Post subject: Note to newcomers: Use DeSmuME 0.9.9 for TASing
Editor, Experienced player (816)
Joined: 5/2/2015
Posts: 671
Location: France
You may get desyncs if you use version 0.9.10/0.9.11 and do not know what you are doing. A desync means your movie will not play back correctly, displaying save errors in your game. IF THIS IS YOUR FIRST DS TAS AND YOU DO NOT WISH TO HAVE DESYNCS, USE DESMUME 0.9.9. DeSmuME 0.9.9 link If you wish to use 0.9.11 for features/bugfixes not present in 0.9.9, eg. you want to use feos's upscaling build, or just want peace of mind using the latest version and having more accurate emulation, continue reading. Versions 0.9.10 and 0.9.11 have the SRAM glitch, meaning that any movie you play will use the SRAM present from any non-TAS playthrough, instead of using no SRAM, as intended. This means that if you have never touched the game before, start a TAS (recording a movie), then play the game without recording a movie, then SRAM will be created, where it was not created before because you were recording a movie. But the next time you play your movie, the SRAM left over from playing without recording will stay, leading to a desync. Here is a workaround: 1. Delete the SRAM of the game located in your 'Battery' folder in your DeSmuMe directory. 2. Load the ROM. 3. Immediatly pause. DO NOT LET THE GAME ADVANCE OR CREATE SRAM. IF IT DOES, REPEAT THE STEPS. 4. Load your movie. 5. (Optional, if you don't want to repeat these steps) Immediatly pause. 6. Make a savestate, which is by default Shift + F(1-10). 7. Load it. Every time from now on, whenever loading your movie, you must load the savestate you made, or any other savestate you made while TASing. If you want to play it from the start, make sure you have no leftover SRAM by checking the Battery folder in your DeSmuME directory. If it exists, delete the SRAM with your game's name (the same as your ROM) and play the movie again.
EgixBacon
He/Him
Player (181)
Joined: 4/15/2013
Posts: 331
Location: In the attic
I would recommend that you request for this to be stickied, if you haven't done so yet. This sort of information should be kept at the top.
FanFiction|Youtube Still on Win7! Take that, Microsoft!
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
Never seen this topic before, good post xy2_. Are all those steps really required for sync on 0.9.10/11, though? I think just deleting the battery file before you start TASing works… though I’m not 100% sure, even though I’m using 0.9.11 to TAS Mega Man ZX.
Editor, Experienced player (816)
Joined: 5/2/2015
Posts: 671
Location: France
ALAKTORN wrote:
Never seen this topic before, good post xy2_. Are all those steps really required for sync on 0.9.10/11, though? I think just deleting the battery file before you start TASing works… though I’m not 100% sure, even though I’m using 0.9.11 to TAS Mega Man ZX.
In DeSmuME, the SRAM is 'linked' to the savestate itself. This way, instead of having to delete the battery file each time you want to replay your movie, you can just load your premade savestate for subsequent full movie replays.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
xy2_ wrote:
This way, instead of having to delete the battery file each time you want to replay your movie, you can just load your premade savestate for subsequent movie replays.
…Are you saying to replay the movie from the start every time you’re TASing? I hope not.
Editor, Experienced player (816)
Joined: 5/2/2015
Posts: 671
Location: France
ALAKTORN wrote:
xy2_ wrote:
This way, instead of having to delete the battery file each time you want to replay your movie, you can just load your premade savestate for subsequent movie replays.
…Are you saying to replay the movie from the start every time you’re TASing? I hope not.
No. The use of that would be for full movie replays, which you don't need unless you want to review your movie in full.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
xy2_ wrote:
No. The use of that would be for full movie replays, which you don't need unless you want to review your movie in full.
I don’t think I follow you. You’re saying the OP is only talking about movie playback, not actual TASing? What needs to be done if you want to continue a TAS, then?
Editor, Experienced player (816)
Joined: 5/2/2015
Posts: 671
Location: France
ALAKTORN wrote:
I don’t think I follow you. You’re saying the OP is only talking about movie playback, not actual TASing? What needs to be done if you want to continue a TAS, then?
AFAIK, after deleting the battery file, you do still need to savestate when you create your movie. Apologies for the misunderstanding.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
Anyone tested 0.9.12? Is it good?
Editor, Expert player (2000)
Joined: 8/25/2013
Posts: 1199
When it gets released I'd be happy to test it.
effort on the first draft means less effort on any draft thereafter - some loser
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
I’ve seen multiple people use it already. It’s not released?
