Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
Ferret Warlord wrote:
Small bug with this new method.<...> Instead of the images standing to the left of the text in the header where I want them, they're standing on top.
Yeah, I'm aware of this. I asked on the IRC channel a few days ago if anyone knows a way to make TABLEs to be laid out in HTML using the same way as IMGs are: that they are treated as inline elements (i.e. not block elements), while still having a set width. Nobody could answer... It was suggested that I use the float:left property of CSS instead -- which I did, but it's not perfect.
Skilled player (1404)
Joined: 10/27/2004
Posts: 1977
Location: Making an escape
Well, it works in my submission at least. Thank you! Edit[/i]: Nevermind, it broked again. :(
A hundred years from now, they will gaze upon my work and marvel at my skills but never know my name. And that will be good enough for me.
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 3/10/2004
Posts: 7698
Location: Finland
A person more pedantic than me could at this point make a sarcastic remark on the futility of trying to mix html and consistent layout.
Joined: 7/2/2007
Posts: 3960
It's not pedanticism. :\ Getting consistent cross-browser layouts sucks. You'll notice that the YouTube example has every icon nicely self-contained. I think that the best way to go about doing this, though it's not nearly as sexy, is to just assemble a set of screenshots into, say, a 4x4 grid, instead of trying to break them up into these irregular shapes. Barring things like the X1/X2 dual TAS, all images on a given page should have the same proportions since they're for the same console. And don't try to muck with forum images, assuming there's an easy way on the server to tell them apart. I mean, who knows what's going on on the forum?
Pyrel - an open-source rewrite of the Angband roguelike game in Python.
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
Derakon wrote:
just assemble a set of screenshots into, say, a 4x4 grid, instead of trying to break them up into these irregular shapes. Barring things like the X1/X2 dual TAS, all images on a given page should have the same proportions since they're for the same console.
That is not really a concern at all. Different size screenshots work just fine with this engine, and are not a source of troubles. The trouble comes from those images that are treated as inline elements -- mixed with text such as to decorate the beginning of a paragraph.
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 3/10/2004
Posts: 7698
Location: Finland
Can give an estimate of how much bandwidth this technique saves in your image server?
Joined: 3/11/2008
Posts: 583
Location: USA
Derakon wrote:
It's not pedanticism.
No, it's pedantry. ;)
Derakon wrote:
Barring things like the X1/X2 dual TAS, all images on a given page should have the same proportions since they're for the same console.
Genesis has wide and narrow resolutions. And, as Alden knows well, you can generate arbitrary movielists using movies.cgi and a comma-separated list - though I disremember how to do it properly. edit: found it. http://tasvideos.org/movies.cgi?id=1,1145 as a quick example
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
Warp wrote:
Can give an estimate of how much bandwidth this technique saves in your image server?
Likely it saves a negative amount currently, because our individual screenshots are quite optimized usually :)
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2105)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
Many screenshots look torn on this page: http://tasvideos.org/Movies-GBA.html EDIT: Wrong thread...
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
klmz wrote:
Many screenshots look torn on this page: http://tasvideos.org/Movies-GBA.html
They look just fine to me. Also, you posted in the wrong thread. This topic is discussed in the "screenshots" thread, not in the "traffic statistics" thread. I'll move the posts.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2105)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
So it's something wrong with my browser? I'll try to clean the cache... EDIT: They still look the same in my Firefox. EDIT 2: Examples:
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
klmz wrote:
EDIT 2: Examples:
Hmm... I see. Weird. Looks like some error in table cell margins or something. I confirm seeing the same.
Post subject: Re: Newest method of showing movie screenshots
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 12/23/2004
Posts: 1850
Perma-banned
Experienced player (822)
Joined: 11/18/2006
Posts: 2426
Location: Back where I belong
Living Well Is The Best Revenge My Personal Page
Skilled player (1404)
Joined: 10/27/2004
Posts: 1977
Location: Making an escape
Unless this method of storing screenshots is some sort of personal challenge or if things are still in beta and you're hoping to reach advantageous stability, I must ask if this is really worth keeping around? 1. Something about it seems to break about once a week. Just another aspect of the site to try and maintain. 2. As you said elsewhere, it seems to be having an adverse impact on bandwidth. There is, however, at least one thing I've liked about it. When I'm perusing a list of movies and the page is still loading, I don't have to keep scrolling down to keep up with things if the movie I'm looking for is below the point where images have loaded due to the image dimensions being fixed before being loaded proper.
A hundred years from now, they will gaze upon my work and marvel at my skills but never know my name. And that will be good enough for me.
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 3/10/2004
Posts: 7698
Location: Finland
Ferret Warlord wrote:
There is, however, at least one thing I've liked about it. When I'm perusing a list of movies and the page is still loading, I don't have to keep scrolling down to keep up with things if the movie I'm looking for is below the point where images have loaded due to the image dimensions being fixed before being loaded proper.
There is a way to achieve the same effect with traditional HTML (and in fact, it's something which has always been recommended from the dawn of HTML): If the <img> tags specify the resolution of the image, the browser will be able to set up the final geometry of the page even before any image has been loaded. (There's only one small annoyance about it, though: If the image is *not* of that size, the browser will *resize* it to that size. There's no way, in traditional html at least, to give a "hint" to the browser which says "this image is most probably of this size, but could be of some other size as well".)
Joined: 7/2/2007
Posts: 3960
Couldn't you set the width/height of the table cells that contain the images, instead of the images themselves? IIRC if a table cell's contents are bigger than the cell, the cell expands to hold the contents.
Pyrel - an open-source rewrite of the Angband roguelike game in Python.
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 12/23/2004
Posts: 1850
Ferret Warlord wrote:
There is, however, at least one thing I've liked about it. When I'm perusing a list of movies and the page is still loading, I don't have to keep scrolling down to keep up with things if the movie I'm looking for is below the point where images have loaded due to the image dimensions being fixed before being loaded proper.
To be honest (and rather blunt), I'm actually pretty shocked Bisqwit didn't implement this for a few reasons: - He already did for submission screenshots and other images, which (sometimes) have to be loaded off an external site and may not be accurate if the image is updated - Movie screenshots are uploaded once and not changed (unless uploaded again), so they could be checked once and stored forever
Perma-banned
Post subject: Re: Newest method of showing movie screenshots sucks
Joined: 11/22/2004
Posts: 1468
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Bisqwit wrote:
P2) It causes faster image loading times; once a file is loaded, everything that is generated using that file, is rendered instantenously. And since multiple imageries are stored in a single file, it compresses slightly better too. This kind of practice is already commonly recommended in website design. For example, all the graphics at Youtube are generated from a single file.
And if you need to change even one of them, you need to regenerate the image (and force your users to reload the image). It's not perfect, but it's a nice optimization technique for images that are more or less static.