Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
Since this is pretty much Anime, I would personally suggest some kind of neural network to resize.
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 254
Aktan wrote:
Since this is pretty much Anime, I would personally suggest some kind of neural network to resize.
What neural network and setting do you suggest? I normally use Virtualdub or some other program but not for anime cutscenes outside of stream copying. Edit: I am trying to look for more efficient method of cutting, upscaling and editing video clips. I used Virtualdub where I used "Nearest Neighbor" with "Lanzcos" method for use however I also have AVSPMod, MeGUI, etc as well. I know I ask this a lot but what is good method that I can use tot do these tasks?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Player (213)
Joined: 3/15/2018
Posts: 225
Location: United States
So I've got a 4K encode of an old Mega Man 2 TAS that I'd like to submit to the YouTube channel (still need to add the logo and the disclaimer). I'm trying to follow this guide to get a feel for how the sideloading process works, but all the links seem to be broken. Is there a replacement for the Encoder TASVideos Channel Manager?
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
warmCabin wrote:
So I've got a 4K encode of an old Mega Man 2 TAS that I'd like to submit to the YouTube channel (still need to add the logo and the disclaimer). I'm trying to follow this guide to get a feel for how the sideloading process works, but all the links seem to be broken. Is there a replacement for the Encoder TASVideos Channel Manager?
There's no replacement but it's not used anymore either, because we don't store encodes on the server anymore, we upload them directly to yt. If your encode is good, upload it to mega or any other fitting file hosting and we'll grab it from there.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Post subject: Problem with TASEncodingPackage 2.0
xRavenXP
He/Him
Joined: 4/15/2012
Posts: 116
Location: Brazil
Hello again, how are you? I downloaded the new version of AviSynth and TASEncodingPackage 2.0, but when I do the encoding (in global.bat) in this version 2.0 I don't know what to change in encode.avs to prevent the initial logo from appearing. As I updated AVISynth, previous versions of TASEncodingPackage are not working and version 2.0 works perfectly, but I don't know what to change in the encode.avs file to prevent the splash logo from appearing in the video. I went to read the encode.avs file and the command that feos taught me for the previous versions (last=f++g be replaced by last=g) worked perfectly in the previous versions, but it doesn't work on this one, or else I'm the one who I'm not sure what to change in this version of the Package. What do I need to change in encode.avs to prevent the initial logo from appearing in TASEncodingPackage 2.0? I await reply.
I love games and love to record videos (longplays). Visit my Youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/xRavenXP
Editor, Player, Publisher (46)
Joined: 10/15/2021
Posts: 366
Remove lines 144-156 (where the script picks the logo file) and lines 216-220 (where the logo clip is created), and change line 221 to the following.
last = resized
See if that works.
xRavenXP
He/Him
Joined: 4/15/2012
Posts: 116
Location: Brazil
despoa wrote:
Remove lines 144-156 (where the script picks the logo file) and lines 216-220 (where the logo clip is created), and change line 221 to the following.
last = resized
See if that works.
I tried the procedure you said and this error appeared. Unfortunately it didn't work! http://imgur.com/a/tKXdyCm
I love games and love to record videos (longplays). Visit my Youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/xRavenXP
Editor, Player, Publisher (46)
Joined: 10/15/2021
Posts: 366
Post a copy of your encode.avs to pastebin and I'll see what can be done.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
Can both of you just double/triple check the avs script you're using is the same as the GitHub since you're both referring to it. As despoa you're writing lines that don't actually link up to what you mean. And xRavenXP yours says "I don't know what 'file' means. encode.avs, line 198" where the last time "file" is referred to is at 173. In the version of the script I'm referring to, remove the lines 125 - 129 and 172 - 176. Rewrite Line 177 as "last = resized". To write it out the lines to be removed is (125 - 129):
Language: avs

# Pick logo file file = hd \ ? "hdlogo.png" \ : "logo.png" # file = !hd ? "logo34.png" : "hdlogo34.png"
And (172 - 177):
Language: avs

