".
jaysmad
Other
Experienced player (837)
Joined: 12/1/2006
Posts: 629
Location: Mom's
Wow! Thanks man! With this, i think the boss loses the same amount of "hp" in either case so it will be an easy fight. But seriously how the heck did you find that address? Random?
Joined: 10/3/2005
Posts: 1332
The cheat tools. Hit the boss, search for "less than" values in the cheat search window, and repeat until the list of addresses has been narrowed down enough to pick out a few addresses that look like an HP values.
jaysmad
Other
Experienced player (837)
Joined: 12/1/2006
Posts: 629
Location: Mom's
Now that is a sweet trick! Thx again! :)
Kitsune wrote:
This looks really good so far. Aside from the fact the movie ends right in the middle of the first boss fight. :3
Thanks, this is for you! Bye bye boss. Enjoy! Of course, having the mines would help speed up things.
Joined: 4/29/2005
Posts: 1212
Now THAT is excellent. :3 I don't think I've ever seen a boss in a Bomberman game butchered so easily. Keep it up! ^^
Post subject: Super Bomberman 3
Dark_Noob
He/Him
Experienced player (764)
Joined: 8/24/2011
Posts: 319
Location: Brazil
This is one of the games I've been working now with two players would have you help me because I do not know much about bomberman there is a BAC of it just do not know if I can use the password he used here is the link. I hope to help me. Link to video
Someone who still enjoy playing fighting games ;)
Active player (498)
Joined: 2/5/2012
Posts: 1713
Location: Brasil
I don't have snes9x so i can't check how much time i have saved or how much i am behind compared to the last WIP but what do u guys think of it? I'd really like some suggestions about it,and some RAM addresses too. http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/4111482579278091 is this how i'm supposed to post WIPs? Also,it beats the first 2 stages.
TAS i'm interested: megaman series: mmbn1 all chips, mmx3 any% psx glitched fighting games with speed goals in general
Dark_Noob
He/Him
Experienced player (764)
Joined: 8/24/2011
Posts: 319
Location: Brazil
sorry I do not use the lsnes emulator then if you can do a encode I'd appreciate it!
Someone who still enjoy playing fighting games ;)
Active player (498)
Joined: 2/5/2012
Posts: 1713
Location: Brasil
Dark Noob wrote:
sorry I do not use the lsnes emulator then if you can do a encode I'd appreciate it!
can't encode,sorry,i tried a lot with gba emulators and the files were too big or compressed incorrectly in youtube, also,couldn't manipulate perfect layouts all the time but the strats get faster with the timed bomb http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/4387798314075181
TAS i'm interested: megaman series: mmbn1 all chips, mmx3 any% psx glitched fighting games with speed goals in general
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1144)
Joined: 5/1/2010
Posts: 1217
grassini wrote:
can't encode,sorry,i tried a lot with gba emulators and the files were too big or compressed incorrectly in youtube,
What is "too big"? Would 110MB for that WIP (a bit under 9 minutes) be "too big" (that's what I got in a test, didn't upload since I don't have a channel)? Also, that's a savestate (used dev version of lsnes[1][2], it doesn't exactly like savestates[3] from stable versions). Another reason for me trying that movie was to try to give a bit of a shakedown (bugs and important stuff missing) on movie editor I am working on (yeah, already noted some stuff I need to implement)... [1] There shouldn't be differences relevant to video dumping between dev and stable versions. [2] The dev version just happened to be what I had compiled at the time. [3] The indexing of controls is different, which breaks savestate compatibility.
Active player (498)
Joined: 2/5/2012
Posts: 1713
Location: Brasil
Ilari wrote:
grassini wrote:
can't encode,sorry,i tried a lot with gba emulators and the files were too big or compressed incorrectly in youtube,
What is "too big"? Would 110MB for that WIP (a bit under 9 minutes) be "too big" (that's what I got in a test, didn't upload since I don't have a channel)? Also, that's a savestate (used dev version of lsnes[1][2], it doesn't exactly like savestates[3] from stable versions). Another reason for me trying that movie was to try to give a bit of a shakedown (bugs and important stuff missing) on movie editor I am working on (yeah, already noted some stuff I need to implement)... [1] There shouldn't be differences relevant to video dumping between dev and stable versions. [2] The dev version just happened to be what I had compiled at the time. [3] The indexing of controls is different, which breaks savestate compatibility.