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
Nope.
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
Noxxa
They/Them
Moderator, Expert player (4135)
Joined: 8/14/2009
Posts: 4083
Location: The Netherlands
There is no 0.9.12 release as of yet. If anybody is currently talking about "0.9.12" versions, they probably are talking about interim builds.
http://www.youtube.com/Noxxa <dwangoAC> This is a TAS (...). Not suitable for all audiences. May cause undesirable side-effects. May contain emulator abuse. Emulator may be abusive. This product contains glitches known to the state of California to cause egg defects. <Masterjun> I'm just a guy arranging bits in a sequence which could potentially amuse other people looking at these bits <adelikat> In Oregon Trail, I sacrificed my own family to save time. In Star trek, I killed helpless comrades in escape pods to save time. Here, I kill my allies to save time. I think I need help.
Skilled player (1705)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
Thread #18810: #5371: ruadath's DS Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon in 08:47.83 Apparently, the latest version of DeSmeME also has problems with the system clock at start. Anyone who needs to manipulate it should avoid the latest version.
Noxxa
They/Them
Moderator, Expert player (4135)
Joined: 8/14/2009
Posts: 4083
Location: The Netherlands
jlun2 wrote:
Thread #18810: #5371: ruadath's DS Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon in 08:47.83 Apparently, the latest version of DeSmeME also has problems with the system clock at start. Anyone who needs to manipulate it should avoid the latest version.
This happens with all versions of DeSmuME, not just the latest. The bug is only fixed in interim versions post-0.9.11.
http://www.youtube.com/Noxxa <dwangoAC> This is a TAS (...). Not suitable for all audiences. May cause undesirable side-effects. May contain emulator abuse. Emulator may be abusive. This product contains glitches known to the state of California to cause egg defects. <Masterjun> I'm just a guy arranging bits in a sequence which could potentially amuse other people looking at these bits <adelikat> In Oregon Trail, I sacrificed my own family to save time. In Star trek, I killed helpless comrades in escape pods to save time. Here, I kill my allies to save time. I think I need help.
Active player (251)
Joined: 12/13/2016
Posts: 352
For what it's worth I checked what the error is. The revision is as dumb as changing a < sign to a <= sign in a for loop https://github.com/TASVideos/desmume/commit/1bce1f1811fa0a4e8802f5639b4ce6007c13a8b1
Post subject: Working with newer DeSmuME versions
Editor, Experienced player (816)
Joined: 5/2/2015
Posts: 671
Location: France
By the way, this post should not mean that you need to avoid 0.9.10/0.9.11 at all costs; if you know what you are doing, you may want to use 0.9.11 to be, for example, able to sync with the Japanese upscaling builds for high-resolution encodes of 3D games. In these cases, make sure to apply the workaround in the first post when you first make your TAS; you do not need to do this for subsequent playbacks of your TAS, as far as I am aware.
admiralpete
He/Him
Joined: 11/22/2013
Posts: 14
Location: Southwestern PA
I'm currently running the latest official nightly build (7/24). If I want to start a new movie, what are the steps there, or are they the same as in the first post in this thread? The reason I'm asking is that, by default, there is no battery file. Any help would be appreciated.
Active player (251)
Joined: 12/13/2016
Posts: 352
For what it's worth, they don't accept movies on non official versions, so unless you wait for 0.9.12 to get released, you will have to make your movie on the old versions (found this out the hard way).
admiralpete
He/Him
Joined: 11/22/2013
Posts: 14
Location: Southwestern PA
I won't be submitting my work here. I'd like to use the latest dev build for a YT playthrough of mine because it has upscaling capabilities. I was just curious about how to get a movie to play back in sync on the newest dev builds.
Dimon12321
He/Him
Active player (479)
Joined: 4/5/2014
Posts: 1123
Location: Ukraine
It's 2019 now. Is Desmume 0.9.9 still a better choice for TASing than 0.9.11?
TASing is like making a film: only the best takes are shown in the final movie.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2282)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6333
Location: The land down under.
Yes. For the same reasons after all, nothing was changed from 2015 to 2019. Even if a 0.9.12 that comes out, and doesn't address the issues it will still be worse than 0.9.9.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.
ViGadeomes
He/Him
Judge, Active player (302)
Joined: 10/16/2017
Posts: 456
Location: France
I'm wating for melonDS before starting TASing DS games...