1 2
8 9 10
16 17
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
mqduck wrote:
FCEUX doesn't seem to read any input when I load an FDS game. I tried mapping to my gamepad and keyboard, and running it in GNU/Linux and Windows. No matter what, it never sees any of my button presses (but it works fine with cartridge ROMs). What's the deal with that?
Many FDS games ask you to switch disk side before you can proceed from the title screen. To do that, use FCEUX main menu: 1) NES -> Eject/Insert Disk 2) NES -> Switch Disk Side 3) NES -> Eject/Insert Disk
Joined: 10/8/2012
Posts: 4
Thanks for responding! I tried following your directions as best I could, but there's some issues... For one, there's an "Eject Disk" but no "Inset Disk" option. For two, switching disk sides changed nothing. If it helps, the game I'm trying to play is the original FDS version of The Legend of Zelda. The title screen shows up, and it eventually goes to showing the various items you can collect, but I can't get anywhere past it. EDIT: Am I to take it this is a problem most people haven't faced? In my own, very limited, experience, it's been pretty universal. I should mention that I've also tried it both on my laptop and desktop computers.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
mqduck wrote:
I tried following your directions as best I could, but there's some issues... For one, there's an "Eject Disk" but no "Inset Disk" option.
It's one and the same button. The first time you press the button, it opens the disk drive, 2nd time it closes it. So you are expected to do it exactly like this: 1) choose NES -> Eject/Insert Disk, the message "Disk 0 Side A Ejected" will appear 2) NES -> Switch Disk Side, the message "Disk 0 Side B Selected" will appear 3) NES -> Eject/Insert Disk, the message "Disk 0 Side B Inserted" will appear, and the game will change from title screen to player select screen I just tried it with Zelda and it works.
mqduck wrote:
EDIT: Am I to take it this is a problem most people haven't faced? In my own, very limited, experience, it's been pretty universal. I should mention that I've also tried it both on my laptop and desktop computers.
FDS games aren't well known outside Japan, so most people didn't even bother to check how they are emulated.
Joined: 10/8/2012
Posts: 4
It worked! Thanks for your help. :) Might I suggest adding that those steps might be necessary in the FCEUX documentation?
Joined: 10/8/2012
Posts: 4
I've got another question. In the Windows version, there's a "Replace Port 2 Start With Microphone" button, but that option doesn't seem to be anywhere in the Linux version. Is mic emulation Windows-only? EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out. In case anyone's wondering, even though the option doesn't seem to be anywhere in the GUI, you can still turn it on by editing the config file directly. Open ~/.fceux/fceux.cfg and change "SDL.Input.FamicomPad2.EnableMic = 0" to "SDL.Input.FamicomPad2.EnableMic = 1".
Player (151)
Joined: 5/1/2006
Posts: 150
I was going to suggest an option to "un-greenzone" past a selected frame or a range of selected frames, but feos rightly pointed out that option already exists by simply changing input (and changing it back if needed). But it's possible that such a feature might have some other use that I haven't thought of, so I'm posting this anyway. The reason I thought of this is I trying to figure out what value a RNG needed to be manipulated to by poking it with hex editor, and kept expecting it not to be restored when I clicked or held the '>' button, like with "normal" TASing. Speaking of the hex editor, I'm not sure at what point it was changed, but I preferred the old display. 'D' and '0' can be hard to distinguish when I'm leaning back in my chair with the newer, smaller text, particularly when the character to the left of a 'D' is selected.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
Scumtron wrote:
I was going to suggest an option to "un-greenzone" past a selected frame or a range of selected frames, but feos rightly pointed out that option already exists by simply changing input (and changing it back if needed). But it's possible that such a feature might have some other use that I haven't thought of, so I'm posting this anyway.
Taseditor is fairly extendable with Lua scripting. In this case you can write a script like this:
Language: lua

function ungreenzone() selection_table = taseditor.getselection(); if (selection_table ~= nil) then frame_of_ungreenzoning = selection_table[1]; -- 1. Save old Input of the frame old_input = taseditor.getinput(frame_of_ungreenzoning, 1); -- 2. Invert the Input on the frame new_input = XOR(old_input, 0xFF); taseditor.clearinputchanges(); taseditor.submitinputchange(frame_of_ungreenzoning, 1, new_input); taseditor.applyinputchanges("UnGreenzone1"); -- 3. Restore the Input on the frame taseditor.submitinputchange(frame_of_ungreenzoning, 1, old_input); taseditor.applyinputchanges("UnGreenzone2"); end end taseditor.registermanual(ungreenzone, "UnGreenzone");
Scumtron wrote:
The reason I thought of this is I trying to figure out what value a RNG needed to be manipulated to by poking it with hex editor, and kept expecting it not to be restored when I clicked or held the '>' button, like with "normal" TASing.
Ah, in this case you may want to de-greenzone right after the Playback cursor (because in Hexeditor you're editing the current frame state), so you won't need to select the frame before pressing the "DeGreenzone" button.
Language: lua

function ungreenzone() playback_position = movie.framecount(); -- 1. Save old Input of the frame old_input = taseditor.getinput(playback_position, 1); -- 2. Invert the Input on the frame new_input = XOR(old_input, 0xFF); taseditor.clearinputchanges(); taseditor.submitinputchange(playback_position, 1, new_input); taseditor.applyinputchanges("UnGreenzone1"); -- 3. Restore the Input on the frame taseditor.submitinputchange(playback_position, 1, old_input); taseditor.applyinputchanges("UnGreenzone2"); end taseditor.registermanual(ungreenzone, "UnGreenzone");
BTW, you may also want to automate the process of poking and regreenzoning.
