Posts for redatchyon2098


Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
You can do the following to display any memory address anywhere on the emulator window(Although you probably already know this):
address = 0x0000 --This is the address you're displaying.
x = 100 --This is the x coordinate of the number on the screen.
y = 100 --This is the y coordinate of the number on the screen.
while true do
    gui.text(x, y, tostring(memory.readbyte(address)))
    emu.frameadvance()
end
Now you just need to know the address of Mario's sub-pixel position......which I don't actually know. This makes wall clipping basically a tedious brute-force for me.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Welp, I wasn't much help.
Post subject: Is this any help?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Make sure you were actually recording your inputs as a movie(Yeah, that is what it's called) and not just playing the game, rewinding it, and playing it again. Even if you push buttons, if you don't record your inputs, it won't actually do anything. If you're using FCEUX, you should see a red circle on the bottom-right part of the screen when you're recording. If that is not the problem, like the response above has already mentioned, you should use the correct terminology. I hope this helps in any way.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Is the cheat even working in a weird way, or is it not working in the slightest? If the code is wrong, you could try using cheat search or RAM search combined with some code analysis to figure out what ROM address you need to patch, and turn that into a game genie code. Since Donkey Kong doesn't use ROM banks(The whole game is small enough to fit without it) you could try going into 'cheats' and getting rid of the "compare" value, you don't need it anyway, and if it's the wrong value it can cripple the cheat.I'll try getting the ROM myself and I'll screw around with it.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Interesting. I personally think the best way to do that would be to just change the sprite's design in ROM, or maybe even change everything else so that you can make a matte? Sounds like a lot of work that requires a lot of technical knowledge, though. Also, that is the correct way to do game genie codes. why wouldn't it work?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Obviously every game is coded differently, so you would need to know which sprite slot your desired sprite goes to, and somehow make it transparent, although I personally can't think of a way to do that without hacking the ROM to make that sprite transparent in the first place. However, other people might know a way to pull it off. What are you gonna use it for?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Maybe I have misunderstood the original concept, as usual. Sorry about that.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
That is correct.
Post subject: intended route
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Besides the glitches, intended route runs should also never take unintended shortcuts, now that I think about it.
Post subject: Another question
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
And why the inconsistency? The length of the corruption is extremely inconsistent, although seemingly I'm doing the same thing. And even when the corruption length is the same, I get different results! It seems random. Is it tied to the sub-pixel position or something?
Post subject: Another question
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Then why the pattern in the corruption? Does it have anything to do with the fact that almost all of these "events" are related to score changes? And are there other locations where this can occur? Also, theoretically, how far can the corruption go? And, why did it crash in my case?http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/70733209713475564 Console verification by ViGreyTech: Link to videoI made this thing without knowing how it worked.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Here is a screenshot.https://imgur.com/lSXVa1S
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Thanks. When it softlocked sprite zero was in the middle of the sky. Solving one mystery at a time. I'm just having fun, I guess. But how did the HUD get messed up like that? I was trying to perform a glitch like this video: Link to video I eventually succeeded, but in one of my attempts the game crashed. The glitch seems to corrupt $0300 and afterwards, but I don't know how it happened. I once commented under the video, and it looks like happylee doesn't know why the glitch happens either.(EDIT: I checked, other comments explained it, but I didn't understand a word of it.)
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
I'm writing this before actually experimenting, but thanks. I asked because one time the game crashed, but as it turns out it wasn't a "real" crash(The poor thing trying to execute a bad opcode), but rather it was a softlock: it was perpetually waiting for a sprite zero hit, but it didn't detect it. So, I am trying to replicate that.(EDIT: What? The crash happens even when I freeze those addresses?(It does crash when I tamper with the values though, you were right.) It must not be a spinning loop then. Then what is it?? I'm not good at this. It loops LDA $2002; AND #$40; BEQ $8150(Which is LDA $2002). Second edit: But when I set $0200 to 09 it gets in the same loop! What is going on??? )
Post subject: Another thing.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
What about a "speed overflow", overflow any value that isn't part of a timer as fast as possible.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Okay, I guess I was being way too over-reactive.....(Second edit: I'm talking about the thing I said in the post above that was edited out.) Yes, the "intended route" is an interesting idea, since most TASes use unintended bugs or glitches to achieve fast times or entertainment. (EDIT: What makes it more interesting is that some games like Pokemon generation 1 have so many glitches(Did they even play-test it?) that there is no such thing as an "intended route" since it is impossible to play without a glitch occurring, accidental or not.)(Third edit: Am I even talking about the right thing? I may have misunderstood the original concept.)
Post subject: Sprite Zero
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
I don't know where to ask this, so I'll just put it here: Is there a RAM address that can modify the location of sprite zero?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
I didn't understand what you said.( EDIT: I said other stuff that might have offended people or made them have other negative feelings, so I'm making it harder to access. )
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
I made this thing, it's for Super Mario Bros. on the NES, it crashes the game by corrupting some memory starting from $0300(which is sprite data, I could be wrong.) with a weird pattern, although I'm not sure exactly how the corruption happens. This was rushed, and maybe someone might be able to improve it for fun?http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/70733209713475564
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Okay, my idea was stupid. Sorry to everybody for not keeping my mouth shut when I clearly have no idea what I'm talking about.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
One category I have thought of was "crash%", or "The fastest you can crash a game." This category is currently against the movie submission rules(The movie has to complete the game, but if you crash the game you can't complete it). The reason I like this idea is because most games were not designed to crash, obviously. So it would take a lot of effort, research and knowledge to create a sequence of inputs that guarantees a crash. Let me know your thoughts about this.
Post subject: New Category Ideas?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Hello, I am making this topic because I personally would love it if there were more TASing categories since it gives even beginner TASers a chance to be able to submit a run that would actually be accepted. Any thoughts about this (positive or negative) will be appreciated. Thank you.
Post subject: Delete This Topic
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
This topic is no longer of any significance and I would personally like it if someone removed it.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Thank you! I mistakenly thought this post was deleted, so I couldn't check sooner. I'll implement the fix.
Post subject: left press
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/4/2020
Posts: 42
Oh come on! I was working on that recently!