BizHawk Emulator Development


Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
CoolKirby wrote:
Oh, wow! This new release is a huge improvement in performance on my machine. Max throttle speed in GBCHawk went from 77 fps in 1.5.1 to 400 fps in this! Thanks, BizHawk team!
GBC should be faster in next release (well, might not make 1.52? Might be not until 1.6).
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Thanks hegyak, I switched us over to using those.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1191
Sorry, wrong thread.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 5
Location: Ukraine
adelikat wrote:
However, if you modify the nes game db that comes with Bizhawk, you could run your game in dendy mode just fine.
How can i modify nes gamedb, to play games in dendy mode?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 5
Location: Ukraine
I understood, thanks Sergunov!! In NesCarts (2011-09-10).xml (NesCarts.7z) lines: system="NES-NTSC" or system="Famicom" change to system="Dendy" Wait for next version of bizhawk!!))
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Leenkeen wrote:
Wait for next version of bizhawk!!))
To be clear, you don't need to wait until the next version of BizHawk, to do this trick. I say this because the next version of bizhawk won't be soon
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (662)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3902
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
Why does the forum index now list GBA and Genesis among BizHawk's cores? There is no GBA core in the current release (attempting to open a GBA ROM results in an error that no core can load the game) and the Genesis core isn't finished (as adelikat said just today).
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Because it does emulate those. The forum isn't about "approved" emulators is it?
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (662)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3902
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
I see where you're coming from now. As long as it doesn't confuse new users of the emulator, I don't have a problem with it.
Buddybenj
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
NES emulation isn't perfect yet. On #1011: Acmlm's NES Monopoly in 00:30.03 I'm getting desyncs. On FCEUX 2.2.2 it's fine. I don't know what kind of issue this is. The title screen lasts longer or something.
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
Buddybenj wrote:
NES emulation isn't perfect yet. On #1011: Acmlm's NES Monopoly in 00:30.03 I'm getting desyncs. On FCEUX 2.2.2 it's fine. I don't know what kind of issue this is. The title screen lasts longer or something.
Is that run console verified? It's not marked as such.
Buddybenj
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
natt wrote:
Buddybenj wrote:
NES emulation isn't perfect yet. On #1011: Acmlm's NES Monopoly in 00:30.03 I'm getting desyncs. On FCEUX 2.2.2 it's fine. I don't know what kind of issue this is. The title screen lasts longer or something.
Is that run console verified? It's not marked as such.
No. But I have tested it on both old ppu and new ppu on fceux 2.2.2. Although it may be a movie conversion issue because it is an odd desync. Try it your self. You are right though. Considering both are made by adelicat I don't know why he would make the ppu much differant. Which ppu is most accurate?
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
Post subject: BizHawk 1.5.3 Released!
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
BizHawk 1.5.3 Released! This release features a significant rearchitecture of the dll files, and a renaming of the rather mundane bizhawk.multiclient.exe to EmuHawk.exe. As a result you must extract this into a fresh folder. If you extract over an existing release it will not work! Also, sorry to say, again an old config.ini is not recommended. Main features of this release are some very big fixes (especially for N64Hawk), and more core specific lua functionality (including "lua breakpoints" for many cores). As usual, I recommend reading the full release notes. Windows binary
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
xxNKxx
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (886)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 587
Location: Vietnam
wow so sweet, you got working at hard rock :D Thanks!
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (779)
Joined: 2/5/2011
Posts: 1417
Location: France
TAS of 2017First edition TAS of 2017PSX TAS of 2017Rookie of 2013
I reported many bugs to Adelikat, now he fixed them congrats all coder of bizhawk!
Current: Rayman 3 maybe? idk xD Paused: N64 Rayman 2 (with Funnyhair) GBA SMA 4 : E Reader (With TehSeven) TASVideos is like a quicksand, you get in, but you cannot quit the sand
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (662)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3902
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
I love it! It now runs at the same speed whether you're playing casually, playing back a movie, or even have RAM Watch open. I'll have to try out those N64Hawk fixes sometime too; they sound great. Thank you, BizHawk coders!
