BizHawk Emulator Development


Dimon12321
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (501)
Joined: 4/5/2014
Posts: 932
Location: Ukraine
Everything is OK with Sega Saturn core? BIOS of USA 1.00 is compatible with all other BIOSes (Eu and Jap). I remember it wasn't in earlier versions. Which SS ROM formats are compatible with Bizhawk? I'm trying to play .mdf and .mds, but emulator says "This Rom was not found in the database. ...". After I choose Sega Saturn, I get the following error: where "Данный ключ отсутствует в словаре" means something like "The following key is absent at the dictionary"
TASing is like making a film: only best takes are shown in the final movie.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2045)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4871
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
GBA TASer of 2010
InfamousKnight wrote:
I don't understand this whole "waterbox" technique..
I wonder if there's any online sources to help search? Naively googling "waterbox" seems to link me to aquariums, so any pointers please?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
That's your clue that there is no information other than whatever you can find natt writing because it's natt's invention. MDF and MDS is not supported. Only cue+bin and ccd is supported.
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
Did Bizhawk 2.0 drop compatibility with Camstudio Lossless codec? I don't see it in the list of compressors anymore, but Lagarith is still there.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
I guess because BizHawk is now 64-bit only?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
jlun2 wrote:
InfamousKnight wrote:
I don't understand this whole "waterbox" technique..
I wonder if there's any online sources to help search? Naively googling "waterbox" seems to link me to aquariums, so any pointers please?
I made up the word. If you're interested in it from a more technical standpoint, it's most similar to things like Emacs unexec or Hourglass (yes, the emulator). The emulated core is loaded in memory in a predictable way, and then the savestate becomes just a snapshot of all of the memory that the core used. The details are of course a lot hairier than that...
Sonia wrote:
Did Bizhawk 2.0 drop compatibility with Camstudio Lossless codec? I don't see it in the list of compressors anymore, but Lagarith is still there.
Bizhawk will use any supported VFW codec, but there is a separate list of VFW codes for 32 and 64 bit. Lagarith installs both together. I don't remember if there is a Camstudio 64 bit version.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (129)
Joined: 4/7/2015
Posts: 288
Location: Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
natt wrote:
I don't remember if there is a Camstudio 64 bit version.
Well, I guess the current version of the codec does support 64bit.
Games are basically math with a visual representation of this math, that's why I make the scripts, to re-see games as math. My things: YouTube, GitHub, Pastebin, Twitter
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
Sonia wrote:
Yes. Here, I made an audio comparison video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1OwD6vUhiQ Here is the order I went through things: -Dark Law (higan balanced -> snes9x 1.53 -> higan performance -> snes9x 1.54) -Haisei Mahjong (higan balanced -> snes9x 1.53 -> higan performance -> snes9x 1.54) -Super Pinball (higan balanced -> snes9x 1.53 -> higan performance -> snes9x 1.54) As it can be seen, audio is completely wrecked in performance/1.54. But it works correctly in balanced/1.53.
Byuu found a fix for this, so it shouldn't be a problem come our next release. Snes9x can regain its title as the second bestest snes emulator ever (first bestest being znes)
Post subject: BizHawk 2.0.1 released
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
BizHawk 2.0.1 released. Primarily this is a patch release for 2.0 especially for Genesis, Sega-CD, and Saturn fixes. Also the NES and GBA core picker menu items were fixed. Release notes
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2009)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1297
Glitchy TAS of 2015NES TASer of 2014Speedy TAS of 2014NES TAS of 2013
Every time I tried to record AVI (any codec on N64) this showed up imidiately or after a few frames:
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
should be fixed now but i didnt test it
Danfun64
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/25/2007
Posts: 50
Question. Why was the BSNES Performance Profile abandoned in favor of SNES9x 1.54?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
Danfun64 wrote:
Question. Why was the BSNES Performance Profile abandoned in favor of SNES9x 1.54?
Anyone who is TASing for us or otherwise really concerned about accuracy will be using compatbility, where as snes9x is faster for the masses.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
Now that GB(C) bios support is added, is there a way to boot a GB game with GBC bios?
Pokota
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 776
In Biz 2.0.1 they're listed in the usual Firmwares menu at the very bottom, under the headings FIX ME (FirmwaresConfig.cs), though when I tested it did not go through the boot animations so I can't confirm that it's actually implemented with 2.0.1 I'm using sha1:4ED31EC6B0B175BB109C0EB5FD3D193DA823339F for GB and sha1:1293D68BF9643BC4F36954C1E80E38F39864528D for GBC
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (3927)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2388
Location: US
NES TASer of 2015
@pokota: you have to go to the GB menu and select the enable bios option, then reboot the core. It's not enabled by default currently. @Fortranm: no, but I will test it and see how gambette handles it, if it works I'll add the option for it. EDIT: looks like it works, I'll just need to figure out the best way to make this option presentable to the user.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 543
Location: Where?
So I'm trying the 2.0 version. So far I didn't get into major bugs. I just got a couple of minor TAStudio annoyances, all posted on the Github. Props for the team on the update! =)
BigBoct
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author
Joined: 8/9/2007
Posts: 1673
Location: Tiffin/Republic, OH
Dimon12321 wrote:
Everything is OK with Sega Saturn core? BIOS of USA 1.00 is compatible with all other BIOSes (Eu and Jap). I remember it wasn't in earlier versions. Which SS ROM formats are compatible with Bizhawk? I'm trying to play .mdf and .mds, but emulator says "This Rom was not found in the database. ...". After I choose Sega Saturn, I get the following error: where "Данный ключ отсутствует в словаре" means something like "The following key is absent at the dictionary"
If memory serves, the MDF/MDS disc image specification is proprietary to Alcohol Soft, not open-source, so support for it cannot be implemented.
Previous Name: boct1584
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 469
Location: Switzerland
You can convert mdf to bin/cue with ultraiso for exemple, and it should work in Bizhawk.
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291
Pokota
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 776
you should also be able to use DiscoHawk (included with BizHawk) to accomplish the same thing, though to be fair I haven't done MDF/MDS images through it yet.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4656
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
Disco hawk does not have mdf support yet. But there are free apps out there that can do the conversion (they all have awful ui though). It would be nice to add to discohawk but since it is proprietary, I don't know what kind of options we have there.
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/1/2016
Posts: 12
Small bug report. Y coordinates on the Virtual Pad for the 3D Pad in Sega Saturn doesn't register. I've only tested this on NiGHTS into Dreams for the moment. Also is there a way to use the latest Yabause core instead of Mednafen? Mednafen is quite poor at running the game at a stable rate.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
That sounds rather unlikely to me. NiGHTS would have been one hell of a well tested game on mednafen's saturn core. Maybe the framerate isn't _supposed_ to be stable, and yabause's timing is just that inaccurate. If the framerate is not "stable" due to your system's poor performance, then that's not our problem. There's no way to use the latest yabause core, or an older yabause core.
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
For OpenAL in BizHawk 2.0, shouldn't openal64.dll be used? BizHawk 1.13 and earlier used openal32.dll for OpenAL.
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
PikachuMan wrote:
For OpenAL in BizHawk 2.0, shouldn't openal64.dll be used? BizHawk 1.13 and earlier used openal32.dll for OpenAL.
I don't know offhand what the naming convention is for various OpenAL related binaries, but I don't have to check; if Bizhawk was trying to load a native binary for the wrong bitness, it would not work at all. But OpenAL output works in Bizhawk 2.x.