# Logo logoVideo = ImageSource(file=file, start=0, end=int((resized.FrameRate * 2) - 1), fps=resized.FrameRate) \ .ConvertToRGB32().AssumeFPS(resized) logoAudio = BlankClip(logoVideo, audio_rate=resized.AudioRate, channels=resized.AudioChannels) logo = AudioDub(logoVideo, logoAudio).Lanczos4Resize(resized.width, resized.height) last = logo ++ resized
Where line 177 is instead written as:
Language: avs

last = resized
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
xRavenXP
He/Him
Joined: 4/15/2012
Posts: 116
Location: Brazil
Spikestuff wrote:
Can both of you just double/triple check the avs script you're using is the same as the GitHub since you're both referring to it. As despoa you're writing lines that don't actually link up to what you mean. And xRavenXP yours says "I don't know what 'file' means. encode.avs, line 198" where the last time "file" is referred to is at 173. In the version of the script I'm referring to, remove the lines 125 - 129 and 172 - 176. Rewrite Line 177 as "last = resized". To write it out the lines to be removed is (125 - 129):
Language: avs

# Pick logo file file = hd \ ? "hdlogo.png" \ : "logo.png" # file = !hd ? "logo34.png" : "hdlogo34.png"
And (172 - 177):
Language: avs

# Logo logoVideo = ImageSource(file=file, start=0, end=int((resized.FrameRate * 2) - 1), fps=resized.FrameRate) \ .ConvertToRGB32().AssumeFPS(resized) logoAudio = BlankClip(logoVideo, audio_rate=resized.AudioRate, channels=resized.AudioChannels) logo = AudioDub(logoVideo, logoAudio).Lanczos4Resize(resized.width, resized.height) last = logo ++ resized
Where line 177 is instead written as:
Language: avs