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (1099)
Joined: 8/12/2008
Posts: 843
Location: Québec, Canada
TASer of 20123D Platforms TASer of 2012TAS of 2012Speedy TAS of 20123D Platforms TAS of 2012
Great job coders! Loving that "clear" button on the TAS input!
sonicpacker: 100% of red heads arent hot
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1191
Thx guys. Great fixes, makes using Bizhawk so much easier. :) I guess something has changed with savestates? When I try to load an old state I get an error. It will still load after, but it doesn't work when a movie is playing. Well not that big of a deal. Sadder is that my RAM watch values for MM don't work anymore. Oh well I'll live. :D Just a general warning for TASers: N64 movie recording from a state still doesn't work. Don't even try, you'll waste your time.
Nahoc wrote:
Great job coders! Loving that "clear" button on the TAS input!
It was actually there before if you right-clicked. I didn't know that either, before adelikat told me. Also if you right-click on the analog-field it will reset to 0x0. Took me some time to figure out that one, too.
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
So, I can see Virtual X68000 is an open source emulator according to this page: http://tasvideos.org/EmulatorResources/PotentialEmulators.html Is it possible adding its core to BizHawk? I'd seriously LOVE some Sharp X68000 compatibility, especially because it has some really nice shmups.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
I support the above request! Has some cool exclusives.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Since Genesis Emulation is moving along nicely, thanks to goyuken. I noticed that Bizhawk will need SHA-1 hashes for the 32X and Sega CD BIOS files.
dbebd76a448447cb6e524ac3cb0fd19fc065d944 *32X_M68K.bin
1e5b0b2441a4979b6966d942b20cc76c413b8c5e *32X_Master.bin
4103668c1bbd66c5e24558e73d4f3f92061a109a *32X_Slave.bin
f891e0ea651e2232af0c5c4cb46a0cae2ee8f356 *eu_mcd1_9210.bin
7063192ae9f6b696c5b81bc8f0a9fe6f0c400e58 *eu_mcd2_9303.bin
523b3125fb0ac094e16aa072bc6ccdca22e520e5 *eu_mcd2_9306.bin
4846f448160059a7da0215a5df12ca160f26dd69 *jp_mcd1_9111.bin
e4193c6ae44c3cea002707d2a88f1fbcced664de *jp_mcd1_9112.bin
f4f315adcef9b8feb0364c21ab7f0eaf5457f3ed *us_scd1_9210.bin
bd3ee0c8ab732468748bf98953603ce772612704 *us_scd2_9303.bin
There is also this ROM:
3f50b76b0529db7f79c396b5e808cc0786ffc311 *Genesis_OS_ROM.bin
But, it is NOT required. All it shows is this: http://i530.photobucket.com/albums/dd343/hegyak/GenesisOSROM2013-12-16030036.png
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
autofire
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2013
Posts: 10
hegyak wrote:
32X
Last I checked, GenesisPlus GX doesn't do 32X emulation.
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
autofire wrote:
Last I checked, GenesisPlus GX doesn't do 32X emulation.
I checked and Bizhawk won't run Sega CD games either, yet. I just want to have things be ready for the future. I gave Virtua Racing a try and it appears to behave nicely. I also tested a few other games and they also appeared to work. Rerecording is not in the Genesis Core, yet. I tried to import the Ecco the Dolphin TAS, and Bizhawk says, "6 button controllers are not properly supported." Virtua Racing, confirmed that I did indeed have a 6 button pad connected to both port 1 and port 2. And the 6 button pad, worked correctly.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/11/2012
Posts: 149
Location: WI
hegyak wrote:
autofire wrote:
Last I checked, GenesisPlus GX doesn't do 32X emulation.
I checked and Bizhawk won't run Sega CD games either, yet. I just want to have things be ready for the future.
That didn't stay true for long, based on recent commit history. I'm disappointed that he's basically replacing vecna's attempt at C# cores with more native code, but I guess it wasn't going to be fixed anytime soon anyway since he doesn't want to touch it anymore. 32x wouldn't be entirely impossible following the same approach. The guys who do the OS X emulator OpenEmu solved the 32x problem by using both GenesisPlusGX and PicoDrive code. Picodrive has a 32x core written in C. The emulator as a whole is not as accurate as Genesis Plus GX though.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Sappharad wrote:
I'm disappointed that he's basically replacing vecna's attempt at C# cores with more native code
Nothing that has happened has to be permanent, the C# core is still in the code base. But the reality is that it has been 2 years since vecna has worked on his core. The reality is that most likely it is dead or won't be done anytime soon. We do need to look for alternatives. And G+ seems to be a great alternative.
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects