BizHawk Emulator Development


PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
Guernsey wrote:
Does the resize from the Bizhawk A/V Writer work to resize a video?
Yes. The game inputs at its native resolution (i.e. the NES is 256x240). You can output the video in a desired resolution (e.g. 1280x720).
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
PikachuMan wrote:
Guernsey wrote:
Does the resize from the Bizhawk A/V Writer work to resize a video?
Yes. The game inputs at its native resolution (i.e. the NES is 256x240). You can output the video in a desired resolution (e.g. 1280x720).
I am trying to do a "Nearest Neighbor" and "Lanzcos" setup sot hat I can upload to Youtube immediately. Is that possible on BizHawk or should I just one resize and do the other "Lanzcos" resize in an editing program? Also, I like to listen to other things while I am working on a project, how do turn the sound down when I am recording? And will it still produce the sound after recording? I just want to "mute" the sound while I am recording the video but I still want to produce the sound in the video.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Pokota
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 776
Why are you resizing twice?
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
Guernsey wrote:
I am trying to do a "Nearest Neighbor" and "Lanzcos" setup sot hat I can upload to Youtube immediately. Is that possible on BizHawk or should I just one resize and do the other "Lanzcos" resize in an editing program? Also, I like to listen to other things while I am working on a project, how do turn the sound down when I am recording? And will it still produce the sound after recording? I just want to "mute" the sound while I am recording the video but I still want to produce the sound in the video.
You can mute the game's audio via the volume mixer. It won't have any effect when encoding so it's basically a win-win.
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
Pokota wrote:
Why are you resizing twice?
I just wanted to resize it to the right aspect ratio. I wanted to make it "HD" by Youtube standards. So I do not have to do that?
You can mute the game's audio via the volume mixer. It won't have any effect when encoding so it's basically a win-win.
Ok thanks.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Dimon12321
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (501)
Joined: 4/5/2014
Posts: 932
Location: Ukraine
Is it possible to transfer regular input with TAstudio window opened? It's not that convenient when you have to use either only mouse to mark specific cells in the input grid, or only console input and then open TAstudio to perform various manipulations on it.
TASing is like making a film: only best takes are shown in the final movie.
EZGames69
He/They
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Publisher (4046)
Joined: 5/29/2017
Posts: 2416
Location: Marquette MI
TASer of 2020SNES TASer of 2020Sega TASer of 2020TASer of 2019Sega TASer of 2019Exotic platforms TAS of 2018
What do you mean by “regular input”?
[14:15] <feos> WinDOES what DOSn't 12:33:44 PM <Mothrayas> "I got an oof with my game!" Mothrayas Today at 12:22: <Colin> thank you for supporting noble causes such as my feet MemoryTAS Today at 11:55 AM: you wouldn't know beauty if it slapped you in the face with a giant fish [Today at 4:51 PM] Mothrayas: although if you like your own tweets that's the online equivalent of sniffing your own farts and probably tells a lot about you as a person MemoryTAS Today at 7:01 PM: But I exert big staff energy honestly lol Samsara Today at 1:20 PM: wouldn't ACE in a real life TAS just stand for Actually Cease Existing
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
And by "console input".
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
DrD2k9
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2021)
Joined: 8/21/2016
Posts: 894
Location: US
Exotic platforms TASer of 2020First edition TAS of 2020Gameboy TAS of 2020Exotic platforms TASer of 2019Computer TASer of 2017
Dimon12321 wrote:
Is it possible to transfer regular input with TAstudio window opened? It's not that convenient when you have to use either only mouse to mark specific cells in the input grid, or only console input and then open TAstudio to perform various manipulations on it.
Check the "Recording Mode" check box, and TAStudio will record your controller/keyboard inputs.
Dimon12321
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (501)
Joined: 4/5/2014
Posts: 932
Location: Ukraine
DrD2k9 wrote:
Check the "Recording Mode" check box, and TAStudio will record your controller/keyboard inputs.
Oh, thank you. Sorry, I wasn't precise.
TASing is like making a film: only best takes are shown in the final movie.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
So when you using BizHawk to dump videos, you only need to resize once in A/V Writer. Is that right?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
I don't use recording mode in TAStudio 'cause of a muscle disease I have. I'm bedridden which means I can't grip a game controller.
