1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Skilled player (1707)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
byrz wrote:
Also I noticed when playing keylie's recording, dolphin said that the game's checksum doesn't match. What is this supposed to mean?
Is there a different version of this game? What's the name of your iso and checksum?
keylie
He/Him
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2829)
Joined: 3/17/2013
Posts: 391
I'm also using Dolphin 4.0.2 x86. Maybe my version of the game is wrong.
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
Well my .iso is just the first one I found from internet: http://puu.sh/6BJy8.png Where do I see the checksum? Also, my dolphin is 64-bit.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
You can use a program like this to check the MD5 checksum of your file. According to redump.org, these are the correct checksums: Super Monkey Ball (USA): 391b8e620d8d924f150dc40343ced8a5 Super Monkey Ball 2 (USA): 29dd871cf4a00b2455c9d03e9328e7bd
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
I also get a desync at E6. SHA-1 Verified.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
CoolKirby wrote:
You can use a program like this to check the MD5 checksum of your file. According to redump.org, these are the correct checksums: Super Monkey Ball (USA): 391b8e620d8d924f150dc40343ced8a5 Super Monkey Ball 2 (USA): 29dd871cf4a00b2455c9d03e9328e7bd
My .iso gave 310C13D99FBB7EEA6D72313F144AC7A8 instead. :/ Gotta find the correct one and test if I can use our inputs with no problems, I guess.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Checksums don't necessarily mean anything here if you didn't dump the disk yourself. Every iso is padded with garbage to exactly fit the size of the disk. When people upload to the internet, they remove that garbage, to save space (it's random, so it can't be compressed), so the checksum won't match. That doesn't necessarily mean the game data isn't identical.
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
Finally I was able to hex keylie's E2 26.45 into our project file. :) It did actually desync in the end of the level making it a frame slower, I had to manually redo the ending. The biggest surprise for me was that E6 didn't desync even if it was entered at one frame earlier. That's the first time that level didn't desync for me when past levels are improved. o_o And yeah, I got the correct iso anyway, it's exactly the same but at least I don't need to get warning messages about wrong checksums anymore.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
byrz wrote:
The biggest surprise for me was that E6 didn't desync even if it was entered at one frame earlier. That's the first time that level didn't desync for me when past levels are improved. o_o
maybe you saved a frame in the level, but lost a frame in lag somewhere so it evens out
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
Now SMB1 seems to have some really weird desync issues. :/ Our dtm desynced on E6 for barhunga, and we were able to fix that by hex editing an extra empty input frame to E2 - E5 transition. However, that time he desynced on E5 couple times before getting through it randomly. Both, the original and the modified dtm file worked perfectly for me, though. The original dtm also desyncs for keylie on E6, different way than for barhunga. I hope this issue doesn't make the game ultimately unsubmittable in TASvideos. SMB2 project file (haven't tested SMB1 yet) in the other hand syncs for me and jcool perfectly (not for everyone tho), so I don't think the problem is about my dolphin/computer. I'll throw the SMB1 dtm here if someone else wants to check if it syncs or not: http://puu.sh/6CZji.dtm EDIT: The SMB1 project did sync perfectly for Jcool, so there is some hope it will sync for someone else too. :)
THC98
He/Him
Experienced player (906)
Joined: 8/7/2012
Posts: 279
Location: Brazil
byrz wrote:
Now SMB1 seems to have some really weird desync issues. :/ Our dtm desynced on E6 for barhunga, and we were able to fix that by hex editing an extra empty input frame to E2 - E5 transition. However, that time he desynced on E5 couple times before getting through it randomly. Both, the original and the modified dtm file worked perfectly for me, though. The original dtm also desyncs for keylie on E6, different way than for barhunga. I hope this issue doesn't make the game ultimately unsubmittable in TASvideos. SMB2 project file (haven't tested SMB1 yet) in the other hand syncs for me and jcool perfectly (not for everyone tho), so I don't think the problem is about my dolphin/computer. I'll throw the SMB1 dtm here if someone else wants to check if it syncs or not: http://puu.sh/6CZji.dtm EDIT: The SMB1 project did sync perfectly for Jcool, so there is some hope it will sync for someone else too. :)
Are you sure that the Dolphin revision you guys are using doesn't desync in SMB1? And if all the settings (graphics backend, audio output) are the same for all of you?
Youtube Channel | Twitch Channel • Finished projects: GC Sonic Adventure DX - Sonic | GC Sonic Adventure DX - Tails | GC Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Hero Story | GC Sonic Heroes - Team Sonic • Current projects: GC Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Dark Story - 1st WIP • Paused projects: GC Sonic Adventure DX - Knuckles - 1st WIP • Individual levels records: Sonic Adventure DX | Sonic Adventure 2: Battle • My Discord: Tales98#0408
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
THC98 wrote:
Are you sure that the Dolphin revision you guys are using doesn't desync in SMB1? And if all the settings (graphics backend, audio output) are the same for all of you?
We have made sure the version and settings are right. As long as it syncs for some people I guess it's manageable. We can just transfer the save states to those who work on the TAS but don't sync.
THC98
He/Him
Experienced player (906)
Joined: 8/7/2012
Posts: 279
Location: Brazil
byrz wrote:
We have made sure the version and settings are right. As long as it syncs for some people I guess it's manageable. We can just transfer the save states to those who work on the TAS but don't sync.
Oh I see. I tried to sync the dtm you posted here before using Direct3D9 and it worked perfectly! So I guess there's no desync issue with this game or Dolphin revision :P
Youtube Channel | Twitch Channel • Finished projects: GC Sonic Adventure DX - Sonic | GC Sonic Adventure DX - Tails | GC Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Hero Story | GC Sonic Heroes - Team Sonic • Current projects: GC Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Dark Story - 1st WIP • Paused projects: GC Sonic Adventure DX - Knuckles - 1st WIP • Individual levels records: Sonic Adventure DX | Sonic Adventure 2: Battle • My Discord: Tales98#0408
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
So, I found out that E6 desyncs between 32-bit and 64-bit dolphin. This shouldn't be a problem tho because 32-bit users can just use save states to get past desyncing parts. Oh and btw, I got 51.03 in E7, finally a time I'm happy with. :)
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
WIP for SMB1 Expert TAS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ZUU6T66LbU SMB1 progress is on full blast and SMB2 has been stuck in E36 for few days now, I hope we can get that rolling again soon. :)
Joined: 7/2/2007
Posts: 3960
Awesome, keep it up!
Pyrel - an open-source rewrite of the Angband roguelike game in Python.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
that WIP looks great to me I assume you guys are aware of the WRs and are beating them all? from YT or Cyberscore
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
ALAKTORN wrote:
that WIP looks great to me I assume you guys are aware of the WRs and are beating them all? from YT or Cyberscore
Of course, I've made sure that all the times in the TASes are the best times ever gotten in the games, also beating all the old TAS times in addition to beating just the human records. :)
Joined: 3/11/2008
Posts: 583
Location: USA
byrz wrote:
WIP for SMB1 Expert TAS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ZUU6T66LbU SMB1 progress is on full blast and SMB2 has been stuck in E36 for few days now, I hope we can get that rolling again soon. :)
"Hmm, nice, nice. Oh, Floor 7. I remember how this was pretty much a level with no shortcuts, I don't see an edge to jump to the next platform, so he can't skip that either-wait why is he turning around... HEY!" I like this and want to see more of it.
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
Glad to hear people like this stuff. The progress is going really well, SMB2 should be done within couple weeks and SMB1 within few more. :) I have a question in mind regarding the TASVideos timing: Is it required to complete the name entry after credits or is it fine to just stop the movie when getting to the credits?
Editor, Skilled player (1172)
Joined: 9/27/2008
Posts: 1085
As long as the game is clearly complete, and can finish whatever ending on its own, you should be fine stopping upon reaching the last goal. If there are things that require player input to reach the rest of the ending, that needs to be included as part of the movie. If I recall these games correctly, nothing requires your input after you reach your last goal. Ending, credits, and name entry will finish on their own... If my memory is working right. Although, I suspect a lot of people also want to see the credits TASed as well, both games, but it's up to you to decide. You've already cleared the game, and the credits isn't strictly required by the game for the player to do for any reason.
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
In my opinion, the credits in these games are just long and boring, they wouldn't really be entertaining at all after the first 30 seconds, no matter how optimized they would be. Would't look much different than non-TAS play of those. And just to confirm: so it is required to finish the name entry screen in addition to credits no matter what?
Editor, Skilled player (1172)
Joined: 9/27/2008
Posts: 1085
If it basically goes to the title screen right after the name entry, I don't think there's a requirement to actually do anything at the name entry. For that matter, the credits will play on their own without interference from the player, right? Assume you drop the controller (input stops here) right after you go through the very last goal in the run. What will we see? If it plays the ending, credits, and reaches name entry, I don't think there will be problems if you stop the movie as early as the goal. Since we're talking about the very end of the movie, if the judges don't like how you ended things, it shouldn't be difficult to make changes to the end of your movie, I hope. They don't mind waiting for any adjustments to replace your submission if it turns out you did not end it properly. What is "proper" can be taken somewhat loosely, and the end of the world will not happen just because you submitted a poorly ended file, so don't worry. Standard is to end input when it is enough so that the ending can be viewed in full. http://tasvideos.org/MovieRules.html#MovieMustBeComplete As long as that is done, there are no problems. ... On a less important note, it's more of a curiosity factor I was thinking about for the credits. How high (or low!) can that counter go? The game doesn't give any acknowledgement beyond a short message for whatever you do in the credits, right? It's not required to TAS it, since you already did a good enough job completing the rest of the game.
Active player (386)
Joined: 10/17/2012
Posts: 39
Location: Finland
We tested about the endings of these games. In SMB1 you have to press A to get past the congratulations scene before credits, but no input is required after that, it will finish credits and name entry on its own. In SMB2 without input you will get stuck in the name entry screen so it seems we have to finish the final cutscene, skip the credits and manually finish the name entry as the last input. Next thing I gotta figure out is the encoding when the TASes are finished, my audio dump desyncs with my frame dump and the AV-sync version just crashes when I start encoding...
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1141)
Joined: 5/1/2010
Posts: 1217
byrz wrote:
Next thing I gotta figure out is the encoding when the TASes are finished, my audio dump desyncs with my frame dump and the AV-sync version just crashes when I start encoding...
There are many things wrong with standard Dolphin A/V dumps: - There are frames missing (often during loading times). - There are parts of soundtrack missing (again often during loading times). - The video framerate is not exactly 60fps (and with some games, it is more like 30fps). - The video might not even be of constant framerate. The easiest way to deal with the video is to hack dolphin to dump timecodes for each frame and then align the frames afterwards. And the easiest way to deal with the audio is to hack dolphin to dump alternate soundtrack with no gaps.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7