Ilari,are you the dev of lsnes? Anyway,i was just saying i couldn't show encodes of GBA emulators because i couldn't compress them in formats that wouldn't get "weirded" on youtube,so i pretty much didn't even try seeing if the same would happen with lsnes. Thanks for having dropped by to answer anyway,i will give it a try then.I will surely download the newer versions of lsnes,specially if it has input editor. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dN0sJ_gpxI4&feature=youtu.be Encode will be up soon.
TAS i'm interested: megaman series: mmbn1 all chips, mmx3 any% psx glitched fighting games with speed goals in general
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1144)
Joined: 5/1/2010
Posts: 1217
grassini wrote:
Ilari,are you the dev of lsnes?
The main dev (and currently the only dev).
grassini wrote:
Thanks for having dropped by to answer anyway,i will give it a try then.I will surely download the newer versions of lsnes,specially if it has input editor.
The editor is still missing at least some basic features (discovered that when trying it out). Intention is to have it in the next release.
grassini wrote:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dN0sJ_gpxI4&feature=youtu.be Encode will be up soon.
Seems to be up already. More than good enough for a WIP (wouldn't cut for final encode, but that's what encoders are for). Edit: The "next release" referred from above is out and it does have basic movie editing (but more features are needed).
Active player (498)
Joined: 2/5/2012
Posts: 1713
Location: Brasil
Thanks,Ilari,I'm already using the new version. Here's my newest WIP.It goes on until the third boss. I decided to give up the spike bomb which would be a major time saver in a few stages if i had not acquired the wallpass to go through the blocks,which means no explosions are needed,and didn't need to bomb only specific places using the manipulated layout. http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/4832637680063608 I will encode and upload: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMHO72cO6L0&feature=youtu.be
TAS i'm interested: megaman series: mmbn1 all chips, mmx3 any% psx glitched fighting games with speed goals in general
Active player (498)
Joined: 2/5/2012
Posts: 1713
Location: Brasil
double post but i will submit the TAS as soon as i can. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXO6oEMl0RY&feature=youtu.be
TAS i'm interested: megaman series: mmbn1 all chips, mmx3 any% psx glitched fighting games with speed goals in general
Active player (498)
Joined: 2/5/2012
Posts: 1713
Location: Brasil
BIG EDIT DISCLAIMER:the speed pattern is wrong since i tested it on the european version(justice league tas feelings),dooty gave me insight into that,but the rest of the info i have is pretty good,specially my memory watch file,i tested it on the japanese. -END OF BIG EDIT- i found player1 X and Y position exactly on lsnes: xpos: 8262831 or 7E14AF ypos:8262903 or 7E14F7 default speed is 1 per frame,the green rooey dash is 4 units per frame,next step is finding speed address and the speedshoes gain. After 2 speedshoes you walk an extra unit each 8 frames of walking. After 3 speedshoes you walk an extra unit each 4 frames of walking. After 4 speedshoes you walk an extra unit each 3 frames of walking. After 5 speedshoes you walk an extra unit each 2 frames of walking. After 6 speedshoes,it gets hard to get understand the unit moved by frame oscilated with no clear pattern for me: 22121221221212212212122 units by frame After 7, the pattern is 222122212221... After 8, you walk 2 units and each seven frames you walk 1 unit After 9 you walk 2 units each frame normal mode only has 11 skate which puts one character at max speed and the other not so much.
TAS i'm interested: megaman series: mmbn1 all chips, mmx3 any% psx glitched fighting games with speed goals in general
Expert player (2592)
Joined: 6/2/2009
Posts: 1182
Location: Teresópolis - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Mitjitsu pointed out something I've been missing/overlooking for a very long time; sub-pixels. Maybe finding a sub-pixel address would solve that riddle for you - since you can't actually "see" them.
I am old enough to know better, but not enough to do it.
Player (33)
Joined: 2/16/2012
Posts: 282
Just judging from your addresses, it's somewhat unusual for a large-value variable like position to be starting on an odd address. You will likely find your supixel values at 8262830 and 8262902, respectively. I'm not familiar with the coordinate system in this game, but it's possible it may even be a 4-byte value starting from those locations.
Active player (498)
Joined: 2/5/2012
Posts: 1713
Location: Brasil
Dooty wrote:
Mitjitsu pointed out something I've been missing/overlooking for a very long time; sub-pixels. Maybe finding a sub-pixel address would solve that riddle for you - since you can't actually "see" them.
how do you recommend doing that memory search?
TAS i'm interested: megaman series: mmbn1 all chips, mmx3 any% psx glitched fighting games with speed goals in general
Editor, Skilled player (1176)
Joined: 9/27/2008
Posts: 1085
To start with, you'll need some speed shoes. With none, you only ever move 1 pixel, and with the full amount, you only ever move 2 pixels. Neither of these will involve the sub-pixel, so you're stuck there. Pick some number in between these two extremes, so you have some pattern of 1s and 2s rather than only 1s or only 2s. Begin your search once you have some speed speed shoes, but not too many. Hold still. Search for things that did not change. Do this a few times to remove addresses changing without you moving. Move a frame east. Search for things not equal. Move another frame and repeat. Once you track that, restart your search for going south just in case they use sub-pixels for each axis. There's a good chance the sub-pixel is changing in some step of 32 (0, 32, 64, 96, 128, 160, 192, 224). If you see the address changing like that when moving, it's almost certainly what you're looking for. I'm not saying that's the only way it'll go, but my experience with sub-pixels in other games lead me to believe that's the pattern you'll likely find. Side note: Memory addresses are best referred in hexadecimal. The value at the address can be viewed in whatever form is best (decimal, hexadecimal, or some bizarre base value), but the address itself should be given in hexadecimal only, as that's standard practice.
Expert player (2592)
Joined: 6/2/2009
Posts: 1182
Location: Teresópolis - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
grassini wrote:
how do you recommend doing that memory search?
Sorry, but we are on the same boat here; I'm about to get crazy with the memory addresses of Quackshot. :( @FatRatKnight; I'm trying out your tips, but I'm still confused about the bits and bytes... I'm pretty sure the position is 2 bytes, but the subpixel seems to be 1 byte only. Is that possible? I mean, how to calculate different addresses? (sum them) Sorry if it's a stupid question, but I never, ever used sub-pixels.
I am old enough to know better, but not enough to do it.
Editor, Skilled player (1176)
Joined: 9/27/2008
Posts: 1085
In summary: * Search using byte (usually), unsigned (always) * If you're not moving, sub-pixels are probably not changing. Search either equal or zero changes * If you are moving, sub-pixels are changing. Search either not equal or more than zero changes * Repeat these searches until you have few enough addresses to study * Sub-pixels usually are 1/256 of one pixel Sub-pixel is probably one byte. They could use two bytes for it, for those cases the developers didn't want to change to byte mode, but sub-pixels probably are in one byte. And yes, it's perfectly valid to have two-byte pixel position and one-byte sub-pixel position. Read sub-pixels as an unsigned value, it makes a lot less sense to see possible negative values with signed values. The calculation of a one-byte sub-pixel is usually just 1/256 of a pixel. In my instructions, I never said anything about greater than or less than. Just whatever isn't equal. Such instructions get more complicated, as blindly searching for "greater than" will remove the sub-pixel address you're looking for. It can be done, in that if you are moving 1 or 2 pixels, the sub-pixel got greater if you moved only 1 pixel, and smaller if you moved 2 pixels. Do not trust the graphics, trust more in the pixel address you found. When you're not moving at all, there's a good chance the sub-pixels aren't doing anything either, though I am aware of one case where that isn't true (Super Mario World's Y position comes to mind). So when I say search for equal when not moving and not equal when moving a short distance, you might find it. If you have access to change count, search based on it being 0 (did not move) or not being 0 (you did move) and reset it every time after a search. There are other possible sub-pixel patterns, but I'm talking about the one I'm more familiar with. The less familiar sorts would be the game simply counting up how many frames of movement and pick out how many full pixels to move you that frame without any fractional calculations. I'm not familiar with that, and for all I know, the game uses a global timer for that type. If it doesn't use a timer, then it would change or not change based on whether you're moving. ... Now I'm turning the topic into a tutorial. Sorry about that, everyone! We probably should go to the Newbie Corner for further explanations.