Active player (421)
Joined: 3/21/2011
Posts: 127
Location: Virginia (United States)
1) Map these to the RAM addresses $7E0015 and $7E0017, format is byetUDLR and axlr0123 respectively. 2) Yes, and see 1. 3) Yes, and see 1.
YouTube Channel - Twitter Current projects: Sutte Hakkun, Hyper VI, RTDL, own hacking projects
puppy610
He/Him
Joined: 12/30/2014
Posts: 35
Location: USA
Hey Kaizoman! So can you explain 1 more in depth. Sorry.
puppy610 the Amazing is in da house!
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
I suggest checking out the ACE How To. As kaizoman666 already pointed out, you should check out the SNES instruction set for finding out what each value represents as an opcode. You also might want to look at the Hardware Registers of the SNES. There you will see registers $4218 to $421F which represent the inputs of controllers. Some knowledge about the internal language of the SNES, Assembly (ASM), is required as it is what you will be executing (look at this again).
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Player (158)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 673
Location: Brazil
What's the purpose of the harsh comment towards puppy610?
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Amaraticando wrote:
harsh
?
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Player (158)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 673
Location: Brazil
creaothceann wrote:
Amaraticando wrote:
harsh
?
The other info is valuable, but posting the following links makes OP look stupid:
Masterjun wrote:
value 4218 controllers knowledge language SNES ASM
Samsara
She/They
Senior Judge, Site Admin, Expert player (2122)
Joined: 11/13/2006
Posts: 2793
Location: Northern California
Honestly, it reads more like a joke to me, like "I'm already putting in a hundred links, might as well have some fun with it".
TASvideos Admin and acting Senior Judge 💙 | Cohost
warmCabin wrote:
You shouldn't need a degree in computer science to get into this hobby.
Experienced player (580)
Joined: 1/27/2011
Posts: 427
Location: Oregon
Amaraticando wrote:
The other info is valuable, but posting the following links makes OP looks stupid:
The OP didn't mention what his level of experience or knowledge with ACE or programming in general was, so there's nothing wrong with referencing material suitable for any level. It's very possible for any casual viewer to watch an ACE TAS and find it interesting enough to want to play around with themselves. Take me, for example. Masterjun's simply pointing out that that the task isn't as simple as it might appear. That's why I decided to leave well enough alone.
puppy610
He/Him
Joined: 12/30/2014
Posts: 35
Location: USA
Is there someone that can give me exact inputs to mario run super fast? (ACE)
puppy610 the Amazing is in da house!
Post subject: Re: Followup
Player (36)
Joined: 9/11/2004
Posts: 2623
puppy610 wrote:
Is there someone that can give me exact inputs to mario run super fast? (ACE)
Yes, I'm sure there are a bunch of people who understand exactly what you're saying and can do all of the hard work for you. I don't think anyone will though. Because, really, why would they?
Build a man a fire, warm him for a day, Set a man on fire, warm him for the rest of his life.
Post subject: Re: Followup
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
It's the RAM addresses $7E:007B for X speed and $7E:007D for Y speed. Inputs have to match an instruction that gets your desired value into a register (LDx) and another instruction that stores that value into an address (STx).
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
puppy610
He/Him
Joined: 12/30/2014
Posts: 35
Location: USA
Okay thanks masterjun. Now I understood all the links and stuff but don't understand how I am to use the inputs to get to 7E007B and increment it. I'm sorry. I'm pretty new to ACE stuff.
puppy610 the Amazing is in da house!
Post subject: And btw, I always wondered how long these subjects can becom
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1970)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
You have to make the game code jump to the controller registers at $4218 to $421F. This is usually done by abusing a glitch and having several other addresses set up so that the code jumps there. Once you are there, you are executing the buttons as instructions (again, there you go).
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
puppy610
He/Him
Joined: 12/30/2014
Posts: 35
Location: USA
What glitch do I need to abuse?
puppy610 the Amazing is in da house!
Joined: 8/1/2006
Posts: 428
There are three published runs that use ACE to beat the game, which use different glitches. The current record run uses a sprite swap to eat a normally-inedible Chuck to get a bad jump from a glitched power-up. The original "Executes Arbitrary Code" run uses a sprite swap to stun an object that isn't supposed to be stunnable and has a bad jump in its 'stun' function. More details here. The oldest version uses a bad pointer to a nonexistant sprite in Yoshi's mouth to overwrite part of the stack, which contains the return address to a function related to a swinging platform. If you want a minimum effort ACE setup to experiment with, you can play one of those movies until the frame before ACE, then take over.
Trying 127.0.0.1... telnet: connect to address 127.0.0.1: Connection refused telnet: Unable to connect to remote host
Post subject: Credits Glitch
puppy610
He/Him
Joined: 12/30/2014
Posts: 35
Location: USA
Does anyone want to come up with a new way to do the credits glitch with me? There is probably a lot of different ways we could do and maybe get a setup for a realtime speedrunner. (I know there is one that exists already but we could make an easier one.)
puppy610 the Amazing is in da house!
Post subject: PI 106 TAS
puppy610
He/Him
Joined: 12/30/2014
Posts: 35
Location: USA
Hello! I would like to finished the unfinished PI 106 TAS. If you do not know what that is then go to the Super Mario World section of the forum or google it. I have a vote setup so I can see if I should really do it. Here it is: http://strawpoll.me/3433840 Thanks! ---- Mod edit: As this post/topic pertains to a game that already has a topic, please post in that topic instead of creating a new one. I've merged the two topics now. -Mothrayas
puppy610 the Amazing is in da house!
Post subject: Re: PI 106 TAS
Player (172)
Joined: 12/28/2007
Posts: 235
Location: Japan, Sapporo
puppy610 wrote:
Hello! I would like to finished the unfinished PI 106 TAS. If you do not know what that is then go to the Super Mario World section of the forum or google it. I have a vote setup so I can see if I should really do it. Here it is: http://strawpoll.me/3433840
I don't know at all if you should go or not, but you'd better explain what the PI is if you really want some advice. Or do you want only the smw experts' advice? Maybe no. If you can't explain the PI glitch well enough, you'd better stay for a while and improve your TASing skill and TASing knowledge, as we advised you before. On the second note, we are not you so there's no means of us knowing what you can do and what you cannot. Please show us more information, such as wip and detailed strategy; anything will do.
Retired because of that deletion event. Projects (WIP RIP): VIP3 all-exits "almost capeless yoshiless", VIP2 all-exits, TSRP2 "normal run"
GoddessMaria
She/Her
Reviewer, Experienced player (848)
Joined: 5/29/2009
Posts: 514
Location: Hell...
I am in agreement with Mister. We can't give our own input or advice with a vague question(?) like that. The best thing to do is work with what you are best at and what you know more about first rather than something more complicated or tougher than your experience.
Current projects: failing at life
puppy610
He/Him
Joined: 12/30/2014
Posts: 35
Location: USA
Ok guys! Thanks!
puppy610 the Amazing is in da house!
Patashu
He/Him
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 4016
It is now possible to do 'game end glitch' in 5-6 minutes on console under RTA conditions. It uses an RTA-friendly setup not seen in any TAS so far. Watch it here: http://www.twitch.tv/sethbling/c/5926745
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
Skilled player (1706)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
Patashu wrote:
It is now possible to do 'game end glitch' in 5-6 minutes on console under RTA conditions. It uses an RTA-friendly setup not seen in any TAS so far. Watch it here: http://www.twitch.tv/sethbling/c/5926745
Not exactly related, but this has been bugging me for a while. With all the twitch links, does anyone actually submit to SDA anymore, or are all records mostly on private twitch/youtube channels scattered all over the web?
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Player (158)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 673
Location: Brazil
Patashu wrote:
It is now possible to do 'game end glitch' in 5-6 minutes on console under RTA conditions. It uses an RTA-friendly setup not seen in any TAS so far. Watch it here: http://www.twitch.tv/sethbling/c/5926745
This is a console-confirmation of a previous TAS with BizHawk. Explanation.
Eszik
He/Him
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 163
Amaraticando wrote:
This is a console-confirmation of a previous TAS with BizHawk.
This isn't a TAS though. It's just an RTA run on emulator.
I problably made mistakes, sorry for my bad English, I'm French :v
Joined: 12/29/2007
Posts: 489
^I believe that emulator run made use of memory watch to make sure all the sprites were at the right pixel positions, which would make it technically tool-assisted.