Editor, Skilled player (1936)
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 3239
MUGG wrote:
Well, there doesn't seem to be a hook for the X or minimize buttons. When clicking X, var doesn't become nil but the form window is gone. How am I supposed to detect that the window has gone if all I have is the var variable?
A useful piece of code from Amaraticando's Super Mario World script:
event.unregisterbyname("exit")
event.onexit(function()
    local destroyed = forms.destroy(var)
    client.paint()
end, "exit")
There isn't a hook for X. So the next best thing is not to depend on the user clicking X. Destroy the form when the user closes or reloads the script. This also prevents handle overload crashes that occasionally happen when you don't do this.
Skilled player (1703)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
For TAStudio GBA core, is there any way to 1. Hide columns, especially Tilt X/Y and Light Sensor? 2. Set the values to 0 rather than 100 for Light Sensor?
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Expert player, Site Developer, Site Owner (3581)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4736
Location: Tennessee
jlun2 wrote:
For TAStudio GBA core, is there any way to 1. Hide columns, especially Tilt X/Y and Light Sensor?
Yes, in the columns menu, you can hide/show any column you choose
2. Set the values to 0 rather than 100 for Light Sensor?
No.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Version 1.11.4 Release Notes Major changes: Libretro player. Use SOME RetroArch Cores, in BizHawk. External Tool Support. Make something custom in C# and share it with others. Code-Data Logger for GB/GBC, SMS/GG, SNES, and Genesis. Main OSD Font, is now clearer and easier to read. Various RAM Watch, RAM Search and Cheat dialog bug fixes. CPU no longer goes to 100% when BizHawk is paused. Support for many cheat devices, and systems. Various TAStudio improvements and Bug Fixes. Full list of changes and fixes here: http://tasvideos.org/BizHawk/ReleaseHistory.html#Bizhawk1114 Windows Download: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bizhawk/files/BizHawk/BizHawk-1.11.4.zip/download Prerequisites (Required): https://sourceforge.net/projects/bizhawk/files/Prerequisites/ If you have any problems, install the Prerequisites again. They did update.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Player (157)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 673
Location: Brazil
It's a nice christmas gift! Thanks.
Cooljay
He/Him
Active player (391)
Joined: 5/1/2012
Posts: 468
Location: Canada
I apologize for asking somewhat of an obvious question but will we be able to record movies with the libretro cores in the future or will the recording movie option be programmed soon to be locked out when one is selected?
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Nobody's going to lock you out. Some libretro cores may be solid, some may not be. I expect some people will try really hard to tas the arcade systems with it. They may be warranted for tasworthiness on an individual basis, but don't expect anyone to fix cores which have sync problems.
Cooljay
He/Him
Active player (391)
Joined: 5/1/2012
Posts: 468
Location: Canada
zeromus wrote:
Nobody's going to lock you out. Some libretro cores may be solid, some may not be. I expect some people will try really hard to tas the arcade systems with it. They may be warranted for tasworthiness on an individual basis, but don't expect anyone to fix cores which have sync problems.
Oh okay, Thank you for answering.
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 158
Cheats Add GameShark converter for N64, GB/GBC, Saturn, GBA, PSX Add Action Replay converter for SMS, SNES, Genesis, GBA Add Game Genie converter for Genesis, SNES, GG, NES
Hell yeah!! *Edit* Just tried it, kind of a letdown :( But I guess it will be useful for people that don't know how to convert their own codes. I hope whoever added this improves on it. I know it says "converter", but I had high hopes it also let me add PS1 codes that start with D0 and make them properly work. Also, the converter only allows one code at a time. I would be much better if you could just copy/paste a bunch of codes and convert them at the same time. Some Gameshark/AR codes are really long and entering them one by one is no different than what the current cheat window already allows you to do.
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
ReyVGM wrote:
Cheats Add GameShark converter for N64, GB/GBC, Saturn, GBA, PSX Add Action Replay converter for SMS, SNES, Genesis, GBA Add Game Genie converter for Genesis, SNES, GG, NES
Hell yeah!! *Edit* Just tried it, kind of a letdown :( But I guess it will be useful for people that don't know how to convert their own codes. I hope whoever added this improves on it. I know it says "converter", but I had high hopes it also let me add PS1 codes that start with D0 and make them properly work. Also, the converter only allows one code at a time. I would be much better if you could just copy/paste a bunch of codes and convert them at the same time. Some Gameshark/AR codes are really long and entering them one by one is no different than what the current cheat window already allows you to do.
D0 Codes for PSX are not supported, due to BizHawk, not the tool's fault. Because D0 triggers another code when the first code's Address and Value matches. Also, due to the detection and parsing methods of how the tool works, it can only do one line at a time. Sorry. Edit: My current Objective is to detect ALL GBA code types. That means all cheat devices (GameShark Advance, Action Replay (v1/v2), Action Replay MAX (v3/v4), Codebreaker, GameShark SP, Xploder) and Code Types (Over a few hundred). After that, I will look the implementation of a multi-line textbox instead of single line textbox.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Pokota
He/Him
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 778
The functionality of D0 codes can be replicated with lua scripting. Might be fun to start poking at that sort of thing.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
Joined: 6/16/2011
Posts: 48
Stupid feature request: Can we have an option to run a GB game using Super Gameboy colors, but not actually using the SGB core? The SGB core causes audio issues and is generally a pain to run (for me).
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 158
hegyak wrote:
After that, I will look the implementation of a multi-line textbox instead of single line textbox.
That would be great. Just like the one VBA uses would be great. You just copy everything into one text box and all the codes are added.
Pokota wrote:
The functionality of D0 codes can be replicated with lua scripting. Might be fun to start poking at that sort of thing.
Yeah, but unfortunately LUA crashes bizhawk on my end.
Samtastic
He/Him
Player (60)
Joined: 11/30/2012
Posts: 765
The PCSX converter doesn't seem to work for me on the latest version. I get an error and the emulator closes.
Enjoys speedrunning, playing and TASing Oddworld games! Has TASed: Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee in 12.06.13 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Adventures II in 20.03.78 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:08:28.4 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:05:01.65 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:18 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:15 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:!5.44.12 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 13:01.3 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 12:59.95 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:16.27 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:01.07 Currently working on: Waiting for Windows TAS Tools to work so I can TAS PC version of Exoddus.
Editor, Experienced player (807)
Joined: 5/2/2015
Posts: 671
Location: France
Samtastic wrote:
The PCSX converter doesn't seem to work for me on the latest version. I get an error and the emulator closes.
Can you provide your error message?
Samtastic
He/Him
Player (60)
Joined: 11/30/2012
Posts: 765
xy2_ wrote:
Samtastic wrote:
The PCSX converter doesn't seem to work for me on the latest version. I get an error and the emulator closes.
Can you provide your error message?
I get this: I also get this information:
System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. Parameter name: index at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException(ExceptionArgument argument, ExceptionResource resource) at BizHawk.Emulation.Cores.Sony.PSX.Octoshock.FrameAdvance_PrepDiscState() at BizHawk.Emulation.Cores.Sony.PSX.Octoshock.FrameAdvance(Boolean render, Boolean rendersound) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.StepRunLoop_Core(Boolean force) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.ProgramRunLoop() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.SubMain(String[] args)
Enjoys speedrunning, playing and TASing Oddworld games! Has TASed: Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee in 12.06.13 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Adventures II in 20.03.78 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:08:28.4 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:05:01.65 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:18 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:15 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:!5.44.12 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 13:01.3 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 12:59.95 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:16.27 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:01.07 Currently working on: Waiting for Windows TAS Tools to work so I can TAS PC version of Exoddus.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
I noticed the changes in version 1.11.3 have: “PSX Repair lag counter”. Does that mean that the lag counter now displays the “fake” lag frames it wasn’t displaying before? If not, what was repaired about it?
Pokota
He/Him
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 778
ReyVGM wrote:
Pokota wrote:
The functionality of D0 codes can be replicated with lua scripting. Might be fun to start poking at that sort of thing.
Yeah, but unfortunately LUA crashes bizhawk on my end.
Does it crash when you try to open the lua console, or when you try to load a script, or when you try to run a script?
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
TAG
He/Him
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
y did i get an email saying that there was activity when i never even posted here.
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
ReyVGM wrote:
Yeah, but unfortunately LUA crashes bizhawk on my end.
Installed the new prereqs?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
alkatorn, I don't know what fake lag frames are so i doubt anything has changed in that respect. What was repaired is that it didn't work at all. samtastic, I imported a PXM just fine. Must be something weird with the exact movie youre trying to import.
Samtastic
He/Him
Player (60)
Joined: 11/30/2012
Posts: 765
zeromus wrote:
alkatorn, I don't know what fake lag frames are so i doubt anything has changed in that respect. What was repaired is that it didn't work at all. samtastic, I imported a PXM just fine. Must be something weird with the exact movie youre trying to import.
I can import them, but the emulator won't playback. It also shows the wrong input also on TASstudio comparing what AuditV's conversion looked like before.
Enjoys speedrunning, playing and TASing Oddworld games! Has TASed: Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee in 12.06.13 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Adventures II in 20.03.78 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:08:28.4 (with Dooty) Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:05:01.65 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:18 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus in 37:15 Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus 100% in 2:!5.44.12 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 13:01.3 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee any% in 12:59.95 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:16.27 Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee 100% in 1:04:01.07 Currently working on: Waiting for Windows TAS Tools to work so I can TAS PC version of Exoddus.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
zeromus wrote:
alkatorn, I don't know what fake lag frames are so i doubt anything has changed in that respect. What was repaired is that it didn't work at all.
I noticed it wasn’t detecting lag some times and was told by Spikestuff and Mothrayas those were “fake” lag frames the emu wasn’t going to be detecting. So now I’m wondering whether the repair makes it detect them or something else. Because other than those instances, IIRC, it was detecting lag. Edit: Just found out the alternating lag in 30fps games isn’t detected on the N64 core either… wow, how does anyone use this thing to TAS? Edit: Actually it detects them in Super Mario 64, but not in Banjo Kazooie. lol
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 158
Pokota wrote:
ReyVGM wrote:
Pokota wrote:
The functionality of D0 codes can be replicated with lua scripting. Might be fun to start poking at that sort of thing.
Yeah, but unfortunately LUA crashes bizhawk on my end.
Does it crash when you try to open the lua console, or when you try to load a script, or when you try to run a script?
When I click on it, it crashes. Here's a thread about it: http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17025 I gave up on it already.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
ReyVGM wrote:
When I click on it, it crashes. Here's a thread about it: http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17025 I gave up on it already.
feos wrote:
ReyVGM wrote:
Yeah, but unfortunately LUA crashes bizhawk on my end.
Installed the new prereqs?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.