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
So you only need to resize once to get the results you want? I usually use Virtualdub to the "Nearest Neighbor" and "Lanzcos" resize. I also use it cut out clips as I usually make videos of individual levels.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Post subject: BizHawk 2.6.1 Released
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Windows Binary Release notes This is a required update for all BizHawk 2.6 TAStudio users! There was a TAStudio savestate corruption bug that affected nearly every core! Everyone should upgrade to this release, and delete the savestate history of any projects they are working on (likely the savestates in the project are already corrupted).
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
Do you only need to resize once with BizHawk A/V Writer in order to make your dumps "HD" by Youtube standards? Or should you just dump the video and edit the video on an editor?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Snodeca
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (256)
Joined: 9/27/2015
Posts: 100
adelikat wrote:
Windows Binary
The link doesn't seem to work. The link in the Bizhawk page does work, though. Might want to fix that.
SA2B 180 Emblems -- Currently at Radical Highway M1 (37/280) (27/180 Emblems) -- Progress. DKC2GBA Any% -- currently at 1-B -- Progress. DKC2GBA 102% -- currently at 3-5 -- Progress. MLSS Glitchless (HALTED). Progress mushroom route, item route (NEW) + boss route.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
Fixed the link.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
The Neo Geo Pocket has its default controls wrong. The buttons are reversed. A is supposed to be mapped to the Z key and B to the X key. The B button is supposed to be mapped to the B button on an Xbox controller. A and B are supposed to be mapped to the 1 and 2 buttons on a USB gamepad respectively. The Game Boy and Game Gear default controls are perfect as they are. Copy-pasting it over to the Neo Geo Pocket messes with the muscle memory. For instance, Puyo Pop has an option to reverse rotation controls. Reversing reversed controls is redundant.
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
Should I just use resize feature and do one resize feature to upscale for all videos?
Guernsey Adams Pierre
juef
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (93)
Joined: 1/29/2007
Posts: 190
Location: Québec, Canada
I just went and looked in the forums / BizHawk download page for the first time in a while, and saw that there is once again a Linux build. I just wanted to mention how happy I am about it! Looking forward to try it when/if I try my hand at TASing again. Thank you to all those involved!
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2799)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3821
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
Since Bizhawk 2.3.2, my Mario & Luigi Superstar Saga luascript is malfunctioning when trying to open the "Savegames" display. I have trouble pinpointing the issue. I tried removing code but it always seems to log to console: NLua.Exceptions.LuaScriptException: 1 or NLua.Exceptions.LuaScriptException: 16 What does it mean? Also gui.DrawNew("emu") had to be replaced by gui.DrawFinish() in order for the script to continue working. But I don't see anything about it in the changelogs. Bizhawk 2.3.1 loads the script just fine, but 2.3.2 is where the problems occur.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
I know you can resize the video dumps within A/V Writer feature but I am wondering if I should edit it using Virtualdub? I would post in the Encoder thread but no one has posted in months and I do not want to double post.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
Evan0512
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/18/2017
Posts: 147
Location: San Francisco
I’ve tried to run a Sega Saturn game, but it maxed out at 45 FPS and averaging only 26 FPS.
Planned runs: Super Mario Bros. (warps, under 4:56 as a goal) SMB2 (warps) Marble Madness in 4 games:
    Marble Madness (NES) Marble Madness (Arcade) Marble Madness (Genesis) Marble Madness (GG/SMS)[/list:u] Proposed: Ecco the Dolphin (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD: regular, camera freeze) Ecco: The Tides of Time (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD; normal, hard modes) Super Princess Rescue (Homebrew A2600, no deaths, deaths) Halo 2600 (Homebrew A2600, short, long) New Super Mario Bros. (DS, 100%, warpless, warps, all star coins) Mario Kart DS (all cups, all missions)
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (1412)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 5898
Location: The land down under.
PSX TASer of 2016
Here's the part that Evan left out by the way:
Evan0512 wrote:
My computer is over 8 years old with a 2 core processor.
The requirements for Sega Saturn TASing with mednafen's core is much higher than that. So. Build a new system that isn't being CPU bound on your system. I'm also having a sense of Deja Vu where you've complained about this before.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 252
How do you change FFMPEG line? I want to change the crf to 0. Which ones are good for lossless recording?
Guernsey Adams Pierre