Scumtron wrote:
Speaking of the hex editor, I'm not sure at what point it was changed, but I preferred the old display. 'D' and '0' can be hard to distinguish when I'm leaning back in my chair with the newer, smaller text, particularly when the character to the left of a 'D' is selected.
Hm, good point. Although the new font is actually bigger (height=14 instead of 13), OK, is this better? http://fceux.com/zip
Player (151)
Joined: 5/1/2006
Posts: 150
Ah cool, I hadn't yet looked into any taseditor.luastuff. Thanks.
AnS wrote:
Hm, good point. Although the new font is actually bigger (height=14 instead of 13), OK, is this better?
That does indeed remedy the 0/D confusion, though your use of "bigger" gave me pause, as I see an 'F' as 7x9 in the old example and 6x7 in the new (ignoring white space) on my 1600x1200 display.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
Scumtron wrote:
Ah cool, I hadn't yet looked into any taseditor.luastuff. Thanks.
Here are specifications.
Scumtron wrote:
That does indeed remedy the 0/D confusion, though your use of "bigger" gave me pause, as I see an 'F' as 7x9 in the old example and 6x7 in the new (ignoring white space) on my 1600x1200 display.
I see, it's Windows98. But in WindowsXP the it looks like this: And it's the same in Win7. As far as I understand, all Windows versions starting from XP don't have the "Courier" font anymore, and this font was specified in old FCEUX Hexeditor, so when ran in Windows XP it always substitutes the font with the "Courier New" which has lots of whitespace. So I changed the CreateFont() to specify exactly "Courier New" which is available in all versions of Windows.
Player (151)
Joined: 5/1/2006
Posts: 150
Oh, I should have specified that I'm using XP SP3 too, particularly since I use that 'classic' appearance... though I do have both 'Courier' and 'Courier New'. Anyway, it's probably clear why I preferred the 'old' look the same as it's quite clear that anyone would prefer the bottom over the top in your examples.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
That's strange, none of my Windows installations had the "Courier" font. Maybe you've got it after installing some printer drivers or Adobe Reader software. So, if current font is still a problem, I'm open to suggestions. E.g. another common fixed-width font is "Lucida Console":
Player (151)
Joined: 5/1/2006
Posts: 150
Yeah, not sure why I have it and you don't, though I must vehemently deny any accusations of installing printer drivers or adobe software! ;p Anyway, I was prepared to figure out how to compile a version for myself if the font wasn't an issue for anybody else. Lucida looks rather nice, though anything sans-serif just feels off. Hex editors, like, always have serifs! Does this even matter to anybody else?
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
Compiling FCEUX is extremely easy. You just download the source, install the Miscrosoft Visual Studio 2010 Express Edition, load vc10_fceux.sln and hit F5.
Scumtron wrote:
Does this even matter to anybody else?
Dunno. So let's leave the Courier New until someone else bugs about it.
Former player
Joined: 5/4/2005
Posts: 502
Location: Onett, Eagleland
AnS wrote:
Compiling FCEUX is extremely easy. You just download the source, install the Miscrosoft Visual Studio 2010 Express Edition, load vc10_fceux.sln and hit F5.
Scumtron wrote:
Does this even matter to anybody else?
Dunno. So let's leave the Courier New until someone else bugs about it.
Don't forget to set build configuration in 'Configuration Manager' to 'Release' before pressing f5! ;)
I think.....therefore I am not Barry Burton
Joined: 6/8/2005
Posts: 236
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
You can just use Terminal can't you? That is the typeface I use in my hex editor. Terminal comes with every version of Windows, IIRC.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
SaxxonPike wrote:
You can just use Terminal can't you? That is the typeface I use in my hex editor. Terminal comes with every version of Windows, IIRC.
You mean, like this?
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11267
Location: RU
Probably he meant using cmd directly XD
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
FCEUX 2.2.0 is released. Download: http://www.fceux.com/web/download.html Release notes: http://www.fceux.com/web/pressrelease-2.2.0.html It's been 1.5 years since the last release, so there's tons of new stuff. But the main innovation is TAS Editor 1.0.
Former player
Joined: 12/5/2007
Posts: 716
I really am happy to see this still compiling and running on Linux, without lua, no less. Thanks to the team for their extended efforts! :)
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11267
Location: RU
Submission showcasing the fm3 format. Drag-n-drop the file onto FCEUX screen. Watch the movie. Then go to the beginning, and pressing the upper >> button, read all Marker comments.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
WST
She/Her
Active player (442)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
Where are the „tools”?..
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
The Linux version is not as feature-rich as Windows one, so no TAS Editor or Debugger there. But traditional TASing is still possible.
WST
She/Her
Active player (442)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
AnS wrote:
The Linux version is not as feature-rich as Windows one, so no TAS Editor or Debugger there. But traditional TASing is still possible.
amen…
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
Post subject: Suggestion
Joined: 12/8/2012
Posts: 1
Hello! I new in the forum, but I'm into emulators since 1999 or more haha I really like FCEUX, runs almost anything and have very good features! My only suggestion is to allow gamepad kays into Key Mapping for taking screenshots, save states, Turbo speed etc for more comfort. Thanks and keep the great job! Greetings from Uruguay! MOD EDIT: Removed large font
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
Unfortunately, it won't be an easy task to add gamepad support for Hotkeys. I suggest you to use an external utility like Joy2key or Xpadder.
1 2
8 9 10
16 17