1 2
12 13 14 15 16 17
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player (3596)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4738
Location: Tennessee
AngerFist wrote:
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man (U)-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man (U).nes".
It should be ./Movies the . denotes "relative to the exe directory, without it it looks at your text as a full path
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
WST wrote:
Looks like russians are totally obsessed with dendy. No offence.
Yes. Many NTSC melodies sounds much pathetic at 50 FPS (Power Blade Sector 2 and 3 for example) and we remember and love it. I've been playing NTSC games on emulators for more than decade also, but with force PAL mode on (with a lot of glitches and disbalanced DPCM pitch). I couldn't get used to NTSC. I don't like it totally.
Active player (432)
Joined: 4/21/2004
Posts: 3517
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
adelikat wrote:
AngerFist wrote:
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man (U)-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man (U).nes".
It should be ./Movies the . denotes "relative to the exe directory, without it it looks at your text as a full path
But it loads and properly work so I guess it's all good.
Nitrogenesis wrote:
Guys I come from the DidyKnogRacist communite, and you are all wrong, tihs is the run of the mileniun and everyone who says otherwise dosnt know any bater! I found this run vary ease to masturbate too!!!! Don't fuck with me, I know this game so that mean I'm always right!StupedfackincommunityTASVideoz!!!!!!
Arc wrote:
I enjoyed this movie in which hands firmly gripping a shaft lead to balls deep in multiple holes.
natt wrote:
I don't want to get involved in this discussion, but as a point of fact C# is literally the first goddamn thing on that fucking page you linked did you even fucking read it
Cooljay wrote:
Mayor Haggar and Cody are such nice people for the community. Metro City's hospitals reached an all time new record of incoming patients due to their great efforts :P
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
Dendy PAL-mode hack: I've brokeNEW PPU NTSC mode and changed PAL timings to dendy: [URL=http://savepic.su/3687508.htm][/URL] [URL=http://savepic.su/3679316.htm][/URL] PPU.cpp online diff, link life = 1 month Then i've changed PAL Noise and DMC tables to NTSC: [URL=http://savepic.su/3716183.htm][/URL] [URL=http://savepic.su/3702871.htm][/URL] SOUND.cpp online diff, link life = 1 month Most of glitches are gone and this build even can run Battletoads (U) / BT&DD (U) in PAL-mode. But i need find clock rate divider to fix CPU frequency (and increase sound pitch). Where is it? On PAL, it's 26.601712 /16 = 1.662607 Mhz On Dendy, it's 26.601712 /15 = 1.773448 Mhz
WST
She/Her
Active player (442)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
Code listings as images? Omg. Have you heard of unified diff format? :)
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player (3596)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4738
Location: Tennessee
Leenkeen wrote:
Sorry for offtopic. In bizhawk code "dendy mode" is entered. Will It be added to release?
It is actually released. What we don't have is a UI way to force a particular mode. Instead we derive the mode based on the gamedb, and since there is no native Dendy games, nothing will load that way. However, if you modify the nes game db that comes with Bizhawk, you could run your game in dendy mode just fine. As for a UI way, we could do that for an upcoming release, the reason I didn't want that until now, is because I don't like the idea of people being able to run PAL games in NTSC mode (and more precisely I"m tired of people submitting supposed SMB records via this technique!) Also, this is a better question to ask in a Bizhawk thread :)
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11268
Location: RU
adelikat wrote:
As for a UI way, we could do that for an upcoming release, the reason I didn't want that until now, is because I don't like the idea of people being able to run PAL games in NTSC mode (and more precisely I"m tired of people submitting supposed SMB records via this technique!)
It's the opposite. PAL games in NTSC become faster, NTSC games in Dendy become slower (50 fps).
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
WST wrote:
Code listings as images? Omg. Have you heard of unified diff format? :)
PPU.cpp (new ppu NTSC is broken because ppur.status.sl = 291 now) SOUND.cpp I need to find where is PAL CLK divider and change it to "15" instead "16" (Dendy diffs, clock rate) I've also found how to slowdown standard NTSC mode to 50 FPS: FCEU.cpp, but this "hack" breaks sound
Skilled player (1706)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
feos wrote:
adelikat wrote:
As for a UI way, we could do that for an upcoming release, the reason I didn't want that until now, is because I don't like the idea of people being able to run PAL games in NTSC mode (and more precisely I"m tired of people submitting supposed SMB records via this technique!)
It's the opposite. PAL games in NTSC become faster, NTSC games in Dendy become slower (50 fps).
How is it the opposite? You seem to be agreeing to adelikat.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11268
Location: RU
I was referring to his fear of games being sped up. Dendy does the opposite. But yeah, to be consistent, one would need to allow all 3 regions to the user, and the user might pick NTSC for PAL games. Not that it's so much of a problem it must be solved the hardcode way :D
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
I've found CPU_clock in "x6502.h", http://diffchecker.com/5o5l8hid but the sound crashes when i change constant.
Buddybenj
He/Him
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
I just lost hours of work in FCEUX. I was saving my movie but it all was lost. I had the movie loaded wen to the end loaded a savestate at the end to make it record. Then I double checked that read only was off. In went frame by frame and did tons of work. I discovered multiple new glitches in Super Mario Bros. Some of these glitches are not on the game resources and it appears no one has found them. Some are crazy cool glitches just for a free run but some are time saving and could improve the TAS that some people say is perfect by a few frames. The glitch is trivial to replicate and doesn't produce lag. I son't know how it happened so I can't do it again.Enough with what I lost. I stopped the movie and saved it to a location. I also make backups of my movie I'm not dumb. I loaded the movie but it said movie finished before it was over. I'm using FCEUC 2.2.2 by the way. Loading a save state says it is after the final frame of the movie. Also people think that HappyLee's movie is perfect, trust me it's not. I encourage people to keep looking. I will describe the glitch. The shell will bounce and you can kick it in a special way to make you jump on it and go much much faster. THIS MUST BE FIXED! Until then I probably won't be using FCEUX.
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
Post subject: Re: Saving Bug
Buddybenj
He/Him
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
Buddybenj wrote:
FCEUC 2.2.2
I meant FCEUX 2.2.2, sorry.
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
WST
She/Her
Active player (442)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
Buddybenj wrote:
I also make backups of my movie I'm not dumb.
Backups? A dumb solution, sure (hint: next time try version control)
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
Buddybenj
He/Him
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
WST wrote:
Buddybenj wrote:
I also make backups of my movie I'm not dumb.
Backups? A dumb solution, sure (hint: next time try version control)
I'm confused. You linked to me github. I can't tell what you're trying to tell me. I don't know what you mean by
Backups? A dumb solution, sure
and
(hint: next time try version control)
Could you please elaborate a little bit? Thanks
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11268
Location: RU
You create a repository for your files on some version control site. You commit files to that repository and keep its copy on your computer. When you edit a file that is already committed, you then commit the edit. The miracle is that all of your interim files are still alive, you can then backup any revision you wish. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Revision_control Oh, and I personally failed to understand what happened to you with fceux. I understood that you discovered tons of new tricks, but what was the workflow and how did you proceed to get stuff lost?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Buddybenj
He/Him
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
feos wrote:
You create a repository for your files on some version control site. You commit files to that repository and keep its copy on your computer. When you edit a file that is already committed, you then commit the edit. The miracle is that all of your interim files are still alive, you can then backup any revision you wish. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Revision_control Oh, and I personally failed to understand what happened to you with fceux. I understood that you discovered tons of new tricks, but what was the workflow and how did you proceed to get stuff lost?
I still don't really understand but whatever. I opened the file with read only off. Then went to the end of the movie. There is a savestate at the end of the movie so I loaded that to get it in record mode. I went through and played to a point where I stopped. Then I decided to stop and saved my work. I pressed stop recording. I then loaded the movie to watch it and bam have of the movie was gone.
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
Post subject: Revision Control
Buddybenj
He/Him
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
Also a read about Revision Control and that doesn't fix my issue. I still lost the part of the work I had just worked on. I said I made backups multiple times. Read my post twice before assuming I'm retarded and didn't make backups.
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
Post subject: Re: Revision Control
Skilled player (1706)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
Buddybenj wrote:
Also a read about Revision Control and that doesn't fix my issue. I still lost the part of the work I had just worked on. I said I made backups multiple times. Read my post twice before assuming I'm retarded and didn't make backups.
Where in feos's post every implied he was mocking your intelligence? All he asked was for you to elaborate on how you made your backups gone.
Post subject: Re: Revision Control
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11268
Location: RU
Buddybenj wrote:
Read my post twice before assuming I'm retarded
I reread your post 3 times, can I now assume you're retarded?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
WST
She/Her
Active player (442)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
Also a read about Revision Control and that doesn't fix my issue. I still lost the part of the work I had just worked on.
Shit happens, and, well, what do you suggest yourself? There is no way to get back the lost data if you really lost it. And it doesn’t seem to be FCEUX bug — hundreds of people use it and never reported this issue… My guess will be that you’ve made some mistake (wrong button press, for example). The revision control will prevent this from happening in the future, if you put it into use. My opinion is that everyone, who is working with often modified important information (such as tool-assisted speedruns), should be using some revision control system. Also about lost glitches: I also lost my glitch discoveries sometimes, often simply because I was not recording. So, try to relax and hope for repeating that stuff next time :)
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
Buddybenj
He/Him
Joined: 1/12/2013
Posts: 166
Location: USA
WST wrote:
Also a read about Revision Control and that doesn't fix my issue. I still lost the part of the work I had just worked on.
Shit happens, and, well, what do you suggest yourself? There is no way to get back the lost data if you really lost it. And it doesn’t seem to be FCEUX bug — hundreds of people use it and never reported this issue… My guess will be that you’ve made some mistake (wrong button press, for example). The revision control will prevent this from happening in the future, if you put it into use. My opinion is that everyone, who is working with often modified important information (such as tool-assisted speedruns), should be using some revision control system. Also about lost glitches: I also lost my glitch discoveries sometimes, often simply because I was not recording. So, try to relax and hope for repeating that stuff next time :)
Thanks. Also could you explain to me how revision control works? It don't see the advantage over regular backups. I made a backup before the movie. Recorded. Lost the data. I still have the last revision of it. I don't see how revision control would be any different. Also since I screwed up my recording how do you recommend recording each time? I probably just didn't understand it (even though I had done it before). When I want to edit/continue a new recording how do you go about doing it without failing and ending up losing all your crap. FCEUX makes it kind of confusing (i.e. If you open a word document you can just keep typing at the end and it will save. Not with FCEUX.). Again Thanks, Benjamin
Projects: Interested in TASing N64 Mario Golf. GBA Mario Tennis: Power Tour is on hold.
WST
She/Her
Active player (442)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
First, it saves every single version of your run. You made some changes — you commit them — and a new revision is created. Second, many version control systems allow branching. Let’s imagine that you’ve got an idea about possible improvement and want to test it. You may create a separate branch and work inside it. There you can check if it saves time, affects further gameplay and so on. And after you are done, you merge this branch back to the master branch. It’s actually a long story, and not easy to explain. So I simply made a suggestion; but it’s up to you to use it or not — at least because it needs some learning anyway.
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1141)
Joined: 5/1/2010
Posts: 1217
TASEditor is limited to 10 branches (one for each save slot)? Or is there a way around this? (Reported by TASEditor on IRC)
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
I'm trying to make a no-damage run of a game here (Rockman 3), and my video is already complete, but I took damage near the end. I was wondering if there's a way to run the movie file up to that point, then somehow take control again and do that to replace the commands in the movie file. How can I do that?
1 2
12 13 14 15 16 17