Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Was something relating to timing in the mGBA core in 1.10.0 affecting your ability to run "this in your emulator properly"?
TAG
He/Him
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
no, Adelikat knows what was wrong with my emulator apparently i lack the required processing power but with 1.10.0 i can change the settings within the emulator without it crashing.
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Joined: 6/16/2011
Posts: 48
Can someone tell me the major differences between the mGBA and VBA-next cores? Is one of them more accurate?
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
RedGreenSonic wrote:
Can someone tell me the major differences between the mGBA and VBA-next cores? Is one of them more accurate?
http://board.byuu.org/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=39&start=140
Samtastic
He/Him
Player (60)
Joined: 11/30/2012
Posts: 765
Well I notice that PSXHawk is included in the latest version! It must mean that it's getting to close to being able to submit at TASVideos soon.
Enjoys speedrunning, playing and TASing Oddworld games! Has TASed: Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee in 12.06.13 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Adventures II in 20.03.78 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:08:28.4 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:05:01.65 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:18 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:15 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:!5.44.12 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 13:01.3 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 12:59.95 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:16.27 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:01.07 Currently working on: Waiting for Windows TAS Tools to work so I can TAS PC version of Exoddus.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
inaudible yelling
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
TAG
He/Him
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
Lol
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Since I finally started a project with bizhawk, this particular game makes me request a lua ability to set and clear the lag flag. Some games just don't have relation between gameplay lag and input lag, the latter starts making no sense for a player, and he needs to track gameplay lag only, since it's what needs to be minimized by all costs. And lua looks like the only way to force this flag by custom conditions, in FCEUX it can be set that way for a long time, and it helped me with at least one heavy project (and others - with that glitched Kirby), so I hope you consider it important too.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Expert player, Site Developer, Site Owner (3580)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4736
Location: Tennessee
feos wrote:
Since I finally started a project with bizhawk, this particular game makes me request a lua ability to set and clear the lag flag.
Why can't you just make your own lag counter in lua?
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Pokota
He/Him
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 778
Phoning in to report that Octoshock is working alright for general use.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
Post subject: prescale nX filter
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
VirtuaNES, FCEUX and PuNES have "Double Size Rendering" (aka "Prescale 2X", aka "HLSL soft stretch") option. Can you add it to BizHawk please? Most of emulators upscale NES original resolution to current display resolution using interpolation, so output image looks too blurry. The prescale nX option upscale NES original resolution to nX (n= 1,2,3,4 etc) without interpolation first, and then upscale image to output resolution with interpolation. Look here: Raw stretch without interpolation, Prescale 2x, Default stretch with interpolation.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
done in r9097 as a quick experiment. That's the first time I tried to tell someone a revision number from git. I wonder how well it worked? Please test it well: lua rendering, zapper It may interact oddly with your choice of window size. Basically the emulator core output (and lua drawing done on it) will then get scaled internally without controlling the meaning of "1x" or "2x" in the emulator client. Therefore a prescale of 2x with a view size of 1x will result in a window size of 1x. Another way to do it would be to cause it to redefine a window size of 1x, so that a perscale of 2x and a view size of 1x would result in a window size of 2x. I'm not sure which is better and I didn't check how other emulators do it. The way it's done now is best described as an automagic "improvement" to the bilinear scaling. The other way would be best described as a reconceptualization of the picture size at a certain stage. We have a very over-engineered video output system, only a fraction of the power of which is currently exposed to users. I didn't mind doing this because it was an opportunity to check how brain-bending it was after not working on it for a year. It was pretty easy, so I'm happy.
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
Thank you for commit. Seems prescale works good, but i've found some strange bugs. 1. When checkbox "stretch pixels by integers only" is ON, and you use "system's recommendation" - aspect ratio doesn't stretch on all window-mode sizes (2x-5x), but stretch correctly in fullscreen. Is it normal behaviour? 2. When checkbox "stretch pixels by integers only" is OFF, and you try to use custom-size aspect (like 4:3) - emulator window shrinks to zero-size. You need to stretch it manually. Also, does "system's recommendation" pixel aspect ratio = 8:7 (NTSC TV), like in puNES? puNES also have 5:4 pixel aspect ratio option (for PAL TV), which looks like 4:3 display aspect ratio. You may try PAL TV test program
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
1. Known bug, not having to do with the subject of prescaling. Will be fixed some day. 2. dont enter 4x3, enter 400x300, not having to do with the subject of prescaling Also not having to do with the subject of prescaling: There is no correct aspect ratio for any system as far as I'm concerned. Other people decided the aspect ratio for bizhawk's NES cores is approx 293:256. This is based on NTSC of course. There is no separate logic for PAL, and that option won't work for you. I don't know what puNES does. I have no interest in adding 8000 aspect ratios to this emulator when nobody's is correct. You can enter whichever number you want. As long as theyre full resolutions and not small fractions. If you're looking for exact "aspect ratio" junk in this emulator right now, you're looking in the wrong place. However we should probably take a stab at having a separate "system aspect ratio" for PAL
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
Prescale 1-16x works good 17x-30x - work with strong slowdown 31x-100x - crash emulator with "error framebuffer" So, i think 16x is enough value (even on 4K and 8K displays in future). And no need to do higher. Zapper works good, i tried Duck Hunt on 1x-16x prescale (both window and fullscreen). I'll test LUA soon. --- Core i7-2600K with integrated Intel® HD Graphics 3000 / Win7x64
Samtastic
He/Him
Player (60)
Joined: 11/30/2012
Posts: 765
One feature I would like to see added with PSXHawk is the ability to import PCSX movie files with a lua script like you can do with Nintendo 64 movie files. Then I can re-encode our Abe's Exoddus movie files and hopefully the Abe's Oddysee 100% run might not have the missing ring when imported to Bizhawk!
