Joined: 9/22/2012
Posts: 15
Location: Oregon
SoulCal wrote:
Link to video
It's... it's beautiful.
Experienced player (647)
Joined: 5/16/2009
Posts: 235
Lag counter test. Little test I did with scripts. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4CyfFBX8vo
THC98
He/Him
Experienced player (899)
Joined: 8/7/2012
Posts: 279
Location: Brazil
mkdasher wrote:
Lag counter test. Little test I did with scripts. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4CyfFBX8vo
Interesting thing, could you use it in the full TAS to check how many lag frames there are in the full thing, if you don't already know it?
Youtube Channel | Twitch Channel • Finished projects: GC Sonic Adventure DX - Sonic | GC Sonic Adventure DX - Tails | GC Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Hero Story | GC Sonic Heroes - Team Sonic • Current projects: GC Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Dark Story - 1st WIP • Paused projects: GC Sonic Adventure DX - Knuckles - 1st WIP • Individual levels records: Sonic Adventure DX | Sonic Adventure 2: Battle • My Discord: Tales98#0408
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1141)
Joined: 5/1/2010
Posts: 1217
THC98 wrote:
Interesting thing, could you use it in the full TAS to check how many lag frames there are in the full thing, if you don't already know it?
Of course, Mupen64 is regarded as one of the least accurate emulators on the site. This goes doubly so when emulating CPU speed (and thus lag). I think the full run has something like 40 seconds of unemulated lag...
Active player (419)
Joined: 9/21/2009
Posts: 1047
Location: California
THC98 wrote:
mkdasher wrote:
Lag counter test. Little test I did with scripts. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4CyfFBX8vo
Interesting thing, could you use it in the full TAS to check how many lag frames there are in the full thing, if you don't already know it?
How would we not know? VI/s are real time and input frames are just input frames. All you have to do is find the difference in time (VI/s divided by 60 and input frames divided by 30) and then you have the total lag (for Mupen). This is useful if anyone plans to TAS something, not for TASes that are already done (unless you're using them to compare to).
Experienced player (617)
Joined: 11/30/2008
Posts: 650
Location: a little city in the middle of nowhere
For N64 games, there's a reason that there is no lag counter. It's very poorly defined. For SM64, it's easy. SM64 runs at 30 FPS and should poll input every frame. However, some games run at 60 FPS and might not poll at every frame, so that formula wouldn't work. Other games poll at 20Hz so the formula becomes wrong again. Some games poll at 60Hz but don't use the input on most frames to do anything, or discard the input of every other frame. Other games have no set framerate like conker's bad fur day, and some other Rare games, which means the concept of lag is irrelevant.
Measure once. Cut twice.
Experienced player (598)
Joined: 2/8/2009
Posts: 656
mkdasher wrote:
Lag counter test. Little test I did with scripts. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4CyfFBX8vo
Would you mind explaining, how you implemented this to mupen? This seems like a really useful script. I've never worked with such scripts, so sorry if it is actually pretty obvious how to get access to this.
Active player (317)
Joined: 1/15/2012
Posts: 343
I was thinking about something... would it be possible to make a jumpless run ? It would require to get 70 stars (and so to actually find 70 stars which can be obtain without jumping), but it would be very interesting to watch...
Editor, Player (44)
Joined: 7/11/2010
Posts: 1022
STBM wrote:
I was thinking about something... would it be possible to make a jumpless run ? It would require to get 70 stars (and so to actually find 70 stars which can be obtain without jumping), but it would be very interesting to watch...
It's been attempted, and I think there's a maximum-stars jumpless run in the thread somewhere. It can't get that far, though. (IIRC the first problem was no way to get into the pipe at the end of BitDW, but I might be wrong on that.)
Active player (317)
Joined: 1/15/2012
Posts: 343
ais523 wrote:
(IIRC the first problem was no way to get into the pipe at the end of BitDW)
That is very frustrating, but I didn't think about that :p Well, glad to hear it's been tried before :)
Expert player (2581)
Joined: 6/2/2009
Posts: 1182
Location: Teresópolis - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
I once suggested a "jumpless" run of Super Mario on the SNES, but this is ridiculous :) Nice work.
I am old enough to know better, but not enough to do it.
Joined: 3/17/2009
Posts: 496
MrGrunz wrote:
mkdasher wrote:
Lag counter test. Little test I did with scripts. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4CyfFBX8vo
Would you mind explaining, how you implemented this to mupen? This seems like a really useful script. I've never worked with such scripts, so sorry if it is actually pretty obvious how to get access to this.
I second this. Please explain.
Editor, Experienced player (852)
Joined: 8/12/2008
Posts: 845
Location: Québec, Canada
There's a mupen-lua @ http://code.google.com/p/mupen64-rr/downloads/detail?name=LuaExtension_r34_bin.zip&can=2&q= The script is rather simple; since SM64 runs at 30FPS/60VI/s, you just need to make it add a lag frame when VI/s go up by 3 instead of 2 each frame.
Joined: 12/4/2012
Posts: 2
sonicpacker wrote:
No A Button TAS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5eFLrG7vIQ
I was wondering why I was getting some more subscribers :) On a related note, a full-game ABC run would be fun, no?
Former player
Joined: 8/31/2009
Posts: 236
ais523 wrote:
STBM wrote:
I was thinking about something... would it be possible to make a jumpless run ? It would require to get 70 stars (and so to actually find 70 stars which can be obtain without jumping), but it would be very interesting to watch...
It's been attempted, and I think there's a maximum-stars jumpless run in the thread somewhere. It can't get that far, though. (IIRC the first problem was no way to get into the pipe at the end of BitDW, but I might be wrong on that.)
I don't know how SM64 physics work, but I've seen B+Z (the sliding kick) get some height from bounces before. Could that possibly work to get into the pipe?
Joined: 12/4/2012
Posts: 2
The problem with the pipe is that there isn't anything to bounce from. In the no A button TAS at http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=A5eFLrG7vIQ#t=643s you can see that in order to bounce high enough to get the star, he needed to have a higher starting place to slidekick from.
Experienced player (598)
Joined: 2/8/2009
Posts: 656
Nahoc wrote:
There's a mupen-lua @ http://code.google.com/p/mupen64-rr/downloads/detail?name=LuaExtension_r34_bin.zip&can=2&q= The script is rather simple; since SM64 runs at 30FPS/60VI/s, you just need to make it add a lag frame when VI/s go up by 3 instead of 2 each frame.
This version doesn't have a reset ability, does it? (I've just tested it and it didn't work). Would have been extremly helpful for future OoT/MM runs, because there's a lot of lag going on there, but without the reset feature it is quite useless. I still don't get, why there are dozen of Mupen versions with useful updates out there, but usually each version only has one of those new features, but not any of the other ones. Is there not anyone out there who could simply put all those stuff together? Sry, if some people regard posts like this as spam in a thread like the sm64 thread, it is just, that the people, that could possibly tell me anything about this usually pay attention to this thread.
Skilled player (1705)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
MrGrunz wrote:
This version doesn't have a reset ability, does it? (I've just tested it and it didn't work). Would have been extremly helpful for future OoT/MM runs, because there's a lot of lag going on there, but without the reset feature it is quite useless. I still don't get, why there are dozen of Mupen versions with useful updates out there, but usually each version only has one of those new features, but not any of the other ones. Is there not anyone out there who could simply put all those stuff together? Sry, if some people regard posts like this as spam in a thread like the sm64 thread, it is just, that the people, that could possibly tell me anything about this usually pay attention to this thread.
I think it's more likely someone integrating PJ64 1.6 into BizHawk than it is to have someone put all those stuff together in the mess of code that is Mupen. :P
Joined: 5/11/2012
Posts: 14
What's the point in optimizing for lag that isn't accurately emulated anyway? Generally avoiding things that cause substantial lag is good and all but counting frames just seems pointless at the current level of timing accuracy.
Experienced player (598)
Joined: 2/8/2009
Posts: 656
MARIO CHIP 1 wrote:
What's the point in optimizing for lag that isn't accurately emulated anyway? Generally avoiding things that cause substantial lag is good and all but counting frames just seems pointless at the current level of timing accuracy.
When I TAS I usually aim for maximum speed, so if I can save 1 frame by avoiding lag, I want to save that frame. I've never really cared, whether a TAS looks exactly the same on a console, as long as everything is in theory possible on a console.
Active player (419)
Joined: 9/21/2009
Posts: 1047
Location: California
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
can you explain why you get so much speed out of nowhere?
Active player (419)
Joined: 9/21/2009
Posts: 1047
Location: California
ALAKTORN wrote:
can you explain why you get so much speed out of nowhere?
I thought the title was self explanatory... ;)