Joined: 12/29/2007
Posts: 489
No. By an extremely rough calculation, the N64 has 14 buttons, so on every frame there are 2^14 = 16,384 possible button press combinations. Super Mario 64 runs at 30 frames per second iirc, so in one second there are 16384^30 possible movie files, which is a number over 100 digits long. Even if we got a supercomputer that could process a quintillion movie files per second, it would still take several googol years to try them all. And that's just 1 second. Brute forcing just isn't possible.
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1555
1 frame = 1/30 second. We are 68 frames shy of sub 5 minutes. If only we can get to Bowser in the Fire Sea earlier...
Former player
Joined: 6/30/2010
Posts: 1093
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Wasn't the actual time slower, because people always use the less accurate Mupen? Please correct me if that's wrong.
Current project: Gex 3 any% Paused: Gex 64 any% There are no N64 emulators. Just SM64 emulators with hacky support for all the other games.
Joined: 2/15/2009
Posts: 329
Zowayix wrote:
No. By an extremely rough calculation, the N64 has 14 buttons, so on every frame there are 2^14 = 16,384 possible button press combinations. Super Mario 64 runs at 30 frames per second iirc, so in one second there are 16384^30 possible movie files, which is a number over 100 digits long. Even if we got a supercomputer that could process a quadrillion movie files per second, it would still take several googol years to try them all. And that's just 1 second. Brute forcing just isn't possible.
Super Mario 64 uses 9 buttons. The problem is the 65536 positions of the analog stick. (Minus deadzone and possible lower resolution used)
Working on: Legend of Legaia, Vagrant Story
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
andypanther wrote:
Wasn't the actual time slower, because people always use the less accurate Mupen? Please correct me if that's wrong.
You’re correct.
Editor, Skilled player (1504)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1317
Kingdweeb wrote:
Would it be possible to 'bruteforce' a 5 minute run?
You don't need to bruteforce the whole, you can split it into events, basically every 10 frames or so combined with games logic. Like a human would do, but with more efficiency. Such a bot is of course hard to code and would require indepth analysis of the game first.
Favorite animal: STOCK Gt(ROSA)26Sortm1.1(rtTA,EGFP)Nagy Grm7Tg(SMN2)89Ahmb Smn1tm1Msd Tg(SMN2*delta7)4299Ahmb Tg(tetO-SMN2,-luc)#aAhmb/J YouTube Twitch
Samsara
She/They
Senior Judge, Site Admin, Expert player (2120)
Joined: 11/13/2006
Posts: 2792
Location: Northern California
Link to video 42 goombas.
TASvideos Admin and acting Senior Judge 💙 | Cohost
warmCabin wrote:
You shouldn't need a degree in computer science to get into this hobby.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
Wow, he did it! Now there's only that one A press in BitFS left and the game can be completed with 70 stars without pressing the A button at all.
Active player (403)
Joined: 3/30/2012
Posts: 403
Wow. Can you use any tricks like a Goomba ladder to get past BitFS?
THC98
He/Him
Experienced player (899)
Joined: 8/7/2012
Posts: 279
Location: Brazil
CoolKirby wrote:
Wow, he did it! Now there's only that one A press in BitFS left and the game can be completed with 70 stars without pressing the A button at all.
Actually that last video wasn't an improvement in the 70 star ABC, because you don't need BitS red coins star to complete the game, as you can't reach BitS with 69 stars.
Youtube Channel | Twitch Channel • Finished projects: GC Sonic Adventure DX - Sonic | GC Sonic Adventure DX - Tails | GC Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Hero Story | GC Sonic Heroes - Team Sonic • Current projects: GC Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Dark Story - 1st WIP • Paused projects: GC Sonic Adventure DX - Knuckles - 1st WIP • Individual levels records: Sonic Adventure DX | Sonic Adventure 2: Battle • My Discord: Tales98#0408
Active player (403)
Joined: 3/30/2012
Posts: 403
THC98 wrote:
CoolKirby wrote:
Wow, he did it! Now there's only that one A press in BitFS left and the game can be completed with 70 stars without pressing the A button at all.
Actually that last video wasn't an improvement in the 70 star ABC, because you don't need BitS red coins star to complete the game, as you can't reach BitS with 69 stars.
Oh yeah, that's a good point. Well, i guess that brings us a little bit closer to a 120 star minimum A press TAS (i don't think 0 would be possible unless some crazy new glitch gets discovered.)
Active player (419)
Joined: 9/21/2009
Posts: 1047
Location: California
A whompping 21 TASers submitted for task 1! Here's task 2 for those that are looking to join something fun in their freetime: http://sm64.org/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=21647#p21647
Plush
Other
Player (152)
Joined: 9/1/2014
Posts: 235
Location: Italy
sonicpacker wrote:
A whompping
gr8 b8 m8
Plush
Other
Player (152)
Joined: 9/1/2014
Posts: 235
Location: Italy
(Sorry for double post) Link to video One of the trickiest stars has been solved!!
Joined: 1/19/2015
Posts: 9
So, am I allowed to post on here too? ;)
Patashu
He/Him
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 4014
pannenkoek2012 wrote:
So, am I allowed to post on here too? ;)
But if you start posting all your own videos who is going to post them for you ;_;
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
negative_seven
She/Her
Active player (354)
Joined: 11/25/2012
Posts: 102
Location: Europe
pannenkoek2012 wrote:
So, am I allowed to post on here too? ;)
Nope, you were banned for being too awesome ;)
Player (36)
Joined: 9/11/2004
Posts: 2623
pannenkoek2012 wrote:
So, am I allowed to post on here too? ;)
Yes! Welcome! Have you had any luck with my idea in WDW?
Build a man a fire, warm him for a day, Set a man on fire, warm him for the rest of his life.
Joined: 1/19/2015
Posts: 9
I looked at the level geometry, and Mario would have to be REALLY far over to have the surface of the water not out of bounds. In fact, this position is within the downtown room, and we know you can't activate the load zone from there.
Skilled player (1705)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
Hey, with all these (new) tricks, it would be really helpful if this page was updated. :)
Plush
Other
Player (152)
Joined: 9/1/2014
Posts: 235
Location: Italy
Here's a curious graph made by pan. He loves to make graphs lol
jlun2 wrote:
Hey, with all these (new) tricks, it would be really helpful if this page was updated. :)
I will be happy to do that, glitch by glitch, step by step. There would be a lot of stuff to include in that page. Oh and read the PM I sent you.
Editor, Skilled player (1504)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1317
Here are two little scripts for BizHawk I wrote to practice my coding skills. They're a bit messy, but whatever. The first one displays stuff on screen: User movie #20225548630088363. The other one generates input to follow a set angle: User movie #20225968871960280. It's very primitive and shouldn't be used for serious TASing yet. You can still add jumps manually while it tries to generate input. The coding can be improved, of course. I actually wanted to have a form where the user can input the angle before it brute-forces, but the form appears after frame-advance, which is to late. Edit: There's a small glitch in it, trying to fix it. Edit2: Should be fixed, the analog inputs randomly started to over/underflow for some reason.
Favorite animal: STOCK Gt(ROSA)26Sortm1.1(rtTA,EGFP)Nagy Grm7Tg(SMN2)89Ahmb Smn1tm1Msd Tg(SMN2*delta7)4299Ahmb Tg(tetO-SMN2,-luc)#aAhmb/J YouTube Twitch
Former player
Joined: 5/29/2006
Posts: 200
Plush wrote:
(Sorry for double post) Link to video One of the trickiest stars has been solved!!
Could the trick used on the pole be used in BitFS, or is there something I'm not understanding here?
Joined: 12/29/2007
Posts: 489
^I believe the glitched Bob-omb clone's backwards momentum is needed to get off the pole, and there are no Bob-ombs that can be reached at the BitFS pole.
Active player (403)
Joined: 3/30/2012
Posts: 403
So the only A press necessary to beat the game is in BitFS? Dang. That really makes me wanna see you guys find some crazy strat to bypass it.