Enjoys speedrunning, playing and TASing Oddworld games! Has TASed: Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee in 12.06.13 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Adventures II in 20.03.78 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:08:28.4 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:05:01.65 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:18 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:15 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:!5.44.12 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 13:01.3 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 12:59.95 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:16.27 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:01.07 Currently working on: Waiting for Windows TAS Tools to work so I can TAS PC version of Exoddus.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
There's no possible way a pcsx run will sync on psxhawk. Anyway that's not a psxhawk feature, it's just a general feature.
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Player (157)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 673
Location: Brazil
You can always write a bot to: 1) Translate the pcsx movie to a human-readable format (txt); 2) Attempt to insert this input in BizHawk. If there's a desync in the game-play, try to cut/add the problematic frame. This is useless if pcsx is based on bad emulation at certain point of the movie (which might vary from game to game).
Samtastic
He/Him
Player (60)
Joined: 11/30/2012
Posts: 765
Amaraticando wrote:
You can always write a bot to: 1) Translate the pcsx movie to a human-readable format (txt); 2) Attempt to insert this input in BizHawk. If there's a desync in the game-play, try to cut/add the problematic frame. This is useless if pcsx is based on bad emulation at certain point of the movie (which might vary from game to game).
How do I create a bot?
Enjoys speedrunning, playing and TASing Oddworld games! Has TASed: Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee in 12.06.13 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Adventures II in 20.03.78 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:08:28.4 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:05:01.65 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:18 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:15 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:!5.44.12 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 13:01.3 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 12:59.95 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:16.27 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:01.07 Currently working on: Waiting for Windows TAS Tools to work so I can TAS PC version of Exoddus.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Samlaptop wrote:
How do I create a bot?
/me chokes with a cookie
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Player (157)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 673
Location: Brazil
Samlaptop wrote:
How do I create a bot?
It seems like PCSX doesn't have a lua function to read input file. Therefore, one should create a program that reads the file and, based on the file structure, extracts a txt with the effective input, i.e., the ones from non-lag frames. I don't know if I can do it easily. But the BizHawk script is not hard to do. The algorithm is like this: 1) Save state at the beginning; 2) Apply the input from the text file; 3) If the input was computed by BizHawk, then advance one line and save state; 4) Otherwise, load the state and jump this frame (with null input); 5) Go back to 2. I've sucessfully done this to convert Snes9x 1.43 to lsnes, in Super Demo World, in a very laggy level. It all depends on the game being decently emulated in the previous emulator.
Samtastic
He/Him
Player (60)
Joined: 11/30/2012
Posts: 765
Amaraticando wrote:
Samlaptop wrote:
How do I create a bot?
It seems like PCSX doesn't have a lua function to read input file. Therefore, one should create a program that reads the file and, based on the file structure, extracts a txt with the effective input, i.e., the ones from non-lag frames. I don't know if I can do it easily. But the BizHawk script is not hard to do. The algorithm is like this: 1) Save state at the beginning; 2) Apply the input from the text file; 3) If the input was computed by BizHawk, then advance one line and save state; 4) Otherwise, load the state and jump this frame (with null input); 5) Go back to 2. I've sucessfully done this to convert Snes9x 1.43 to lsnes, in Super Demo World, in a very laggy level. It all depends on the game being decently emulated in the previous emulator.
Ok cool. This will help Dooty and I a lot when it comes to re-TASing Oddysee 100% again when PSXhawk is officially supported at TASvideos. Thanks for the instructions.
Enjoys speedrunning, playing and TASing Oddworld games! Has TASed: Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee in 12.06.13 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Adventures II in 20.03.78 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:08:28.4 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:05:01.65 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:18 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:15 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:!5.44.12 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 13:01.3 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 12:59.95 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:16.27 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:01.07 Currently working on: Waiting for Windows TAS Tools to work so I can TAS PC version of Exoddus.
Post subject: Version 1.11.0 released
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Big changes: PSXHawk is released now. Genesis core has corrected Savestates. Gambatte core updated. and Various updates and fixes. Read about everything here: http://tasvideos.org/Bizhawk/ReleaseHistory.html#Bizhawk1110 Get it here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bizhawk/files/BizHawk/BizHawk-1.11.0.zip/download
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Experienced player (703)
Joined: 2/5/2011
Posts: 1417
Location: France
YAY PSXHAWK :D
Current: Rayman 3 maybe? idk xD Paused: N64 Rayman 2 (with Funnyhair) GBA SMA 4 : E Reader (With TehSeven) TASVideos is like a quicksand, you get in, but you cannot quit the sand
Editor, Skilled player (1401)
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 2081
We in there.