1 2
16 17 18 19 20 21
Experienced Forum User, Player (204)
Joined: 2/12/2006
Posts: 373
Location: Oregon
It's done! http://dehacked.2y.net/microstorage.php/info/1758068318/ActRaiser_%28U%29_Zidanax_and_Dunnius_v2.smv Please review and let us know if you see anything wrong. I was quite lucky in Death Heim. I actually lost a few frames on the 1st boss, but I didn't have to use stardust on the Bloodpool boss. Naturally, I lost some frames in that boss fight but that's okay because as expected I was able to save more frames using the second stardust against the Kasandora boss than I would've been able to against the Bloodpool boss. I managed to save 4 frames against the Aitos boss. I was very lucky with the Marahna boss as it always came down with its spikes instead of staying up in the air and shooting bolts. I actually had to delay the last hit a bit in order to manipulate stardust to fall better in the Northwall boss battle, but it's worth it because I actually save a little time in the Northwall battle, more time than I had to delay in the Marahna battle. And the Tanzra battle was already pretty optimized, so that's as it was framewise. Overall, 3143 frames have been saved over our first version. Again, let us know if you see anything wrong.
Sir VG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (36)
Joined: 10/9/2004
Posts: 1910
Location: Floating Tower
Bloodpool Act II you stay on ground level instead of either getting on a high platform or glitch-jumping the wall. Did it not save you frames, or did it cause an issue with luck on Kasandora Act I? Also, I wonder if it's faster to jump slash the boss in Northwall Act I instead of using that 3rd magic during the time you're waiting between the 1st and 2nd magic usages? That's all I have to ask about. Otherwise, the run is fantastic. I think I'll do an audio commentary when you guys submit the run.
Taking over the world, one game at a time. Currently TASing: Nothing
Experienced Forum User, Skilled player (1648)
Joined: 11/15/2004
Posts: 2200
Location: Killjoy
Arcade TASer of 2010PCE TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010Lucky TAS of 2009Lucky TAS of 2007
Sir VG wrote:
Bloodpool Act II you stay on ground level instead of either getting on a high platform or glitch-jumping the wall. Did it not save you frames, or did it cause an issue with luck on Kasandora Act I?
I don't think the run would have sync'd after this trick was found. Your post about this trick came after they were ~3/4 done.
Sage advice from a friend of Jim: So put your tinfoil hat back in the closet, open your eyes to the truth, and realize that the government is in fact causing austismal cancer with it's 9/11 fluoride vaccinations of your water supply.
Experienced Forum User, Player (204)
Joined: 2/12/2006
Posts: 373
Location: Oregon
^^ Actually, I had tried ending Bloodpool Act II from a higher platform, but although it saved frames in that section, it made my luck with Stardust in Kasandora Act I worse as you suspected. However, you are right about the Northwall Act 1 boss: seems I overlooked jump slashing it on its way to the left, as I was so focused on optimizing spell casts. With enough slashes, I can actually kill it with just 2 spell casts instead of 3. I haven't tried all possibilities, but i've saved 110 frames so far. Don't worry though Dunnius, the sim actually synced when I hexed it in. However, I will have to redo parts of Northwall Act II due to the eyes there changing position again. So the million dollar question is: how will this affect my luck with the Northwall Act II boss and Death Heim? It would be nice if this gave the Northwall Act II boss the same pattern as our first version as that would let us kill it more quickly. But what I'm really concerned about is Death Heim: our luck was rather good this time, so don't be too surprised if we end up backpedaling and using the SMV I just put up, due to worse luck in Death Heim. But hopefully it won't come to that.
Sir VG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (36)
Joined: 10/9/2004
Posts: 1910
Location: Floating Tower
I hope not too. We want the people to on longer need our help! :P
Taking over the world, one game at a time. Currently TASing: Nothing
Active player, Experienced Forum User (378)
Joined: 9/7/2007
Posts: 329
Computer TASer of 2015Computer TAS of 2015
^ That's right. In all those "thriving towns we helped developed." :P I am shocked that the Northwall simulation could be hex edited in. I thought for sure that the monsters' movement or the random lag would be different.
Experienced Forum User, Player (204)
Joined: 2/12/2006
Posts: 373
Location: Oregon
I guess the change was somehow too small to have an effect.
Sir VG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (36)
Joined: 10/9/2004
Posts: 1910
Location: Floating Tower
dunnius wrote:
^ That's right. In all those "thriving towns we helped developed." :P
Wait wait, that one is in the game? How could I notice the on/no error and not notice that one?
Taking over the world, one game at a time. Currently TASing: Nothing
Active player, Experienced Forum User (378)
Joined: 9/7/2007
Posts: 329
Computer TASer of 2015Computer TAS of 2015
That line occurs right after the "on longer" typo. In fact both typos are on the screen at the same time.
Experienced Forum User, Player (204)
Joined: 2/12/2006
Posts: 373
Location: Oregon
The Northwall Act II boss gave us the better pattern this time, so the boss fight is now 57 frames faster. The total saved up to the end of the boss is 173 frames. Let's hope this kind of luck holds in Death Heim, since the number of frames I'd saved in Death Heim before was over 300. http://dehacked.2y.net/microstorage.php/info/1501087351/ActRaiser_%28U%29_Zidanax_and_Dunnius_v2%282%29.smv
Experienced Forum User, Player (204)
Joined: 2/12/2006
Posts: 373
Location: Oregon
My luck wasn't as good in Death Heim but fortunately I was still able to save frames. I ended up using stardust on the Aitos boss instead of the Kasandora boss in order to get the Northwall boss to use a reasonable pattern. As a result I just saved 83 frames overall. Here's the next candidate for submission. http://dehacked.2y.net/microstorage.php/info/1922597951/ActRaiser_%28U%29_Zidanax_and_Dunnius_v2%282%29.smv
Experienced Forum User, Skilled player (1227)
Joined: 9/7/2007
Posts: 1354
Location: U.S.