last = resized
Thanks Spikestuff. It worked perfectly in TASEncodingPackage 2.0.
I love games and love to record videos (longplays). Visit my Youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/xRavenXP
Player (213)
Joined: 3/15/2018
Posts: 225
Location: United States
feos wrote:
warmCabin wrote:
So I've got a 4K encode of an old Mega Man 2 TAS that I'd like to submit to the YouTube channel (still need to add the logo and the disclaimer). I'm trying to follow this guide to get a feel for how the sideloading process works, but all the links seem to be broken. Is there a replacement for the Encoder TASVideos Channel Manager?
There's no replacement but it's not used anymore either, because we don't store encodes on the server anymore, we upload them directly to yt. If your encode is good, upload it to mega or any other fitting file hosting and we'll grab it from there.
Forgot about this discussion ._. This is the TASEncoding package everyone uses these days, correct? Would you want me to upload the X resolutions output by it or do you just need a logo + disclaimer on the 4K one for YouTube?
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
warmCabin wrote:
This is the TASEncoding package everyone uses these days, correct?
Yes.
warmCabin wrote:
Would you want me to upload the X resolutions output by it or do you just need a logo + disclaimer on the 4K one for YouTube?
Output, which will include logo and subs. Do you have an approved logo?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Editor, Player, Publisher (46)
Joined: 10/15/2021
Posts: 366
warmCabin wrote:
This is the TASEncoding package everyone uses these days, correct? Would you want me to upload the X resolutions output by it or do you just need a logo + disclaimer on the 4K one for YouTube?
Though I would download from the latest master. I'll ask feos to make a tagged release out of that and call it 3.0.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Latest master is dead and useless. I had a dream about having libs for both 64 and 32 bit in one package but never got around to it. So it remains branch x64. Actual instructions are here anyway (including the proper link) https://tasvideos.org/EncodingGuide/PublicationManual
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Post subject: Extended input movies
AntyMew
It/Its
Encoder, Player (34)
Joined: 10/22/2014
Posts: 425
I've noticed separate, extended input files for encoding seem to be a relatively common thing nowadays. But the encoder guidelines only really say anything about post-credits secret messages as of yet, which is only really tangentially related. So considering just how seems to be allowed for in extended input, e.g. [4185] GC Super Smash Bros. Melee "Classic Mode" by Noxxa in 05:36.93, I'm curious if there's any reason not to use an extended input movie for an encode? Or is it basically just up to encoder discretion?
Just a Mew! 〜 It/She ΘΔ 〜
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
AntyMew wrote:
I've noticed separate, extended input files for encoding seem to be a relatively common thing nowadays. But the encoder guidelines only really say anything about post-credits secret messages as of yet, which is only really tangentially related. So considering just how seems to be allowed for in extended input, e.g. [4185] GC Super Smash Bros. Melee "Classic Mode" by Noxxa in 05:36.93, I'm curious if there's any reason not to use an extended input movie for an encode? Or is it basically just up to encoder discretion?
Ever since we realized that this is a thing, we just ask TASers to include all the post-completion input right into the main movie, unless they really want to keep it short, in which case they provide a secondary movie to be used for encoding. It's always mentioned in the judgment notes, and the extended movie is always linked (and kept on the site). So yes if there's an extended input movie, it's what should be used for encoding.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
MrTASer
He/Him
Player (242)
Joined: 7/3/2021
Posts: 147
Location: Udaipur, Rajasthan, India, God'sBeautifulWorld
Is there any FFMPEG script that can encode A7800 TASes? just like this script https://tasvideos.org/Forum/Topics/22681 Edit : I've made an encode which looks like this : Link to video I used the FFMPEG script linked above. Is it the correct way of doing that???
My TASing channel ; My MUSIC channel ; My SoundCloud ; My HomePage ; Music Composer ; Mr.TASer#5922 VCop 2 TAS completed, but in a completely different way ; And SMB - GAGOTO (WL) TAS COMPLETED TILL W-4 ; Some more...
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
MrTASer wrote:
Is there any FFMPEG script that can encode A7800 TASes? just like this script https://tasvideos.org/Forum/Topics/22681 Edit : I've made an encode which looks like this : Link to video I used the FFMPEG script linked above. Is it the correct way of doing that???
Looks like your encode is perfectly fine.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Post subject: Pixel Aspect Ratio Correction on VirtualDub
notpsx
They/Them
Joined: 11/26/2022
Posts: 7
Location: Shadow Moses
I have a little question; So I am using VirtualDub to encode my runs recorded from PSXjin ("Why PSXjin?" , - I'm not using it for TAS'ing and I like it). And for example in this video ( https://youtu.be/fUQY6RHrtbs ) it's displayed 4:3 on the PC eventhough the resolution is 2560x1792 which is not a 4:3 resolution. But for example its being displayed "10:7" or 320x224 (Metal Gear Solid's main Aspect Ratio) on the phone. Is there any way I can do this in VirtualDub or any other software which is easy to use?
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
psxVEVO wrote:
the resolution is 2560x1792 which is not a 4:3 resolution.
That encode is a relic of the past and is using something extremely specific; yt:stretch=4:3. A tag that can no longer be used on modern YouTube videos, only older ones.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
notpsx
They/Them
Joined: 11/26/2022
Posts: 7
Location: Shadow Moses
This will probably be my last question: So in this video ( https://youtu.be/ZgeVrNONuYA ) 1440p looks like 8K but my 1440p encode ( https://youtu.be/fJKja4D3FSM ) looks pretty bad and very blurred. Even the original encode's 1080p looks sharper than my 1440p. I've been testing different things out for 4 months now lol. Does it have to do something with the codec or deinterlacing? Rn I'm using Lagarith. Edit 08-12-2022: Counts also for other encodes with the same resolution. not only this one. sorry for asking questions about very old videos.
Post subject: HD Encoding
Darwen
Any
Joined: 12/4/2022
Posts: 3
Actually i want to make a nintendo ds tas hd videos... bizhawk is can to record in 4k But i have a windows 7 32bit and the bizhawk version not supporting nintendo ds emulator and i using desmume 0.9.10 for recording videos but.. the resolusion in (256x384) and i want to record in hd Anyone help me!!!!!!!! , What i do?
Editor, Experienced player (607)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
Darwen wrote:
using desmume 0.9.10 for recording videos but.. the resolusion in (256x384) and i want to record in hd Anyone help me!!!!!!!! , What i do?
Hi Darwen. You can only record the TAS in 256x384 resolution from desmume. You will have to upscale the video in another program. If rearranging the screens is too hard for you, you can upscale by 5x to get 1280x1920, which will appear on YouTube in HD. Try installing Lagarith to record the TAS from desmume. Then load the video in VirtualDub. Go to Videos>Filters. "Add" the resize filter. Under Relative, type 500 x 500. For Filter mode, choose Nearest neighbor. Click OK, then OK again. Then File>Save as AVI. It will save an HD video. The final video file will be very large, so you may need to compress it with Handbrake before uploading to YouTube. To my knowledge, this is not how a TASVideos encode is done, but it should work for your use case.
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 254
What is a good Virtualdub substitute? Or what is a AVISynth/FFMPEG program that has similar functions to Virtualdub?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Player (39)
Joined: 7/7/2008
Posts: 871
Location: Utah
I decided to make some personal TASes of my own (because that's what I do) and wanted to encode it into an AVI file. When I do so and end it, I took a look at the file and found my entire AVI file had been separated into separate smaller files. Each file contains a portion of the movie that is roughly about 3-4 minutes. I don't think I made an error when setting up the AVI recording, but would there be any reason why this is happening? I'm stumped.