BizHawk Emulator Development


Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/26/2012
Posts: 59
Follow up to: https://code.google.com/p/bizhawk/issues/detail?id=176 I included a video showing the problems (turn down volume... aka XSplit sucks). Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_oIwrl0Qnc Timecodes and explanation: 00:00 to 00:50: Loading .cue file and fast forwarding. Shows game loading with Opengl but blinks in and out rapidly and once you press start, game like crashes. 0:55 to 1:26: Disabling Opengl and showing game working properly. 1:54 to 5:34: Fast forwarding through the intro and showing subtitles either not appearing or constantly flickering in and out. Some display okay though. 5:35 to end: What I explained in the issues page with graphics only displaying if you use the Look prompt.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
check it in yabause. sounds like a yabause core bug, nothing we could do about that
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/26/2012
Posts: 59
Just tried it in yabause 0.9.12 (what BizHawk uses) and it's also bad. However, 0.9.13 of yabause works much better (I can actually see the game). It's still not perfect (sound bugs) but you could actually play on 0.9.13.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
synnchan wrote:
Just how reliable is SNESHawk?
Very, if you select the right core.
synnchan wrote:
I just want to make sure I can trust the emulator and that it won't desync on my Snes TASes.
In my experience with SNES9x it was almost guaranteed to get desyncs going from one version to the next (when the next's emulation had been modified). bsnes has three cores, "accuracy", "compatibility" and "performance". The "accuracy" core uses a different PPU (graphics) emulation that is needed by very few games and doesn't affect the rest of the system. "compatibility" is the standard core; its SNES emulation is so good that it's unlikely to have any further timing changes. "performance" is older, has speed hacks and is not suitable for TASing. BizHawk has the "performance" core selected by default; for TASing you should switch to "compatibility".
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/3/2014
Posts: 4
Location: Brazil
My Bizhawk not open,only give to me a error The Problem Event name is APPCRASH Using the Bizhawk version 1.7.1
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Did you run the prereq installer?
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/3/2014
Posts: 4
Location: Brazil
for once again,where is the prereq installer? Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Intel GMA Windows 7 x64 Intel 82945G Express Chipset Family 4,00GHz 3,00 of RAM Intel Pentinum Dual and i have DirectX,Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 SP1 Redist,and for more certain the lastest microsoft .net version EDIT:I repared the microsoft .net 4 but still not working
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
ZilverXZX wrote:
where is the prereq installer?
Took me less than a minute. (Didn't see it on tasvideos' BizHawk emulator page though.)
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/3/2014
Posts: 4
Location: Brazil
sorry,but dont work,my pc is windows 7 x64 with the Intel GMA for Win 7 x64 and for Intel 82945G express chipset family. EDIT:SVN Build not worked
Post subject: It is dangerous to go alone. Here, take this autofire.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2750)
Joined: 4/8/2005
Posts: 1573
Location: Gone for a year, just for varietyyyyyyyyy!!
Sega TASer of 2008Lucky TAS of 2008
Good work, guys! I'm loving BizHawk, although the autofire hotkey is clumsy, because it does not track each button separately. It is not possible to make useful autofire patterns with it.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Not true. Autofire patterns are for each individual key starting on the frame you press them!
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2750)
Joined: 4/8/2005
Posts: 1573
Location: Gone for a year, just for varietyyyyyyyyy!!
Sega TASer of 2008Lucky TAS of 2008
BizHawk seems to use two types of autofire. Autofire patterns work, if I use separate hotkeys for each button (config --> controllers). The patterns do not work, if I use the "hold autofire" hotkey (config --> hotkeys).
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Ok. Additionally you can use the autohold hotkey (config -> hotkey) and press a mapped autofire key (config -> controller). The other way has a bit of a bug I guess, noted.
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
BizHawk 1.7.2a is now released This is a SIGNIFICANT movie related release. Firstly, it fixes the major desync bug in SNES rerecording. Secondly, it uses a new movie format, .bk2 Thirdly, peripherals such as mouse and zapper are now supported for rerecording! Fourthly, Virtualpads have been redone, and now represent the current controller configuration, and support things like Paddles, Zappers, etc with new virtualpad widget types. For full release notes see here
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
What does "GBAHawk" in the end mean?
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Fortranm wrote:
What does "GBAHawk" in the end mean?
You can play GBA games now.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
hegyak wrote:
Fortranm wrote:
What does "GBAHawk" in the end mean?
You can play GBA games now.
Bizhawk tells me no core can load .gba files, and GBA is neither in config/path nor one of supported file types.
Post subject: Re: BizHawk 1.7.2 Released!
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (108)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
DS TAS of 2012
adelikat wrote:
Secondly, it uses a new movie format, .bk2
wow, that looks awesome
Buddybenj
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
This release looks awesome! Can the GBA core be accepted for submissions?
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2045)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4871
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
GBA TASer of 2010
Supports peripheral recording (such as zappers, mouse, and light gun)
I haven't tested it yet, but does that also include the DIP switches for Nintendo World Championships?
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
jlun2 wrote:
Supports peripheral recording (such as zappers, mouse, and light gun)
I haven't tested it yet, but does that also include the DIP switches for Nintendo World Championships?
You misunderstand. The rerecording system supports whatever. So it is a matter of what the core supports. NesHawk doesn't emulate the dip switches yet, I don't know if quicknes supports it, probably not
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (686)
Joined: 2/1/2014
Posts: 927
Rookie of 2014Nintendo 3D TASer of 2014First edition TAS of 2014
Fortranm wrote:
hegyak wrote:
Fortranm wrote:
What does "GBAHawk" in the end mean?
You can play GBA games now.
Bizhawk tells me no core can load .gba files, and GBA is neither in config/path nor one of supported file types.
You need bios files in the firmware folder.
dekutony
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (802)
Joined: 11/23/2013
Posts: 2117
Location: Guatemala
DOH! I still can open the damn thing. (
Here, my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/dekutony
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Buddybenj wrote:
This release looks awesome! Can the GBA core be accepted for submissions?
GBA is not officially released sorry for the confusion. As for submissions, the parser will accept GBA runs. However, if they are poorly emulated (including sound), they won't meet publication requirements.
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
xxNKxx
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (886)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 587
Location: Vietnam
Could you make fixed window class for BizHawk? It's alway change in every new version, examplle in 1.7.2: WindowsForms10.Window.8.app.0.3d90434_r13_ad1
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists