Joined: 1/12/2014
Posts: 40
I am wondering if the powerup in the powerup box is causing any lag, similar to the amount of coins/lives/scorepoints do?
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
The coins/lives/scorepoints cause lag because the game has to convert the hex value to dec value (it does that by constantly removing a power of 10 until it's under that) each frame. There are no heavy calculations for the powerup in the box and a quick test showed that nothing vs mushroom does 15 instructions more. But then again a score of 24200 vs 24210 means 12 instructions more.
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
Joined: 1/12/2014
Posts: 40
so all in all dropping your powerup after castle 2 up to SW1 would save a few frames in a 96 exit run?
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
It could, if you have luck.
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
Joined: 1/12/2014
Posts: 40
well i don't see a reason not to do so because the chance of getting hit is minimal anyways the only threat i see is Lemmy
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
But don't get me wrong though. You'll probably save like 30 frames in 1 hour if you're lucky and then there are always the frame rules that can destroy the saved frames...
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
Joined: 1/12/2014
Posts: 40
also another thing, as you can get orb as a powerup is there a way to manipulate so that you could get yoshi as a powerup?(this used ot have some fun in castles with yoshi)
Patashu
He/Him
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 4014
Akisto wrote:
also another thing, as you can get orb as a powerup is there a way to manipulate so that you could get yoshi as a powerup?(this used ot have some fun in castles with yoshi)
I think there is a list somewhere of what all the sprite IDs you can put in the powerup box are, but I can't find it.
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
Editor, Skilled player (1409)
Joined: 12/28/2013
Posts: 396
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Akisto wrote:
also another thing, as you can get orb as a powerup is there a way to manipulate so that you could get yoshi as a powerup?(this used ot have some fun in castles with yoshi)
Yes, but it's harder and trickier than putting the orb in the item box. You have to do the Power Increment (or PI) glitch - a glitch that increases Mario's power-up number. Number 0 is small Mario, number 1 is big Mario, 2 is cape Mario and 3 is fire Mario. 4 to 255 are glitched Marios. When you get power-up 38, it's easy to get an Yoshi in your item box. Just collect an 1-up and you'll have him there. To do the PI glitch, you have to spit out a null sprite of Yoshi's mouth on very specific pixels of those yellow platforms you find in YI3. Or you can just cheat: put the address 7E0019 in the RAM Watch in your emulator, and just edit it to 38.
My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVoUfT49xN9TU-gDMHv57sw Projects: SMW 96 exit. SDW any%, with Amaraticando. SMA2 SMW small only Kaizo Mario World 3
Post subject: Corner Clip with low speeds and Yoshi
Joined: 4/20/2014
Posts: 1
How exactly does this kind of corner clip work? I know the 'normal' corner clip has a rule: Mario has to be 2 pixels inside a block in the frame he is going to advance 4 pixels. Does the corner clip with Yoshi and low speed have a rule that can help me to do it quickly in a TAS?
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
I assume you mean approaching the block from the left. So the clip works because with Yoshi your hitbox is different than usual (it's bigger) and there is one single y-position (or maybe 2 or more, I don't know actually) where you can't hit the block and go through it. As the block pushes you to the left when you hit it inside the block you have to be careful to not get stopped. I did a bit of testing over 1 year ago and I figured out that there are two x-positions that stop you when your calculated next x-position (speed+current position) it equal to them. In general I could figure out that to avoid getting stopped, if x is the position you have when touching the block from the left, with
  • 49 speed your x-position has to be in the range of (x-1).e0 - x.f0
  • 51 speed your x-position has to be in the range of (x-1).a0 - x.f0
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
Buddybenj
He/Him
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
I found this glitch while playing through the game in real time a few months ago. Today I just decided I should record it I don't know if this has been found but here is a demonstration. Probably has been found because it is pretty simple. And this can be done much smoother this is just a proof of concept. This took me a while to make because there was a technical problem in BizHawk. Link to video EDIT: Ah, I knew it had to have been discovered. But I still think it looks pretty cool.
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
It's good you posted this in case it was new, but unfortunately it's been known for a while that you can stomp and reuse P-Switches. A variant of it was used in the original "game end glitch" run by pressing it and then having Yoshi eat it immediately to use the same switch over and over indefinitely.
Post subject: something new, and possible improvements for SDW
Player (172)
Joined: 12/28/2007
Posts: 235
Location: Japan, Sapporo
I happened to know, one and a half months ago, that we can zip through walls downwards from top-left-corner-clipping, even if the corner is filled with solid blocks. It had been thought (at least by me) that Mario should die in that way. Here is a quick demo tested in SDW. It improves PSWa by like 9 seconds, so it's available in any% (or warps in recent terms). It's a pity that it looks much worse than the current strategy with two keys. Link to video Or from my TSRP2 WIP: Link to video As shown in the latter video, we can pass through a one-block-thick wall. We will be able to see its power in some puzzle hacks maybe. I think it's also useful in VoB2b of SMW.
Retired because of that deletion event. Projects (WIP RIP): VIP3 all-exits "almost capeless yoshiless", VIP2 all-exits, TSRP2 "normal run"
Post subject: Re: something new, and possible improvements for SDW
Player (121)
Joined: 1/22/2012
Posts: 45
Mister wrote:
I think it's also useful in VoB2b of SMW.
Nice find! It looks like it's definitely useful in that level. What about Forest ghost house? It may be possible to clip through some blocks in the beginning and avoid having to corner clip later.
Post subject: Re: something new, and possible improvements for SDW
Player (172)
Joined: 12/28/2007
Posts: 235
Location: Japan, Sapporo
gbreeze wrote:
Mister wrote:
I think it's also useful in VoB2b of SMW.
Nice find! It looks like it's definitely useful in that level. What about Forest ghost house? It may be possible to clip through some blocks in the beginning and avoid having to corner clip later.
I'm afraid it's impossible there. Unfortunately, Mario falls too quickly while in a wall, so the wall must be long enough to pass through (12 blocks long or so?). Although I looked through SMW, VIP1 and VIP3 (from the viewpoint of capeless for VIPs), I couldn't find any level where it's strikingly useful.
Retired because of that deletion event. Projects (WIP RIP): VIP3 all-exits "almost capeless yoshiless", VIP2 all-exits, TSRP2 "normal run"
Editor, Skilled player (1409)
Joined: 12/28/2013
Posts: 396
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Do you think it's viable to, instead of using a green shell to do the goal-swap in YI2, eat 10 berries and do the swap with the Mushroom? You don't have to 6/5 until the green shell, so I think it wouldn't be much slower. Because then, it won't be needed to get a Mushroom in YI4 to do the stun glitch, and then stunning the fish may be faster than beating the level normally. Also, the same glitch could be done in YI3, in the lava room.
My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVoUfT49xN9TU-gDMHv57sw Projects: SMW 96 exit. SDW any%, with Amaraticando. SMA2 SMW small only Kaizo Mario World 3
Editor, Skilled player (1409)
Joined: 12/28/2013
Posts: 396
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Even if doing the stun glitch keeps being slower, this item box mushroom could save some time in YI1, I guess.
My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVoUfT49xN9TU-gDMHv57sw Projects: SMW 96 exit. SDW any%, with Amaraticando. SMA2 SMW small only Kaizo Mario World 3
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
BrunoVisnadi wrote:
Do you think it's viable to, instead of using a green shell to do the goal-swap in YI2, eat 10 berries and do the swap with the Mushroom?
After eating the berries, the game lags for like 30 frames before spawning the mushroom, and that is too much time lost.
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
Post subject: Super Mario World - New Cloud Glitch Help
Joined: 6/15/2014
Posts: 3
sorry, i wasn't sure if i can post requests here. so if it's against the rule, please delete the thread. as some of you might have heard about the new Cloud Glitch in SMW, some people are still having trouble. if you don't know what i am talking about here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaQknl-PmM0 is the tutorial video by Dano with the Cloud we want to get. now to the problems. it seems like there are version differences, which we never experienced in SMW before, i'll list it. US SNES - US SMW = works fine. US SNES - JAP SMW = works fine. US Emulator = works fine. US VC - US SMW = already harder. JAP SNES - JAP SMW = literally impossible. JAP emulator = literally impossible. as i said there were never any version differences in all the glitches before, that's why i think it's weird. the reason why i think it's the same on Emulator with a JAP SMW is because the Emulator is loading a Super Famicom core because of the NTSC-J game, so it seems like there is no difference at all if you're trying it on Emu or a console. i tried it for around one week on Jap Emu and SFC, but it seems like it's harder to get, or just another setup. because most people are running on a US SNES with the US SMW nobody really cares about it now so i have to figure it out all by myself. i've heard about 2 or 3 people getting it once in thousand tries, but mostly without the screenscroll. what the screenscroll does is freezing the game but yoshi's tongue is still going back to eat the Chuck. it seems like we only have a really small framewindow for eating the Chuck, but the screenscrolling is freezing the framewindow which makes it a lot easier to get (at least on US). i don't know much about the game to find out and i already asked a few TASer, but nobody really has an idea. so maybe somebody here has experience with TASing SMW and may have an idea. thanks in advance.
Patashu
He/Him
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 4014
When you say emulator what do you mean? Snes9x? Snesgt? Bsnes/lsnes/higan? Bizhawk? And what version?
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
Joined: 6/15/2014
Posts: 3
i tried it with snes9x v1.53 and BizHawk 1.7 i think what happens if you play a J cartridge the Emulator loads the default settings for the game, right? so the reason why it's the same as on J emu or Super Famicom is because the emulator is running in SFC mode. (not sure about this)
Noxxa
They/Them
Moderator, Expert player (4137)
Joined: 8/14/2009
Posts: 4083
Location: The Netherlands
(Lengthy discussion and arguments about categorization of arbitrary execution runs in general split off to another thread)
http://www.youtube.com/Noxxa <dwangoAC> This is a TAS (...). Not suitable for all audiences. May cause undesirable side-effects. May contain emulator abuse. Emulator may be abusive. This product contains glitches known to the state of California to cause egg defects. <Masterjun> I'm just a guy arranging bits in a sequence which could potentially amuse other people looking at these bits <adelikat> In Oregon Trail, I sacrificed my own family to save time. In Star trek, I killed helpless comrades in escape pods to save time. Here, I kill my allies to save time. I think I need help.
Eszik
He/Him
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 163
New WR on any%, 9:59 by dram55 : Link to video Looks like we're on the road to see the TAS beaten by the RTA... EDIT: Well‚ it got down to 9:56. We in there.
I problably made mistakes, sorry for my bad English, I'm French :v
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2283)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6336
Location: The land down under.
Eszik wrote:
Looks like we're on the road to see the TAS beaten by the RTA...
Don't forget the timings are completely different from RTA and TAS Eszik.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.