Sega TASer of 2021Sega TAS of 2021Sega TASer of 2011Sega TAS of 2011
You guys should submit this now. There has been so much effort to optimize evrrything that I think the only improvements in the near future will be just a couple of frames. You guys have truly outdone yourselves!
Sir VG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (36)
Joined: 10/9/2004
Posts: 1910
Location: Floating Tower
Merman Fly battle looked MUCH better. Good work there. Question about the new Tanzra battle. For the first form, it looks like given where it spawned, it might have been better to be on the left for the 1st spawn and right for where the 2nd spawn was, which would get the air slash off screen faster. Or wouldn't it have made a difference?
Taking over the world, one game at a time. Currently TASing: Nothing
Experienced Forum User, Player (204)
Joined: 2/12/2006
Posts: 373
Location: Oregon
It makes no difference. The number of frames to finish the Tanzra battle is the same as before.
Sir VG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (36)
Joined: 10/9/2004
Posts: 1910
Location: Floating Tower
Ok, then I have no qualms on it then. You on longer need my help. Submit the work that you two helped developed. YOU ARE THE BEST PLAYER! Edit: I'll work on an audio commentary ASAP, since it should help alleviate the slow simulation sections for people.
Taking over the world, one game at a time. Currently TASing: Nothing
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/21/2007
Posts: 9
Location: Austin, TX
I think it'll have regular subtitles too, right? It's great to see the movie in a (close to?) finished form!
Active player, Experienced Forum User (378)
Joined: 9/7/2007
Posts: 329
Computer TASer of 2015Computer TAS of 2015
Yes, I am currently working on the subtitles as well as the submission text (for the simulations). I should be done soon.
Sir VG wrote:
Ok, then I have no qualms on it then. You on longer need my help. Submit the work that you two helped developed. YOU ARE THE BEST PLAYER!
You are hilarious, Sir VG!
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Skilled player (1098)
Joined: 9/27/2008
Posts: 1075
I'm curious as to the status of the commentary, both audio and subtitles. Around 11 days since last post, with the run apparently completed, so I'm simply posting: What's the current status? I would like to see the run submitted soon!
Active player, Experienced Forum User (378)
Joined: 9/7/2007
Posts: 329
Computer TASer of 2015Computer TAS of 2015
I finished the subtitles for the sim, and I'm almost done with the submission text for the sim.
Sir VG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (36)
Joined: 10/9/2004
Posts: 1910
Location: Floating Tower
The thing I really need to know for doing the audio commentary is pretty much how long of dead space the encoder is gonna shove at the beginning. I guess I can leave it as a WAV until they create it, calculate the time of the statID, then set it up in Goldwave and go from there. I'm working on what I want to say, but haven't done the actual recording yet.
Taking over the world, one game at a time. Currently TASing: Nothing
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Player (11)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1528
Location: Wichita
Now we need a run of the professional mode.
The Thunder Star icon is a creation of mine a few years ago and is associated with Marbleous Racing. Currently Watching: - Mylo the Cat: Shortest Video on YouTube Currently Playing: - Marble World - Jelle's Marble League (postponed for now) Soon to be Watching: - Fubeca's Marble Runs: Quadrilla Tournament 2022 (Sept. 18) - Jelle's Marble Runs: Marble League 2022 (Autumn)
Active player, Experienced Forum User (378)
Joined: 9/7/2007
Posts: 329
Computer TASer of 2015Computer TAS of 2015
I agree, but it needs to use the Japanese version, which is more difficult and bit different.
Experienced Forum User, Player (204)
Joined: 2/12/2006
Posts: 373
Location: Oregon
I suppose I could go ahead and do that. I've got experience with running the levels, and doing Professional mode might actually be easier. First, you don't have access to Stardust, so you don't have to worry about manipulating it. That was one of the most painful parts of doing the levels in the normal mode. Second, you always start levels with max life, so you can just get hit wherever it would save time. EDIT: I'll go ahead and make the verification movie (i.e., the one that makes it so you can enter Professional mode on start). Also, I'm going to try using 1.52 since I don't anticipate having to use Lua this time (I have had problems getting Lua to work in 1.52). EDIT: I made a SRAM generator movie for 1.52: http://www.mediafire.com/?7gzvhqtm1qa2nvc I'm using mediafire because it seems that microstorage doesn't support 1.52 SMVs yet.
Sir VG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (36)
Joined: 10/9/2004
Posts: 1910
Location: Floating Tower
What's interesting is that the USA version's save file can actually work with unlocking the Japanese game's Special mode, just by renaming it. I don't know if the normal game will work that way though. ^^;; Can't wait to see this. Special Mode is tough. While it's longer then the USA's Professional!, the difficulty choice I think trumps the time issue. GO FOR IT!
Taking over the world, one game at a time. Currently TASing: Nothing
PJ
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 2/1/2011
Posts: 178
Location: Western NY
I also can't wait to see this movie! Is it going to be the Japanese Special Mode, or just the Professional! Mode on the US version? I think the former, right?
1 2
16 17 18 19 20 21