1 2
6 7 8
15 16
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Expert player (2148)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3831
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
I would be glad if you could post a brief tutorial on how to use memory search. I couldn't figure it out myself...
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/2/2007
Posts: 3960
Soulrivers wrote:
Everyone hates him though, hah.
Well duh. He's (she's?) not Fox! (Though that Puff vs. Puff match was rather tedious, I have to admit)
Pyrel - an open-source rewrite of the Angband roguelike game in Python.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
We still have no memory adresses for SSBM, even though it would be greatly useful!
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Experienced player (571)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3966
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
So, I was watching this match, and after seeing both Ganondorf and Captain Falcon dying at the same time to start a Sudden Death, I was wondering what would happen if both players died in a Sudden Death on the exact same frame. How would the game decide who won? Would it randomly choose a victor or totally glitch out?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/30/2011
Posts: 146
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
I'll speculate here: IMO the game would give the win to the player whose number is closest to 1, just like it manages attack priorities if 2 identical attacks hit each other.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Expert player (2148)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3831
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
CoolKirby wrote:
So, I was watching this match, and after seeing both Ganondorf and Captain Falcon dying at the same time to start a Sudden Death, I was wondering what would happen if both players died in a Sudden Death on the exact same frame. How would the game decide who won? Would it randomly choose a victor or totally glitch out?
It prioritizes port 1, then 2, then 3, then 4. Same for when two players grab an item at the same frame, or grab each other at the same frame, etc..
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Experienced player (571)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3966
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
That's a pretty smart way to program it, considering Player 1 would be the master player, and Player 2 would be required for 3 and 4 to be in the game. OK, thanks for explaining that.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/7/2008
Posts: 122
Location: Portugal
If I recall correctly, it's 1>2>3>4 in Melee and Brawl, and 1<2<3<4 in Smash64. ...Somehow that is a bit bad. When you have a friend over, he's usually the 2nd player, and he's usually worse than you. The game should then prioritize the 2nd player. =P
I'm Espyo from the SRB2 Forums. Current project: A Pikmin fan engine, Pikifen
Post subject: memory address
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/18/2006
Posts: 971
Location: Great Britain
the only memory address i have is for G&W's hammer number :D
Post subject: Re: memory address
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
antd wrote:
the only memory address i have is for G&W's hammer number :D
Well that's a good start!!
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/21/2012
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands
So this is where all the ssbm tasers are! : D I need you guys help, is there anyway to enable friendly fire/team attack in the debug menu? I really need it for a future tas of mine!
Experienced Forum User, Player (147)
Joined: 2/4/2011
Posts: 61
Your TASes are godly.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Expert player (2148)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3831
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
I don't think there is. How about you select Free For All mode and let the winning team members fight themselves at the end?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/21/2012
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands
tall wrote:
Your TASes are godly.
<3
MUGG wrote:
I don't think there is. How about you select Free For All mode and let the winning team members fight themselves at the end?
aw that's too bad, I wanted to do a 2 vs 2 match with certain costumes... but I guess that's not possible = / Btw I would like to thank you for being my very first subscriber, you're the reason I've gotten so popular in such a short time! <3
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/18/2006
Posts: 971
Location: Great Britain
What do you know about being popular :D
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/30/2009
Posts: 49
Where are eaSy's TASes?
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Expert player (2148)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3831
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/30/2009
Posts: 49
Thanks, wow, how did I miss these? They're great!
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/7/2008
Posts: 122
Location: Portugal
Ah, I knew I was subscribed. On a sort of related topic, your latest video was meant to loop using the pause annotation glitch on YouTube, right? Because the glitch failed and made Flash take up 50% of the CPU usage. Anyway, I'm sure there's a way to play a debug menu battle with team attack. Entering the regular multiplayer mode menu, changing the rules, and then entering the debug menu might work. ...If that's at all possible. If only the debug menu had more documentation...
I'm Espyo from the SRB2 Forums. Current project: A Pikmin fan engine, Pikifen
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/21/2012
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands
Espyo wrote:
Ah, I knew I was subscribed. On a sort of related topic, your latest video was meant to loop using the pause annotation glitch on YouTube, right? Because the glitch failed and made Flash take up 50% of the CPU usage.
Lol sorry about that, the video loops fine here : s.
Espyo wrote:
Anyway, I'm sure there's a way to play a debug menu battle with team attack. Entering the regular multiplayer mode menu, changing the rules, and then entering the debug menu might work. ...If that's at all possible. If only the debug menu had more documentation...
I tried that already it doesn't work = /. I also tried searching for an AR code, but no success = /.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/21/2012
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands
Thanks to Renebalow <3, I can now use friendly fire in the debug menu! And not only that now I can do stuff like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIF0zIpE2bE#t=01m57s To do this you need something called the "crazy mod" which can be found here. http://www.4shared.com/get/35401452/3a10b2f7/CrzMod.html to install the crazy mod you must import the savefile to memorycard A, then in game you go to VS mode then Name entry. Now a message should pop up asking if you want to overwrite the savefile, choose yes. Now you should be able to use an advanced version of the debug menu! (Too bad this file is ntsc V1.02 only, but its no problem I'll just import my pal characters into the ntsc iso) I can't wait to see some tases with this mod, it's gonna be crazy!
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/7/2008
Posts: 122
Location: Portugal
Guh-buh-what?! An advanced version of the debug menu? What's that all about? A mod made by fans, or just a small thing that triggers an advanced menu already in the game? And it seems like it's a memory card mod. How would that be able to contain a custom debug menu?
I'm Espyo from the SRB2 Forums. Current project: A Pikmin fan engine, Pikifen
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/16/2008
Posts: 57
it looks a lot like the action replay debug menu
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/29/2012
Posts: 33
Location: Finland
Hey =) I uploaded a short test video and learned a bit of TASing. Seems like I got some desyncs there since the video plays a lot faster than audio. I would like to ask which revision is the best (for VS matches), GarySSBM said in the comments a revision that is good for stadium but I'm not planning to TAS it (yet). Is there a reason for disabling dual core and idle skipping while playing. Is it recommended to have them disabled when recording? I have a Microsoft Gamepad (USB) that has a D-Pad, 4 main buttons and 2 triggers. I think it's not good, the d-pad isn't very accurate. What keyboard buttons do you suggest to start with?
RachelB
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Player (119)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Audio dumping seems buggy. Time stretch it to match the video length. Dual core and idle skipping both need to be off for recording, for various reasons (mainly they cause desyncs). They can be used if you really want to be able to play at full speed, but they will cause headaches, and you will need to frequently check for desyncs (whereas without them, you should get no desyncs at all). The only acceptable version for tasing is the latest build of the more-save-fixes branch, or the tas-input branch (same thing, with a better tas input). You can find these in the dolphin thread. The builds on the main dolphin site are NOT ok to tas with. As far as i can tell, based on more than 300k frames of tasing, as well as various other people tasing with it, it should never desync, at all, when recording GC controller (wiimote recording desyncs almost constantly).
1 2
6 7 8
15 16